Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Shrewsbury & Area

Shrewsbury & Area Holiday Reviews

Charles Darwin Statue, Shrewsbury

Tucked away in the rolling hills of the Shropshire countryside, Shrewsbury hotels offer easy access to the medieval market town that is bursting with history and attractions.

  • Discover the hometown of the great Charles Darwin as you wander down the picturesque cobbled streets and glance up at the medieval black and white timber buildings.
  • The town is situated within a loop of the meandering River Severn, so a relaxing riverboat cruise from Victoria Quay is a must.
  • Around every street corner is a cosy pub, bustling cafĂ© and delicious restaurant.
Hotels in Shrewsbury are available to suit all tastes and budgets, offering a fantastic choice of boutique hotels, homely guest houses and budget accommodation. Some historical Shrewsbury hotels are nestled within one of the 600 listed buildings within the city, giving you a real authentic medieval experience. Other hotels in Shrewsbury are dotted around the surrounding idyllic countryside, and offer a homely retreat from a day of exploring the town. Check out our fantastic collection of hotels in Shrewsbury to find perfect accommodation for your stay.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 60

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Short Break in Shrewsbury

Stay Date: 11/04/07, a customer from Plymouth who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

Just stay away from this area ang go to the city of Chester. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shrewsbury  
Chester  
Market Drayton  
Elsmere  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bella Italia Chester  
Pub at Hurstwood Service Area  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

A Day Out At Powis Castle

Stay Date: 07/04/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

We throughly enjoyed the castle grounds. There were formal gardens, areas for children to play and some wilder woodland. We will definitely go back to see how they change with the seasons. There See More  Read more information was a lot to see in the castle itself. We even had the excitement of a fire alarm and evacuation!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Powis Castle  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel Restaurant  
Pizza Express, Shrewsbury  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Shrewsbury

Stay Date: 12/04/07, a customer from Cardiff who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

Extremely disapointed that an hotel of this grade should offer exactly the same dinner menu two nights running. We had to therefore find somewhere else to eat for the second night as there was See More  Read more information limited choice. The food was only of average quality and at ?28.50 per head was overpriced. Shrewsbury was an interesting town with good selection of shops and cafes.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Old Rectory at Wem  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

A Easter Weekend's Break!

Stay Date: 06/04/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

Only staying to have a relaxing weekend so didnt explore much. Excellent hotel, friendly staff who are willing to help on whim. Nice clean pool, sauna, steam and ice rooms. Met David Dickinson (A See More  Read more information TV presenter) when he was querying something at the reception! Shrewsbury town is a nice place to have a nice shopping as it's bigger than I thought! Being a medeival town so there's lots of oldmedeival buildings all over the town. Will come back to explore more!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shrewsbury Town  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Shrewsbury

Stay Date: 08/04/07, a customer from West Midlands who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shrewsbury  
 
 

Short Break in Shrewsbury

Stay Date: 30/03/07, a customer from Wellingborough who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shrewsbury  
 
 

Shopping

Stay Date: 30/03/07, a customer from Lydney who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

Shrewsbury has a great shopping centre. Any shop you could think of in the centre. Two big undercover "malls", which had all the main shops, without ruining the main street, which has beautiful old See More  Read more information buildings. Had to get taxi's from the hotel which cost anyhing from ?4.90 - ?6.00, because we travelled by train, to have a break from driving. Great cafe, cheap and cheerful, opposite Marks andSpencer,and down the road a bit, with real food. i.e. sausage egg and chips at very reasonable price.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shrewsbury Town  
Shrewsbury Library  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Macdonald Albrighton Hall Hotel

Stay Date: 31/03/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

This is a good quality hotel that seems to offer a little for everyone - business meeting rooms, a health spa, and a relaxing atmosphere for the weekend. However, the best thing about the hotel is See More  Read more information its location - you are just a few minutes drive from the Severn Valley and the scenery is truly lovely. The hotel itself is fine. The rooms are of a decent quality and the bathrooms are well set out,though in our room the plumbing was exceptionally noisy - begining at 4.30am. Hmmm... I wouldn't rush to the hotel restaurant to eat - the food was okay, though a touch expensive for what it was, andthe staff had clearly been taught never to make eye-contact. This contrasted with the staff on recepetion who were really helpful. Overall, we had a fun weekend and felt very relaxed at the end ofit. I would recommend the hotel as a good base in the NW/Midlands.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Severn Valley  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Mecure Albrighton Hall Hotel Restaurant  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Mothering Weekend Break

Stay Date: 16/03/07, a customer from Aberystwyth who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

We had a lovely weekend the hotel was very nice, the facilities good. The only disapointment was for the children, most facilities were bard & the meals, childrens menu most of the meals were See More  Read more information unavailable. what was offered was bland and boaring and definately not appropriate for children. Better suited for adults only I think.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shrewsbury  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Lion Hotel, Shrewsbury  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

What a Start to the New Year!

Stay Date: 02/01/07, a customer from Wigan who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

we arrived at our hotel on Tuesday the 2nd of January 07. First impressions were amazing, we could'nt believe it, the hotel was fantastic. We checked in and got our keys then made our selves at See More  Read more information home. Our first night we booked a table in the hotel restaurant and we weren't dissapointed! Before dining we tried out the facilities at the hotel leisure centre, the pool, spa pool and thermal roomswere all incredible! Very relaxing indeed, just what we were looking for. We had a absolutely beautiful meal in perfect surroundings and lovely ambience that night, one never to beforgotten.................... as after the meal had finished my partner propsed to me!!! And of course I said yes! The perfect setting. The staff were fantastic and sent us a bottle of champagne to celebrate. I can't thankthem enough! What a time!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Blists Hill  
Ludlow  
Shrewsbury Music Hall  
The Shropshire Hills Discovery Centre  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 51 - 60 of 60 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002068 @ 16/05/2019 15:33:26

Last rendered @ 18/06/2019 00:09:22

Last rendered @ 18/06/2019 00:09:22

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB13

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.