Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Shrewsbury & Area

Shrewsbury & Area Holiday Reviews

Charles Darwin Statue, Shrewsbury

Tucked away in the rolling hills of the Shropshire countryside, Shrewsbury hotels offer easy access to the medieval market town that is bursting with history and attractions.

  • Discover the hometown of the great Charles Darwin as you wander down the picturesque cobbled streets and glance up at the medieval black and white timber buildings.
  • The town is situated within a loop of the meandering River Severn, so a relaxing riverboat cruise from Victoria Quay is a must.
  • Around every street corner is a cosy pub, bustling café and delicious restaurant.
Hotels in Shrewsbury are available to suit all tastes and budgets, offering a fantastic choice of boutique hotels, homely guest houses and budget accommodation. Some historical Shrewsbury hotels are nestled within one of the 600 listed buildings within the city, giving you a real authentic medieval experience. Other hotels in Shrewsbury are dotted around the surrounding idyllic countryside, and offer a homely retreat from a day of exploring the town. Check out our fantastic collection of hotels in Shrewsbury to find perfect accommodation for your stay.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 60

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Relaxing Break

Stay Date: 15/08/17, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Lion Quays Hotel & Spa in Oswestry wrote this review.

Hotel excellent - room looked as if it had been recently refurbished -furniture brand new. Didn't use leisure facilities. Restaurant reasonably priced - Menu a bit "posh" for a Yorkshire man. See More  Read more information Location on side of Canal very quiet - directions to find it could have been a bit clearer.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Powis Castle  
Oswestry  
Llangolan  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Griffin Inn  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Shrewsbury break

Stay Date: 22/01/17, a customer aged 45-64 from Wigan who stayed at 3* The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

Excellent historic hotel. The staff were attentive and engaging. Great location for the town and also bus and railway stations. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
ludlow church  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
prince rupert  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Christmas shopping in Shrewsbury

Stay Date: 04/12/16, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

Hotel perfectly placed in the middle of Shrewsbury for a shopping expedition. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Caluchio  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Hotel Arrival

Stay Date: 10/08/16, a customer aged 65+ from Aberdare who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

The hotel had no record of my booking, SuperBreak had not sent them confirmation of the booking. It was a good thing I had the printed confirmation of the booking from SuperBreak and they were able See More  Read more information to find us a room - oops.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shrewsbury Town  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Day at the Races

Stay Date: 30/03/16, a customer aged 45-64 from Burry Port who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

This hotel was an excellent choice for a short break, the bed was comfortable, the only thing that bothered me was the noise from other guests. I would definitely stay here again. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bangor on Dee Races  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Brilliant location

Stay Date: 17/11/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

Brilliant hotel in brilliant location for visiting local attractions. Hotel staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Only disappointment was the spa areas were closed for a refurb, See More  Read more information so I guess that's an excuse to go back. Reception booked us a cab into Shrewsbury which only cost £4.80 for four of us, where we enjoyed the evening watching the Christmas light switch on and thevery delicious street food vendors.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ironbridge  
Shrewsbury Castle  
Victorian Village  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Mercury hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

National Trust break

Stay Date: 22/10/15, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

Good location to visit various National Trust properties in the Shropshire area. Hotel rooms very clean and comfortable and very friendly and helpful staff. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Sunnycroft  
Stating ham park  
Herrington hall  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Loch Fynne  
Weatherspoon  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Beware of the Peacock

Stay Date: 13/04/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Lion Quays Hotel & Spa in Oswestry wrote this review.

I had a lovely break in the Lion Quays Hotel Oswestry a couple of years ago and was looking forward to going back again. However this time our room was directly above the area where they kept the See More  Read more information peacock who was extremely vocal. (I was not aware of it on my previous stay). Also the same said peacock was free to wander around the hotel grounds which totally freaked me as I have a bird phobia andif anyone else has this problem, this hotel is one to be avoided!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Llangollen  
Oswestry  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lovely break but impacted upon by wedding

Stay Date: 27/12/14, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

Hotel was lovely. Great afternoon tea, evening meal and breakfast. Gorgeous location and relaxing. Spa facilities are ok. Unable to get to sleep until after midnight due to excessive noise from See More  Read more information wedding in the venue. Apparently, we should not have been put in the room we were. This had a negative impact on our stay. Worth checking before booking so your peace and quiet, relaxation is not ruined.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Shrewsbury

Stay Date: 22/11/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

Great hotel - very very noisy guests. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shrewsbury  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Shropshire Sunny Days

Stay Date: 09/07/14, a customer aged 45-64 from York who stayed at 4* Lion Quays Hotel & Spa in Oswestry wrote this review.

Very pleasant hotel with spa facilities. Typical of larger hotels it felt a little impersonal. But it was a good hotel, no real grumbles. However, on checking out there seemed to be a failure to See More  Read more information understand that I had already paid for my stay through Superbreak and wanted to charge me again. All cleared up once I showed receipt sent by Superbreak to me. My advice bring a copy with you. This wasquickly sorted out. Yes I would stay again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Chick castle grounds  
Attingham  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Valentine's Disappointment

Stay Date: 15/02/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

We booked for a night away at short notice just for Sat 15th. Room was tiny and we discovered that we had ended up paying full price for one night what other couples had paid for two. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Picturesque Setting

Stay Date: 24/01/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

The Hotel is a fine old building in lovely gardens (although in January I'm sure we didn't see the best of the gardens). The rooms were comfortable and spacious with a good quality TV for when the See More  Read more information weather became poor. Reception was swift and helpful and accurate. The bar area was very tidy and had a good atmosphere. The restaurant was a little dark and the service was poor, two different aspectsof our order were wrong so we only dined onsite one evening. My Sat Nav struggled to find the location from the published postcode and we resorted to asking directions eventually.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Walls  
Town Centre shops  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bistro Jacques  
The Two Henrys  
Ramna Balti House  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Shrewsbury

Stay Date: 16/09/13, a customer aged 65+ from Cheltenham who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

Excellent place to stay to discover Shropshire See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
RAF Museum  
Ironbridge  
River Trip  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Shrewsbury - a hidden gem

Stay Date: 28/08/13, a customer aged 25-44 from Llanwrda who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

Hotel was in a lovely location and was warm and welcoming. Although staying in an annex, the room was large enough for a family. For the per night charge, there were a couple of little things which See More  Read more information could've been improved - shower leaked profusely which meant clothes left on the bathroom floor whilst in the shower were soaked and the fridge had spillage in it. The gym however was verywell-equipped.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Follies  
Cine world  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Plume of feathers  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break

Stay Date: 17/05/13, a customer who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

I spoke to a lady called Nicola ,I felt she bent over backwards to help me. I explained my predicament and she really put herself out.She couldn't have done more. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Shrewbury

Stay Date: 11/05/13, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

We visited Shrewsbury after visiting Shropshire trunk show. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Royal Siam  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Shrewsbury

Stay Date: 20/03/12, a customer from Uk who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Dinner In Hotel Restaurant  
 
 

Wedding

Stay Date: 30/07/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 4* Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa in Whitchurch wrote this review.

Attended a beautiful wedding at iscoyd park, which was amazing. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Lovely Hotel

Stay Date: 29/05/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

Fantastic setting with picturesque view of the lake and gardens. Hotel was v busy at time of stay and staff made it clear to make allowances for this which was good. Due to function going on till See More  Read more information late at night, music was playing till around 1 am. We did mention this as we specifically asked for quiet room on the booking. A discount was given for this. Would recommend the hotel from setting toattentive breakfast staff to room service. Wise to check if they have any events on and if you can have a room away from it in advance, if relaxation is what you're after. Would go again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 3 out of 4 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Shrewsbury

Stay Date: 22/05/11, a customer who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Stokesay Castle  
Shrewbury  
Church Stretton  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel  
 
 

Albrighton Hoterl & Spa

Stay Date: 26/04/11, a customer who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

Enjoyed a 2 night break on our way home to cumbria from southampton. Lovely bedroom overlooking the gardens and lake and evening meal excellent. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ludlow  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
De Greys Ludlow  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Arlington Hotel

Stay Date: 17/04/11, a customer who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

This has got to be the nicest hotel we have ever stayed in. The staff are friendly and efficient. The room was beautiful and clean, very spacious. We felt thoroughly spoiled. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shrewsbury  
Tourist Office Museum  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Restful Few Days In Shrewsbury

Stay Date: 18/04/11, a customer who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

We were on our way home from a conference - new word alive - and it was an excellent time to reflect on the bible teaching given and draw near to the lord jesus christ. Also to have fellowship with See More  Read more information our brothers and sisters at hope church.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Trip On The River Severn  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Shrewsbury

Stay Date: 10/04/11, a customer who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

Visited shrewsbury. Lovely old town with beautiful riverside promenade. Lovely park with the "quarry". Old and new shops brought well together. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Chirk Castle  
Shrewsbury Town And Park  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

2 Days Near Shrewsbury

Stay Date: 16/04/11, a customer who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

Albrighton hall hotel was really good overall. The staff, in particular, were excellent. The only problems that we had were : my main course of dinner on day 1 was not cooked & had to go back which See More  Read more information meant a delay of about 20 minutes so i was eating it on my own as everyone else had finished. The pool ( spa ) is the best i have visited, but on day 2 quite a few children were in & their parentsseemed incapable of complying with pool rules, ie no jumping in children to occupy only one side of the pool. This led to some aggravation which could have been avoided if there had been an official onduty at the poolside.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ludlow  
Iron Bridge  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Mercure Hotel Restaurant  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

The Hotel

Stay Date: 25/03/11, a customer from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

Our first night was mared by not having hot water in our room. Reception did not seem to think this was problem and it would be sorted but after a cold shower in morning! they agreed to move us but See More  Read more information with no sincere sounding apology we felt it was our fault for making unreasonable demands. Despite this it was nice hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shrewsbury  
Powes Castle  
Roman City Near Shrewsbury  
Shrewsbury Abbey  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Shrewsbury

Stay Date: 06/02/11, a customer who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Saracens At Hadnall  
 
 

Short Break In Shrewsbury

Stay Date: 06/02/11, a customer who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shrewsbury  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Dog In The Lane Pub  
 
 

Shrewsbury Mercure

Stay Date: 15/08/10, a customer who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

Hotel was a bit of a let down. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shrewsbury Town  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Orange Tree  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Shrewsbury

Stay Date: 14/03/10, a customer from Halifax who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cosford Air Museum  
 
 

Wine Tasting Tour

Stay Date: 25/07/09, a customer from Bedfordshire who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

The week-end was built around going to Wroxeter to the Roman Vineyard tour and wine tasting. We were not dissapointed. The tour was very informative, friendly and very worthwhile. The vineyard See More  Read more information manager, was very knowledgeable on his subject and very engaging with his humour and stories. The hotel was a very pleasant stay. The surroundings were well cared for and very pretty. The hotel has lotsof character and charm. The restaurant is a splendid oak pannelled room with beautiful open fire places. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Our room was very well presented, clean all that weneeded. The bed was comfortable and the ensuite of a very good size. The room was in the Stable Block just behind the main house, this was fortunate as they had a wedding reception within the hotel, we werenot disturbed. The leisure facilities are excellent. We were able to spend time in the pool and sauna's before leaving for home.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Canal Aquaduct  
Iron Bridge-Telford  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

One Night Break

Stay Date: 18/07/09, a customer from Shropshire who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

We thoroughly enjoyed our one night break to the Albrighton Hall Hotel. The room was very comfortable, the staff helpful and friendly, we just wished we could of stayed for longer. we would most See More  Read more information certainly return again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Shrewsbury

Stay Date: 18/04/09, a customer from Swindon who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Played Bridge  
 
 

Short Break in Shrewsbury

Stay Date: 10/04/09, a customer from New Romney who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shrewsbury  
Attingham Park  
RAF Cosford Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Peach Tree, Shrewsbury  
The Mytton and Mermaid  
The Two Henrys  
 
 

Weekend in Shrewsbury

Stay Date: 10/04/09, a customer from Conwy who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

did not have a very relaxing weekend noisy neighbours and dogs allowed and left to bark!!hotelnot upto 4 starstatus that we are used to. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shrewsbury  
Shrewsbury Castle  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Curry Village  
Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel Restaurant  
Castle Thai  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Shrewsbury

Stay Date: 10/04/09, a customer from New Romney who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shrewsbury  
Attingham Park  
RAF Cosford Museum  
Bliss Hill Ironbridge  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Peach Tree, Shrewsbury  
The Mytton and Mermaid  
The Two Henrys  
 
 

Short Break in Shrewsbury

Stay Date: 07/03/09, a customer from Bilston who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Albrighton Hall A Great Weekend Away

Stay Date: 23/01/09, a customer from Merseyside who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

Hotel was good. Good facilities in a spacious room. Hotel spa was good with excellent equipped Gym and spa. Staff were friendly and helpful. the slight downside was our room was in an outside block See More  Read more information so we had to brave the weather to get from our room to the main hotel. Overall a very relaxed hotel which has good communication links with Shrewsbury and surrouding areas   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ironbridge Museums  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Armoury, Shrewsbury  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Shrewsbury

Stay Date: 29/11/08, a customer from Birmingham who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

Went to a wedding reception at the hotel See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Breakfast At Hotel

Stay Date: 17/10/08, a customer from Hornchurch who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

Saturday breakfast was great...Sunday a disaster. Buffet hot breakfast 1 staff serving line was 10 deep at one point. Food tepid..staff run off feet...Sunday needs to be looked at my hotel See More  Read more information managment.. Saturday was fine table service...why not Sunday....   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ironbridge museums and Nat trust properties  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Shrewsbury

Stay Date: 26/07/08, a customer who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
 
 

Weekend in the Ironbridge Gorge

Stay Date: 26/05/07, a customer from High Wycombe who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

Great scenery, good museums shame about the weather but still plenty to do. Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa was great hotel. Staff were superb, organisation efficient and food fantastic. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Blists Hill Museum  
Enginuity  
Coalbrookdale Iron Museum  
RAF Museum Cosford  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Relaxing Weekend At Mecure Albrighton Hotel

Stay Date: 27/04/07, a customer from Hull who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

This short break was a chill out for us. So we did not visit that many attractions, but manage to sneak to Cadbury's World on the way home!! The hotel is set in stunning grounds and there is no See More  Read more information need to step out of the hotel as it has every ammenitee you could possible need. The hotel facilities both leisure and room wise were spot on and would definatley reccomend this hotel to everybody. Athoroughly enjoyable stay.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shrewsbury Town, it's beautiful.  
Cadbury's world, Yum Yum, again.... Beautiful  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Worth A Visit

Stay Date: 26/04/07, a customer from Havant who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

Ironbridge and it's museums were a joy to visit especially The Village one. The only downside was the coffee shops on site and the choice of very second rate bought in food. One member of staff See More  Read more information offered us yesterday's sandwiches as that was all they had left!!! Suggest you take your own picnic and enjoy the rest of the village.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shrewsbury Town  
Ironbridge & Museums  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ironbridge  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Shrewsbury

Stay Date: 20/04/07, a customer from Hampshire who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

This was a great break in a really lovely welcoming hotel and proved to be excellent value for money. Unfortunately when we ate in the hotel bar on the 2nd night, they were overrun with Functions See More  Read more information and the meal and service was terrible. However, the hotel staff dealt with our complain efficiently and with courtesy. We would certain return again and look forward to receiving the next offer at thishotel   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ludlow  
Lake Vyrnwy in Wales  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
1st Night - Albrighton Hall Hotel Bar  
2nd Night - Albrighton Hall Hotel Bar  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Historic Shrewsbury

Stay Date: 26/04/07, a customer from Luton who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

Great place to just walk about & take in the scenery See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Black Country Museum  
Shrewsbury  
Ironbridge  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Albrighton Hall Restaurant  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Shrewsbury Experience

Stay Date: 18/04/07, a customer from Monmouth who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

Visited Historic Shrewsbury and enjoyed the architecture and large town shopping facilities See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Shrewsbury

Stay Date: 11/04/07, a customer from Plymouth who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

Just stay away from this area ang go to the city of Chester. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shrewsbury  
Chester  
Market Drayton  
Elsmere  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bella Italia Chester  
Pub at Hurstwood Service Area  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

A Day Out At Powis Castle

Stay Date: 07/04/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

We throughly enjoyed the castle grounds. There were formal gardens, areas for children to play and some wilder woodland. We will definitely go back to see how they change with the seasons. There See More  Read more information was a lot to see in the castle itself. We even had the excitement of a fire alarm and evacuation!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Powis Castle  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel Restaurant  
Pizza Express, Shrewsbury  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Shrewsbury

Stay Date: 12/04/07, a customer from Cardiff who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

Extremely disapointed that an hotel of this grade should offer exactly the same dinner menu two nights running. We had to therefore find somewhere else to eat for the second night as there was See More  Read more information limited choice. The food was only of average quality and at ?28.50 per head was overpriced. Shrewsbury was an interesting town with good selection of shops and cafes.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Old Rectory at Wem  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

A Easter Weekend's Break!

Stay Date: 06/04/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

Only staying to have a relaxing weekend so didnt explore much. Excellent hotel, friendly staff who are willing to help on whim. Nice clean pool, sauna, steam and ice rooms. Met David Dickinson (A See More  Read more information TV presenter) when he was querying something at the reception! Shrewsbury town is a nice place to have a nice shopping as it's bigger than I thought! Being a medeival town so there's lots of oldmedeival buildings all over the town. Will come back to explore more!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shrewsbury Town  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Shrewsbury

Stay Date: 08/04/07, a customer from West Midlands who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shrewsbury  
 
 

Short Break in Shrewsbury

Stay Date: 07/04/07, a customer from Bridgend who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ironbridge  
Shrewsbury  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Dungeon  
 
 

Short Break in Shrewsbury

Stay Date: 07/04/07, a customer from Nr Boston who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

Spent the whole time relaxing at the hotel and using the spa facilities. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Shrewsbury

Stay Date: 30/03/07, a customer from Wellingborough who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shrewsbury  
 
 

Shopping

Stay Date: 30/03/07, a customer from Lydney who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

Shrewsbury has a great shopping centre. Any shop you could think of in the centre. Two big undercover "malls", which had all the main shops, without ruining the main street, which has beautiful old See More  Read more information buildings. Had to get taxi's from the hotel which cost anyhing from ?4.90 - ?6.00, because we travelled by train, to have a break from driving. Great cafe, cheap and cheerful, opposite Marks andSpencer,and down the road a bit, with real food. i.e. sausage egg and chips at very reasonable price.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shrewsbury Town  
Shrewsbury Library  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Macdonald Albrighton Hall Hotel

Stay Date: 31/03/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

This is a good quality hotel that seems to offer a little for everyone - business meeting rooms, a health spa, and a relaxing atmosphere for the weekend. However, the best thing about the hotel is See More  Read more information its location - you are just a few minutes drive from the Severn Valley and the scenery is truly lovely. The hotel itself is fine. The rooms are of a decent quality and the bathrooms are well set out,though in our room the plumbing was exceptionally noisy - begining at 4.30am. Hmmm... I wouldn't rush to the hotel restaurant to eat - the food was okay, though a touch expensive for what it was, andthe staff had clearly been taught never to make eye-contact. This contrasted with the staff on recepetion who were really helpful. Overall, we had a fun weekend and felt very relaxed at the end ofit. I would recommend the hotel as a good base in the NW/Midlands.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Severn Valley  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Mecure Albrighton Hall Hotel Restaurant  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Mothering Weekend Break

Stay Date: 16/03/07, a customer from Aberystwyth who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

We had a lovely weekend the hotel was very nice, the facilities good. The only disapointment was for the children, most facilities were bard & the meals, childrens menu most of the meals were See More  Read more information unavailable. what was offered was bland and boaring and definately not appropriate for children. Better suited for adults only I think.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shrewsbury  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Lion Hotel, Shrewsbury  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

What a Start to the New Year!

Stay Date: 02/01/07, a customer from Wigan who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

we arrived at our hotel on Tuesday the 2nd of January 07. First impressions were amazing, we could'nt believe it, the hotel was fantastic. We checked in and got our keys then made our selves at See More  Read more information home. Our first night we booked a table in the hotel restaurant and we weren't dissapointed! Before dining we tried out the facilities at the hotel leisure centre, the pool, spa pool and thermal roomswere all incredible! Very relaxing indeed, just what we were looking for. We had a absolutely beautiful meal in perfect surroundings and lovely ambience that night, one never to beforgotten.................... as after the meal had finished my partner propsed to me!!! And of course I said yes! The perfect setting. The staff were fantastic and sent us a bottle of champagne to celebrate. I can't thankthem enough! What a time!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Blists Hill  
Ludlow  
Shrewsbury Music Hall  
The Shropshire Hills Discovery Centre  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 1 - 60 of 60 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002068 @ 16/05/2019 15:33:27

Last rendered @ 24/05/2019 01:48:28

Last rendered @ 24/05/2019 01:48:28

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB12

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.