Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Reading & Area

Reading & Area Holiday Reviews

Mapledurham House, near Reading

Reading is at the heart of the attractive Thames Valley area 40 miles west of London, with a wide range of Reading hotels providing easy access to the town’s attractions.

  • Reading is well known as a destination for festivals, with an annual beer festival which is one of the largest in the UK, and the Reading Festival which attracts thousands of music fans every year. If you don’t fancy getting muddy in a tent, staying in one of our hotels in Reading is a great alternative to camping.
  • Reading town centre is a popular shopping destination, with a mix of well-known department stores and The Oracle indoor shopping mall which is easily accessed from many of our Reading hotels.
  • For a great day out, our hotels in Reading are an excellent base for visiting nearby Henley-on-Thames, where the annual Royal Regatta is held.
  • Sports fans can pay a visit to the Madejski Stadium, home to Reading Football Club and London Irish rugby team. Watch a game and enjoy the lively atmosphere, indulge in an evening visiting the town’s pubs and bars and return to the comfort of our Reading hotels.
Whatever activities you choose to enjoy in this vibrant town, our hotels in Reading are ideal for your short break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 133

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

A Great Christmas in Reading

Stay Date: 24/12/07, a customer from Chislehurst who stayed at 4* Best Western Plus Reading Moat House in Reading wrote this review.

I booked into Moat House Reading because I was kindly invited to share Christmas, along with several other family members, with a nephew who lives with his wife & family in Reading but was not able See More  Read more information to put four of us up. We really enjoyed both our family Christmas and our two nights overnight stay at the Moat House. The best part of our overnight stay at the Moat House was actually being able tohave uninterrupted sleep due to the bedrooms being soundproof, unlike many 'motel-type' accomodation! Also the breakfast was served by good and courteous, attentive staff. My only negative observationwas to arrive on Christmas Eve to find huge influx of visitors all trying to get served by one member of staff at the bar! Otherwise well done!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Business Trip

Stay Date: 08/11/07, a customer who stayed at 3* Mercure George Hotel in Reading wrote this review.

Only criticism was that there was no convenient parking and I had to use a car park some distance away. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Day Out In London

Stay Date: 25/10/07, a customer from Derby who stayed at 4* Reading Lake Hotel in Reading wrote this review.

All fine, hotel good but we had booked by telephone and were committed when we received the written confirmation which included details that the swimming pool was out of commission. That fact should See More  Read more information have been mentioned verbally when we made the booking. Also in the room there is scant information regarding the internet connection and I unfortunately incurred a £10 charge for my son logging on toGoogle. Apart from the price being ridiculous there ought to be more safeguards. I noticed on the charge sheet for the telephone that there was actually a charge for dialling a freefone number!!Posiibly OK for the business users on expenses - not so much fun when it comes out of your own pocket.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hampton Court  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Waterside Restuarant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Reading

Stay Date: 09/08/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Reading Lake Hotel in Reading wrote this review.

Nice location for the hotel, but no airconditioning in the room and unable to have the french doors open because being next to the lake there were huge mosquitos. Very warm in the room. Shame that See More  Read more information the pool etc was closed.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Reading Town Centre  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Wetherspoons  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Reading

Stay Date: 07/07/07, a customer from West Sussex who stayed at 4* Reading Lake Hotel in Reading wrote this review.

We visited the hotel between two chess tournaments. Having driven for over three hours to Wales in the morning and then over two hours back to Berkshire, on an extremely hot day, we arrived to find See More  Read more information that the pool was closed and we had to get back in the car and use the pool at a sister hotel. We got lost looking for the second hotel and we were very fed up. Having a pool had been the decidingfactor for choosing this hotel. It was very disappointing. There was no one to direct us to breakfast and so we ended up eating with a coach party, without realising that there were different breakfastsin different places in the hotel. The breakfast was okay but very basic and again disappointing. All in all, whilst the view from our room was nice, this was all you could say about the visit.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pizza Hut  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Reading

Stay Date: 05/07/07, a customer from Redruth who stayed at 4* Novotel Reading Centre in Reading rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
New Orleans Restaurant  
St George & Dragon Wargrave  
 
 

Short Break in Reading

Stay Date: 30/06/07, a customer from Rochester who stayed at 3* De Vere Wokefield Estate in Reading rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cunning Man, Burghfield  
 
 

Short Break in Reading

Stay Date: 09/06/07, a customer from Stoke-On-Trent who stayed at 4* Best Western Plus Reading Moat House in Reading rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Short Break in Reading

Stay Date: 27/05/07, a customer from Abergavenny who stayed at 4* Novotel Reading Centre in Reading rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Novotel Reading Centre Hotel Restaurant  
 
 

Short Break in Reading

Stay Date: 18/05/07, a customer from Grimsby who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Reading West in Reading rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 
 

Showing 101 - 110 of 133 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002081 @ 17/07/2019 10:44:06

Last rendered @ 20/07/2019 23:31:51

Last rendered @ 20/07/2019 23:31:51

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB11

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.