Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Peak District

Peak District Holiday Reviews

Stepping Stones, Dovedale

When you're looking to escape the hustle and bustle of urban life, there's few finer places to do it than in our Peak District hotels. Whether you're looking to take up outdoor pursuits, visit the quaint towns and villages of the region or simply to relax and unwind in breath-taking surroundings, this is the place to do it all. Easily accessed via Manchester and Sheffield by road and rail, the peace and tranquillity of the Peak District feels a million miles away from the stresses and strains of city life.

  • Don't miss the striking and distinctive Chatsworth House featured as Pemberley in recent adaptations of Pride and Prejudice, the country house has frequently been voted as the nation's favourite in recent years, and taking in the gorgeous gardens and stunning Baroque architecture can easily take up a whole day.
  • The village of Bakewell is a must-visit for all food-lovers; spend a morning trying all three 'Original' Bakewell Pudding shops in the town and decide which your favourite is - don't confuse them with Bakewell Tarts though, or risk upsetting the locals!
  • Make the most of your hotel in The Peak District and conquer the hills on foot, on the back of a bike or a horse or by doing some of the best rock-climbing in the world; one such site - Thor's Cave - is well worth the visit by any means.


A fabulous choice for your next short break in the country, check out our list of Peak District hotels below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 166

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Short Break in Buxton

Stay Date: 26/02/07, a customer from Ipswich who stayed at 3* The Palace Hotel in Buxton rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Buxton Town  
Chesterfield Town  
Deepdale Walk to Chelmerton Village  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lone Star Rib & Steak House  
 
 

Buxton

Stay Date: 12/05/07, a customer from Tadcaster who stayed at 3* The Palace Hotel in Buxton wrote this review.

Poor accommodation. Badly needs renovating. Unlike to happen tho. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

New Bath Hotel, Matlock

Stay Date: 13/10/07, a customer who stayed at 4* New Bath Hotel and Spa in Matlock Bath wrote this review.

Hotel itself is very nice in a good location, but our room was located in the annexe, which left a lot to be desired to say the least! The room was dark and cold and looked worn out - as did the See More  Read more information mattress. Have paid a lot less for a lot better. Very disappointed - glad it was one night only.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Shrigley Hall Not What I Expected

Stay Date: 25/08/07, a customer from Wednesbury who stayed at 4* Shrigley Hall Hotel (2 Nt Offer & 1st Nt Dinner) in Pott Shrigley (Peak District) wrote this review.

After visiting Paramount Palace hotel in May my expectations of a wonderfull break were high. I was very disapointed with the service recieved at Shrigley Hall the restauraunt could not cope, the See More  Read more information Bar was left un clean with dirty plates and glasses every where but as a plus the Hotel staff in the Spa were very helpfull and friendly. On my return I have complained to Shrigley Hall and they haveinvited us back to see if service has improved I was very pleased with the prompt reply from the Hotel Manager, after our complaints whilst staying were ignored by staff   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Buxton  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Good Place To Visit

Stay Date: 07/04/12, a customer who stayed at 4* New Bath Hotel and Spa in Matlock Bath rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Gulliver's World  
Cabel Car  
 
 

The Palace Hotel Buxton

Stay Date: 07/04/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* The Palace Hotel (Half Board Offer) in Buxton wrote this review.

We were very disappointed with our stay at the Palace Hotel in Buxton. The was advertised as a 4* Hotel but it was definitely not! The quality of the bedroom was very poor; it was very, very hot See More  Read more information with no fan or air-con, no hair dryer (3 times I asked & they finally brought one up @ 9:45pm), no mini bar/fridge, one of the wardrobe doors was so faulty that you had to lift it to open the drawunderneath! The shower power was poor & the water was not that hot. The first evening I asked for one of their 'long' drinks from their drinks menu. They didn't know how to make it & it took 15 minutes forthem to get someone to make it, by this time my husband had finished his drink!! The evening meals were hot & quite tasty, however the portions were very small, with no opportunity to help yourself toany extra veg. No bread rolls were offered. Breakfast was very poor. The tomatoes had been in the oven that long that the skins were hard, they were almost like sun-dried tomatoes! The bacon washard/dry. The choice of cold breakfast items were limited & on the first morning some cheese slices were 'curling' at the sides! The toaster only cooked on one side & you had to put your bread throughseveral times. I booked this two night break as a treat & deliberately chose what I thought would be a better quality hotel but we were very disappointed as the hotel is part of the enjoyment of a tripaway. We have booked breaks with you in the past to London staying at The Russell twice & the last time at one of your mystery hotels & they certainly met our expectations! If The Palace gets its 4*because it has a pool & spa then this definitely does not reflect the quality of the hotel's interior, the quality of the bedrooms nor the quality of the food.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 2 users found this review not helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 161 - 166 of 166 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002075 @ 18/06/2019 11:30:19

Last rendered @ 18/06/2019 16:06:24

Last rendered @ 18/06/2019 16:06:24

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB11

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.