Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Scarborough & Area

Scarborough & Area Holiday Reviews

Harbour & Castle, Scarborough

Take a look through our fantastic mix of modern and traditional hotels in Scarborough for a break to remember. Britain’s first seaside resort is as fun as ever, and jam-packed with activities for people of all ages to enjoy. With two sandy beaches, a busy fishing harbour, dramatic cliffs, a castle, fantastic parks, and a town centre shopping mall, there’s much to see and do.

Enjoy an array of amusements, donkey rides, evening theatre shows and of course some ice cream and fish and chips! Most Scarborough hotels provide an ideal base for exploring this charming seaside town and we offer a great range of hotels to suit all budgets and needs. Close to our hotels in Scarborough, the North Yorkshire coastline offers picturesque vistas, magnificent cliff views, rolling moors and stunning countryside.

  • The town’s top attractions include the breath-taking views from Scarborough Castle and the always popular SEA LIFE Centre
  • Take the family to the ever-fun amusements or, on a nice day, find yourselves rowing around pretty, Oriental-themed Peasholm Park
  • Head to the famous Stephen Joseph Theatre – having premiered many of Alan Aykbourn’s plays, the theatre is one of the region’s best, and known for being a champion of new writing
  • Explore top attractions a short drive from Scarborough, including Bridlington’s promenade, the fishing village of Robin Hood’s Bay and Whitby's famous ruined Abbey.
Pre-book hotels in Scarborough and the surrounding area along with return rail travel to make your break to the seaside even more relaxing. Check out our fantastic range of Scarborough hotels and offers in the list below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 220

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Scarborough

Stay Date: 19/08/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* The Royal Hotel & Spa Scarborough in Scarborough wrote this review.

Hotel had been spruced up since last time, was disappointed there were no biscuits in room to have with coffee. Although bed was made the sheets weren't changed we were there for four nights. We had See More  Read more information put rubbish in the bin which must have spilled out on floor that was not cleaned up. The breakfasts were overcooked as if they had been standing for a long time when empty you had to wait ages forthem to be refilled. There seemed a big shortage of staff in restaurant and bar. Have stayed here many times before and found it much better than this time. Staff friendly but overstretched.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Spa  
York  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Weatherspoon  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Day Out in Scarborough

Stay Date: 14/08/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* The Royal Hotel & Spa Scarborough in Scarborough wrote this review.

Great Day out in Scarborough. We went on the train and the Royal Hotel was close by. The room did not have a good view but was alright for one night stay. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The See More  Read more information dining was dated and could with some refurbishment. Overall an enjoyable visit to the spa, theatre and a lovely location.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Spa Theatre  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great 2 night stay in Scarborough

Stay Date: 29/08/16, a customer aged 25-44 from Newcastle Upon Tyne who stayed at 3* The Royal Hotel & Spa Scarborough in Scarborough wrote this review.

We booked last minute for a 2 night stay. The weather was great and the atmosphere was buzzing. When I checked in I left my iPad at the reception desk, someone swiftly brought it to my room. The See More  Read more information location was great, right on the see front with great views. Room was better than I expected, very clean and comfortable with what looked like a new bathroom.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pier  
Beach  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Good getaway

Stay Date: 16/08/16, a customer aged 18-24 who stayed at 3* Grand Hotel Scarborough in Scarborough wrote this review.

The hotel room was basic but just what we needed as we only slept and showered in there. The staff were nice but it was an half an hour wait to check in. The location of the hotel is good as it was See More  Read more information right near everything we needed such as the beach front and pubs/restaurants in the area. The only negative was the seagulls keeping us awake during the night which meant we didn't get much sleep.Overall a very good stay.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Sea Front  
Winking willys  
Opera house casino  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Lord roseberry  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Worst hotel ever

Stay Date: 14/09/16, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* Grand Hotel Scarborough - Internal Rooms in Scarborough wrote this review.

The Grand Hotel in Scarborough is anything but grand. It is run down and in need of massive improvement. Reception is a nightmare. We had to queue for 40 minutes to check in. Our room was like a See More  Read more information prison cell. No window and no way to control the heating. There was no room phone no internet connection and no G4 reception. I dread to think what might have happened in an emergency. There was alsoonly 1 elevator and 1 emergency exit that lead out to the rockiest iron stair you have ever seen. The hotel itself sat at the top of the cliff with beautiful views across the water. It was also onlyabout a 15 minute walk from the train station. The was also a cliff lift. A definite necessity.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Good break in Scarborough

Stay Date: 05/09/16, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* The Royal Hotel & Spa Scarborough in Scarborough wrote this review.

The hotel was in an excellent location on the cliff overlooking the south beach and within a minute of the town centre. The entrance looked great but there was only a small reception desk with one See More  Read more information receptionist so it took ages for us to book in and then the room wasn't ready till 3 pm. The room was dated but big and did have a sea view as requested. However the beds were very hard anduncomfortable and I heard several other customers complaining about the beds. Breakfast was a self service which was difficult as by the time we had queued for tea then for toast the tea was cold and thebreakfast was of a poor standard. The weather was lovely and we would go to Scarborough again but wouldn't stay at the Royal Hotel and Spa.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Peasholme Park  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Beautiful Mallyan Spout

Stay Date: 29/09/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* The Royal Hotel & Spa Scarborough in Scarborough wrote this review.

Lovely, comfortable, beautiful and clean rooms. Did not have meal in restaurant, but had a bar meal - fantastic. The location of the hotel just peaceful, beautiful and we had a friendly welcome from See More  Read more information all the sheep, just loved it. For getting around bus stop outside of hotel to get into Whitby or you can use the steam train which is not very far from the hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Goathland  
hotel surroundings  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review not helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Scarborough stay

Stay Date: 06/02/18, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* The Royal Hotel & Spa Scarborough in Scarborough wrote this review.

Stayed at The Royal - disappointing. First room unacceptable, changed room quickly to a better room but no central heating just a small electric heater. Booked room only so can't comment on hotel in See More  Read more information general.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Watermark  
Tricolos  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Scarborough visit

Stay Date: 07/02/18, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* The Royal Hotel & Spa Scarborough (Half Board Offer) in Scarborough wrote this review.

The hotel was very dated and very cold in the bar, lounge and restaurant, so much so that people wore their coats. The main areas were understaffed and service was slow. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Good Scarborough base

Stay Date: 21/02/18, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 3* The Royal Hotel & Spa Scarborough (Half Board Offer) in Scarborough wrote this review.

Often stay in Scarbados for a night or two for a change in the off season. We're only in Beverley and getting the train suits us as parking is tricky. The Royal Hotel is well placed for most people. See More  Read more information Close to shops, pubs and the steps (or tram) down to the beach. The hotel is OK but we regularly get fobbed off with a room looking at the boiler house, then go back to the desk for an upgrade orbetter room - as was the case this time. The new room was great, though not totally prepared for us (not enough towels and no TV remote) but it was more than comfortable and warm and had a good bathroom.The deal with the evening (3 course) meal and buffet breakfast from Super Break is a very good one when you break it down so it's all good. If I had any points to make I'd ask Super Break to breakdown the deals to recognise a 'better' room or not. Otherwise, and in general I'd recommend this sort of break to others.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Mother Hubbards  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 1 - 10 of 220 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002081 @ 17/07/2019 11:23:27

Last rendered @ 23/07/2019 23:45:39

Last rendered @ 23/07/2019 23:45:39

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB14

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.