Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Scarborough & Area

Scarborough & Area Holiday Reviews

Harbour & Castle, Scarborough

Take a look through our fantastic mix of modern and traditional hotels in Scarborough for a break to remember. Britain’s first seaside resort is as fun as ever, and jam-packed with activities for people of all ages to enjoy. With two sandy beaches, a busy fishing harbour, dramatic cliffs, a castle, fantastic parks, and a town centre shopping mall, there’s much to see and do.

Enjoy an array of amusements, donkey rides, evening theatre shows and of course some ice cream and fish and chips! Most Scarborough hotels provide an ideal base for exploring this charming seaside town and we offer a great range of hotels to suit all budgets and needs. Close to our hotels in Scarborough, the North Yorkshire coastline offers picturesque vistas, magnificent cliff views, rolling moors and stunning countryside.

  • The town’s top attractions include the breath-taking views from Scarborough Castle and the always popular SEA LIFE Centre
  • Take the family to the ever-fun amusements or, on a nice day, find yourselves rowing around pretty, Oriental-themed Peasholm Park
  • Head to the famous Stephen Joseph Theatre – having premiered many of Alan Aykbourn’s plays, the theatre is one of the region’s best, and known for being a champion of new writing
  • Explore top attractions a short drive from Scarborough, including Bridlington’s promenade, the fishing village of Robin Hood’s Bay and Whitby's famous ruined Abbey.
Pre-book hotels in Scarborough and the surrounding area along with return rail travel to make your break to the seaside even more relaxing. Check out our fantastic range of Scarborough hotels and offers in the list below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 220

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Weekend in Scarborough

Stay Date: 03/05/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 2* Clifton Hotel in Scarborough wrote this review.

Arrived to Clifton hotel to be told no car park so had to pay them for 2 day pass tom park on road. Hotel manageress checked us in, rude unwelcoming no friendly greeting. Room grotty, on 3rd floor See More  Read more information old lift which was nor available due to the fact that it was the only one,unkempt with torn carpet layer of dust under bed, no valance (which could have hidden this) bathroom mould on side of showerand shower head full of lime scale. Went straight to reception to ask if there was another room. They were full but only twin bedded room offered and as this was our wedding anniversary and was not whatwe asked for our only alternative was to keep the room. Room maids were sent in to re-service the room. We would not go back.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Peasholm Park  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great day out in Whitby.

Stay Date: 26/04/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Grand Hotel Scarborough - Internal Rooms in Scarborough wrote this review.

We had a great time. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Local Bars  
Music Concert  
Whitby  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

The not so Grand Grand Hotel Scarbourough

Stay Date: 01/05/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Wigan who stayed at 3* Grand Hotel Scarborough in Scarborough wrote this review.

This hotel has a great location, but oh it's so rundown. The room floor creaks every time you walk in the room. But it was clean and tidy. A little cramped but for the money it was just about worth See More  Read more information it. Staff were cheerful and pleasant. We had breakfast which left a little bit to be desired but edible none the less. Got lucky with parking outside the hotel so could have been worse if there was noroom outside. Lets face it we only was in the room to sleep so overall not bad value for the money. If you want location this is the place. If you want luxury then forget it.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Not so Grand Hotel in Scarborough

Stay Date: 17/03/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Middlesbrough who stayed at 3* Grand Hotel Scarborough in Scarborough wrote this review.

On arrival, hotel reception staff pleasant and friendly especially male receptionist, sorry can't remember his name, but he was very helpful. Rooms offered were extremely small and "depressing", See More  Read more information staff obliged by changing rooms which were bigger and slightly better! Hotel in general is in need of a complete make-over and lots of the furniture should be discarded especially in bedrooms and diningroom and you can hardly see out of the bedroom windows as they are that dirty!. Staff in dining room overall were quite abrupt and clearly looked as though they did not enjoy their job with theexception of Duncan who greeted everybody and was quite jolly!! Food ok but not always very hot and we are not keen on frozen vegetables! Really difficult to get a hot cup of tea in the dining room, forsuch a large hotel, the use of flasks was really not sufficient!! When we asked for hot water you think we had asked them for a million pounds!! Power cut on our last night, although the hotel were notresponsible we did not feel they managed the situation well at all. Lack of lighting was very frightening for a lot of the guests, who are generally more mature guests and for a hotel of this size, Iwould have expected a back up generator to be in place. Staff slow to respond in terms of informing guests what was happening and this was a real health and safety hazard! Bingo each night started at8.30pm until approx 9pm, the live entertainment did not start until 9.45pm. Lots of spare time which could have been used for something such as a quiz. I feel the live show should have been earlier butthe entertainment team worked in another hotel first!! On our last night, due to power cut the entertainment was moved to another hotel that had electricity and we were invited to go there. However,as we needed our coats to leave the hotel late at night in the cold and being on the sixth floor with no lighting was not practicable and we had also just purchased drinks in preparation for the showstarting!. Power was off for approx 15 mins, the entertainment could have then resumed in our hotel, lack of information from staff despite requesting to know what was happening resulted in peoplejust sitting waiting and wondering what was happening. Lots of people choose this hotel due to price and entertainment but they did not live up to expectations. On a positive, the location of the hotelfor Scarborough is good. but I really do think the hotel would benefit from a visit from the hotel inspector.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Scarborough  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Harry Ramsdens  
Marks And Spencer  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review not helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Break in Scarborough

Stay Date: 15/03/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Stockton-On-Tees who stayed at 3* Grand Hotel Scarborough - Internal Rooms in Scarborough wrote this review.

Been here before but has certainly gone down in my estimation. Room changed three times. General place needs a re-vamp. Dirty rooms, corridors, lifts etc. Food below average with dirty cutlery, See More  Read more information plates etc.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Wetherspoons  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Weekend Break in Scarborough

Stay Date: 14/03/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* The Royal Hotel & Spa Scarborough in Scarborough wrote this review.

The hotel was perfect, ideally situated. All-in-all Scarborough is a great place to visit. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Refreshing Scarborough

Stay Date: 19/01/14, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 3* The Royal Hotel & Spa Scarborough in Scarborough wrote this review.

Enjoyable stay at the Royal. Warmest hotel we've ever stayed in! Room was good and clean. Bathroom slightly tired, the toilet seat was broken and the shower only worked on cold. Bath was lovely and See More  Read more information warm though. Breakfast was OK. Spa facilities needed updating and mending. There were no locks on the lockers, the Jacuzzi was out of order, and we didn't find the steam room until we were leaving dueto lack of signs. Car parking can be an issue as the hotel does not have a car park of it's own and parking fees are high. You can park in the nearby car park outside the Grand for free between 6pmand 9am but don't be late the traffic wardens hunt in packs!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Indian Rose  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Grand Hotel

Stay Date: 17/01/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Boston who stayed at 3* Grand Hotel Scarborough (3 or 4 night Half Board Offer) in Scarborough wrote this review.

The hotel looks a little tired and the public rooms can be draughty. The tram to the beach doesn't operate in winter so, although my mum made it down the steps to the beach, we had to get a cab back See More  Read more information to the hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Promenade  
Town Centre  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Christmas Break

Stay Date: 23/12/13, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 2* Clifton Hotel Christmas Break in Scarborough wrote this review.

Great hotel, great staff & excellent food Can only recomend See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 2 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Lovely Break in Scarborough

Stay Date: 27/10/13, a customer aged 45-64 from Wakefield who stayed at 2* Clifton Hotel (3 or 4 night Half Board Offer) in Scarborough wrote this review.

Had a lovely short break in Scarborough, hotel was very comfortable and staff were very friendly, weather was also very nice to say it was the end of octoebr. All in all a very relaxing few days See More  Read more information away just what we needed.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 51 - 60 of 220 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002081 @ 17/07/2019 10:44:10

Last rendered @ 21/07/2019 16:10:29

Last rendered @ 21/07/2019 16:10:29

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB13

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.