Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Scarborough & Area

Scarborough & Area Holiday Reviews

Harbour & Castle, Scarborough

Take a look through our fantastic mix of modern and traditional hotels in Scarborough for a break to remember. Britain’s first seaside resort is as fun as ever, and jam-packed with activities for people of all ages to enjoy. With two sandy beaches, a busy fishing harbour, dramatic cliffs, a castle, fantastic parks, and a town centre shopping mall, there’s much to see and do.

Enjoy an array of amusements, donkey rides, evening theatre shows and of course some ice cream and fish and chips! Most Scarborough hotels provide an ideal base for exploring this charming seaside town and we offer a great range of hotels to suit all budgets and needs. Close to our hotels in Scarborough, the North Yorkshire coastline offers picturesque vistas, magnificent cliff views, rolling moors and stunning countryside.

  • The town’s top attractions include the breath-taking views from Scarborough Castle and the always popular SEA LIFE Centre
  • Take the family to the ever-fun amusements or, on a nice day, find yourselves rowing around pretty, Oriental-themed Peasholm Park
  • Head to the famous Stephen Joseph Theatre – having premiered many of Alan Aykbourn’s plays, the theatre is one of the region’s best, and known for being a champion of new writing
  • Explore top attractions a short drive from Scarborough, including Bridlington’s promenade, the fishing village of Robin Hood’s Bay and Whitby's famous ruined Abbey.
Pre-book hotels in Scarborough and the surrounding area along with return rail travel to make your break to the seaside even more relaxing. Check out our fantastic range of Scarborough hotels and offers in the list below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 220

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Scarborough

Stay Date: 01/08/14, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 3* Grand Hotel Scarborough in Scarborough wrote this review.

Staying at The Grand in Scarborough was an experience! A beautiful old building, great staff and large clean bedrooms with plenty of hot water. The food let it down but the view from the hotel See More  Read more information restaurant made us go back again and again! Thoroughly enjoyed it and although it needs a good update it is hard not to fall for the hotel's charm.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Castle Howard  
Scarborough Castle  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Scarborough Weekend

Stay Date: 01/08/14, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 2* Clifton Hotel in Scarborough wrote this review.

The Clifton Hotel is a Victorian construct that has been well modernised. The rooms are large with high ceilings, and most have the magnificent views or the beach and sea that we really asked for. See More  Read more information The hotel was run by a very small staff, and we found that service in the bar was so slow that we generally went out. Nevertheless for a weekend break I could hardly fault the provision, and I wouldhappily recommend this superbly positioned hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Harbour  
Peaseholm Park  
North bay Railway  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Clifton

Stay Date: 19/07/14, a customer aged 65+ from Lincoln who stayed at 2* Clifton Hotel in Scarborough wrote this review.

Very disappointed with room , in need of refurbishment. The only evidence of room been serviced was litter bin emptied, tea and coffee replenished, nothing else done eg: bed, bathroom. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Yorks Cricket  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Grand Hotel Scarborough

Stay Date: 08/07/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Grand Hotel Scarborough in Scarborough wrote this review.

It's very tired needs a lot of attention, booked in for 3 nights only managed one, the room was too small no bigger then a cupboard. I was offered another room on the second floor the window was See More  Read more information open I could not close it. There was bits on the floor and if the beds were made up they didn't look tidy. The food was ok but for the masses reminded me of school meals. I would give this hotel 3/10would not recommend.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Museum  
Castle  
Beach  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 2 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

3 day break in Scarborough

Stay Date: 22/06/14, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* Grand Hotel Scarborough in Scarborough wrote this review.

Hotel is amazing staff were very pleasant, but the evening meal we purchased on first night was very disappointing and we'll picked over. The first room they gave us was in the basement, I ended up See More  Read more information paying another ?30 to upgrade our room for the length of our stay. Also there are no parking facility's we bought parking permits from the hotel but didn't dare move the car once we got a park becausemy husband is not good on his feet and we would not have got back in a good parking place   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Brewers Fayre  
Hotel  
 

User Review Ratings: 4 out of 4 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

A day lost

Stay Date: 06/06/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Brigg who stayed at 3* Grand Hotel Scarborough in Scarborough wrote this review.

Supposed to stay 2 nights but couldnt arrive til second due to illness.Parking cost ?3 from 9 am til 13.30 the following day which we took advantage of but finding a space was very lucky as all See More  Read more information spaces were taken til my husband quickly nipped into one as one was vacated. The staircase was very grand thou the room was just basic but guess you get what you pay for. Bathroom had stains on wall oftoilet and ceiling above door was cracked and stained but the place was heaving so there would be little chance of change of room.Water gurgled all night from pipes above and at 1.50 am the firealarm woke us sending us fleeing down the fire exit and into the street to assemble. Only another couple joined us which was puzzling so we tried to enter the entrance.The security guard asked for our keycard after our explanation and he then said someone had occidentally broken glass on alarm. Good job we had our keys with us. We must of looked like walking around Scarborough that day.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Super Scarborough

Stay Date: 02/06/14, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* Grand Hotel Scarborough in Scarborough wrote this review.

The "Faded Splendour of a Bygone Age" that is The Grand Hotel, both inside and out, was very enjoyable, nostalgic and filled me with pleasure at the artistry and skill of architects and builders in See More  Read more information times past. I defy anyone, anywhere in the world, to have sat in a hotel dining room and had a better view! If only Britannia Hotels, or anyone, had enough money to return it to its true glory!Scarborough, I love you, as much now as I did in my childhood. Returning definitely was not a mistake!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Peas home Park  
South Beach  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Too short a stay

Stay Date: 02/06/14, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* Grand Hotel Scarborough in Scarborough wrote this review.

We only stayed for two nights, would have preferred longer to enable us to see a bit more. Stayed at the Grand Hotel. There is no doubt that the building is grand and would be the place to stay in See More  Read more information its heyday. The standard double room we had was small with what I would say was a 3/4 size bed. The decor was tired and would benefit from refurbishment. The staff are all friendly and efficient.The entertainment consisted of some music, an hour's bingo and an hour's entertainment, quite good but the same dance / song team both nights. The bar prices were a little on the expensive side with a90p charge for a dash of lemonade! After all that we would consider going back but would upgrade to a premier room next time (we already upgraded from an interior room without any windows to anexterior room).   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shops  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

The Grand Hotel, Scarborough

Stay Date: 23/05/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Woodbridge who stayed at 3* Grand Hotel Scarborough (3 or 4 night Half Board Offer) in Scarborough wrote this review.

Was one of the Premier Hotels on the North east Coast, sadly long past. The building is in poor repair & decor throughout. After check in we went to our room to discover it was not just small but See More  Read more information over filled with furniture, the TV was an old CRT and sat on a chest so close to the bed my wife could not pass through the gap. we went down and requested an upgrade as advertised in the room, noneavailable. So we moved the TV. The micro on-suit had mold in the shower on the ceiling, mixer tap, grab handle & all round the edges and no plug in the sink. The door lock was loose and there was nohandle inside so the pull on a yale lock knob was too much for my wife's grip. An older person with arthritis would not get out in a hurry. Also no phone in room. The dining room was well set up &furnished, the food was very good for self service mass catering, the staff were excellent. The view from the dining room would have been the best in Scarborough but for the state of the windows which hadnot been cleaned for several seasons. We went down for breakfast on Tuesday morning and found a huge Q, We went back & packed for departure then wend down again and the Q was longer, with a ?10 penaltyfor late checkout we skipped breakfast and checked out. We mad no comment to the receptionist, she was doing her job well. Will not return without a major refit or sale to another company.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Stephen Joseph Theatre  
Open Top Bus Ride  
Trip to Whitby  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Royal Hotel and Spa

Stay Date: 05/05/14, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* The Royal Hotel & Spa Scarborough in Scarborough wrote this review.

Except for the confusion over our booking reservation which the receptionist dealt with in a very, very efficient manner, the hotel was very welcoming with the most helpful staff. Breakfast was See More  Read more information brilliant so was the bar meal we had one evening. overall the whole short break was excellent. The room was serviced daily and to a very high standard. It is a hotel we shall be going back to.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bridlington  
Robin Hood Bay  
Whitby  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Magpie Whitby  
ivy house scarborough  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 41 - 50 of 220 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002081 @ 17/07/2019 10:44:06

Last rendered @ 21/07/2019 01:21:51

Last rendered @ 21/07/2019 01:21:51

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB11

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.