Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Shrewsbury & Area

Shrewsbury & Area Holiday Reviews

Charles Darwin Statue, Shrewsbury

Tucked away in the rolling hills of the Shropshire countryside, Shrewsbury hotels offer easy access to the medieval market town that is bursting with history and attractions.

  • Discover the hometown of the great Charles Darwin as you wander down the picturesque cobbled streets and glance up at the medieval black and white timber buildings.
  • The town is situated within a loop of the meandering River Severn, so a relaxing riverboat cruise from Victoria Quay is a must.
  • Around every street corner is a cosy pub, bustling café and delicious restaurant.
Hotels in Shrewsbury are available to suit all tastes and budgets, offering a fantastic choice of boutique hotels, homely guest houses and budget accommodation. Some historical Shrewsbury hotels are nestled within one of the 600 listed buildings within the city, giving you a real authentic medieval experience. Other hotels in Shrewsbury are dotted around the surrounding idyllic countryside, and offer a homely retreat from a day of exploring the town. Check out our fantastic collection of hotels in Shrewsbury to find perfect accommodation for your stay.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 61

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

What a Start to the New Year!

Stay Date: 02/01/07, a customer from Wigan who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

we arrived at our hotel on Tuesday the 2nd of January 07. First impressions were amazing, we could'nt believe it, the hotel was fantastic. We checked in and got our keys then made our selves at See More  Read more information home. Our first night we booked a table in the hotel restaurant and we weren't dissapointed! Before dining we tried out the facilities at the hotel leisure centre, the pool, spa pool and thermal roomswere all incredible! Very relaxing indeed, just what we were looking for. We had a absolutely beautiful meal in perfect surroundings and lovely ambience that night, one never to beforgotten.................... as after the meal had finished my partner propsed to me!!! And of course I said yes! The perfect setting. The staff were fantastic and sent us a bottle of champagne to celebrate. I can't thankthem enough! What a time!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Blists Hill  
Ludlow  
Shrewsbury Music Hall  
The Shropshire Hills Discovery Centre  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

A Easter Weekend's Break!

Stay Date: 06/04/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

Only staying to have a relaxing weekend so didnt explore much. Excellent hotel, friendly staff who are willing to help on whim. Nice clean pool, sauna, steam and ice rooms. Met David Dickinson (A See More  Read more information TV presenter) when he was querying something at the reception! Shrewsbury town is a nice place to have a nice shopping as it's bigger than I thought! Being a medeival town so there's lots of oldmedeival buildings all over the town. Will come back to explore more!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shrewsbury Town  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Shrewsbury

Stay Date: 07/04/07, a customer from Bridgend who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ironbridge  
Shrewsbury  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Dungeon  
 
 

Lovely break but impacted upon by wedding

Stay Date: 27/12/14, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

Hotel was lovely. Great afternoon tea, evening meal and breakfast. Gorgeous location and relaxing. Spa facilities are ok. Unable to get to sleep until after midnight due to excessive noise from See More  Read more information wedding in the venue. Apparently, we should not have been put in the room we were. This had a negative impact on our stay. Worth checking before booking so your peace and quiet, relaxation is not ruined.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Beware of the Peacock

Stay Date: 13/04/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Lion Quays Hotel & Spa in Oswestry wrote this review.

I had a lovely break in the Lion Quays Hotel Oswestry a couple of years ago and was looking forward to going back again. However this time our room was directly above the area where they kept the See More  Read more information peacock who was extremely vocal. (I was not aware of it on my previous stay). Also the same said peacock was free to wander around the hotel grounds which totally freaked me as I have a bird phobia andif anyone else has this problem, this hotel is one to be avoided!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Llangollen  
Oswestry  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

National Trust break

Stay Date: 22/10/15, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

Good location to visit various National Trust properties in the Shropshire area. Hotel rooms very clean and comfortable and very friendly and helpful staff. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Sunnycroft  
Stating ham park  
Herrington hall  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Loch Fynne  
Weatherspoon  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Brilliant location

Stay Date: 17/11/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

Brilliant hotel in brilliant location for visiting local attractions. Hotel staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Only disappointment was the spa areas were closed for a refurb, See More  Read more information so I guess that's an excuse to go back. Reception booked us a cab into Shrewsbury which only cost £4.80 for four of us, where we enjoyed the evening watching the Christmas light switch on and thevery delicious street food vendors.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ironbridge  
Shrewsbury Castle  
Victorian Village  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Mercury hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Christmas shopping in Shrewsbury

Stay Date: 04/12/16, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

Hotel perfectly placed in the middle of Shrewsbury for a shopping expedition. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Caluchio  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Shrewsbury break

Stay Date: 22/01/17, a customer aged 45-64 from Wigan who stayed at 3* The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

Excellent historic hotel. The staff were attentive and engaging. Great location for the town and also bus and railway stations. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
ludlow church  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
prince rupert  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Visit to Quarry Gardens

Stay Date: 08/07/19, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at 5* Darwins Townhouse in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

A must when visiting Shrewsbury is a visit to the Quarry Gardens, riverside walk and a 45 minute river cruise. In addition visit all the five churches especially St Mary’s. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
River Cruise  
Carlucios  
Loch fynes  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 21 - 30 of 61 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002075 @ 18/06/2019 11:30:21

Last rendered @ 17/07/2019 09:37:14

Last rendered @ 17/07/2019 09:37:14

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB12

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.