Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Shrewsbury & Area

Shrewsbury & Area Holiday Reviews

Charles Darwin Statue, Shrewsbury

Tucked away in the rolling hills of the Shropshire countryside, Shrewsbury hotels offer easy access to the medieval market town that is bursting with history and attractions.

  • Discover the hometown of the great Charles Darwin as you wander down the picturesque cobbled streets and glance up at the medieval black and white timber buildings.
  • The town is situated within a loop of the meandering River Severn, so a relaxing riverboat cruise from Victoria Quay is a must.
  • Around every street corner is a cosy pub, bustling cafĂ© and delicious restaurant.
Hotels in Shrewsbury are available to suit all tastes and budgets, offering a fantastic choice of boutique hotels, homely guest houses and budget accommodation. Some historical Shrewsbury hotels are nestled within one of the 600 listed buildings within the city, giving you a real authentic medieval experience. Other hotels in Shrewsbury are dotted around the surrounding idyllic countryside, and offer a homely retreat from a day of exploring the town. Check out our fantastic collection of hotels in Shrewsbury to find perfect accommodation for your stay.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 61

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Shrewsbury

Stay Date: 22/11/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

Great hotel - very very noisy guests. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shrewsbury  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Shropshire Sunny Days

Stay Date: 09/07/14, a customer aged 45-64 from York who stayed at 4* Lion Quays Hotel & Spa in Oswestry wrote this review.

Very pleasant hotel with spa facilities. Typical of larger hotels it felt a little impersonal. But it was a good hotel, no real grumbles. However, on checking out there seemed to be a failure to See More  Read more information understand that I had already paid for my stay through Superbreak and wanted to charge me again. All cleared up once I showed receipt sent by Superbreak to me. My advice bring a copy with you. This wasquickly sorted out. Yes I would stay again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Chick castle grounds  
Attingham  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Valentine's Disappointment

Stay Date: 15/02/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

We booked for a night away at short notice just for Sat 15th. Room was tiny and we discovered that we had ended up paying full price for one night what other couples had paid for two. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Picturesque Setting

Stay Date: 24/01/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

The Hotel is a fine old building in lovely gardens (although in January I'm sure we didn't see the best of the gardens). The rooms were comfortable and spacious with a good quality TV for when the See More  Read more information weather became poor. Reception was swift and helpful and accurate. The bar area was very tidy and had a good atmosphere. The restaurant was a little dark and the service was poor, two different aspectsof our order were wrong so we only dined onsite one evening. My Sat Nav struggled to find the location from the published postcode and we resorted to asking directions eventually.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Walls  
Town Centre shops  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bistro Jacques  
The Two Henrys  
Ramna Balti House  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Shrewsbury

Stay Date: 16/09/13, a customer aged 65+ from Cheltenham who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

Excellent place to stay to discover Shropshire See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
RAF Museum  
Ironbridge  
River Trip  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Shrewsbury - a hidden gem

Stay Date: 28/08/13, a customer aged 25-44 from Llanwrda who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

Hotel was in a lovely location and was warm and welcoming. Although staying in an annex, the room was large enough for a family. For the per night charge, there were a couple of little things which See More  Read more information could've been improved - shower leaked profusely which meant clothes left on the bathroom floor whilst in the shower were soaked and the fridge had spillage in it. The gym however was verywell-equipped.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Follies  
Cine world  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Plume of feathers  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break

Stay Date: 17/05/13, a customer who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

I spoke to a lady called Nicola ,I felt she bent over backwards to help me. I explained my predicament and she really put herself out.She couldn't have done more. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Shrewbury

Stay Date: 11/05/13, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

We visited Shrewsbury after visiting Shropshire trunk show. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Royal Siam  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Shrewsbury

Stay Date: 20/03/12, a customer from Uk who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Dinner In Hotel Restaurant  
 
 

Wedding

Stay Date: 30/07/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 4* Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa in Whitchurch wrote this review.

Attended a beautiful wedding at iscoyd park, which was amazing. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 11 - 20 of 61 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002081 @ 17/07/2019 11:23:27

Last rendered @ 22/07/2019 17:12:02

Last rendered @ 22/07/2019 17:12:02

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB15

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.