Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Oxford Area

Oxford Area Holiday Reviews

View of All Souls College, Oxford



Book a hotel in Oxford and see that there's so much more here than just the University. A visit to Oxford means that you get to shop at the covered market, visit the world renowned Modern Art Museum or stroll through the Universities botanical gardens for a stonewalled haven of peace in the bustling city.

However, if you are booking hotels in Oxford, then it would be a crime for you not to see the University. Christ Church College is not far from most hotels, but it offers some of the most picturesque architecture in the country. The college has served as a movie set for films such as Brideshead revisited and Harry Potter. Whilst in the city centre, why not take a trip along the Thames via one of the many punting stations, before heading back to your Oxford Hotel and changing before hitting the cities restaurants and pubs.

Whilst Oxford is not the largest city, there are a number of attractions that will be within a short distance of your hotel. Nearby Woodstock offers the magnificent Blenheim Palace. Built in 1704 for the John Churchill, The Duke of Marlborough, it was named after his recent victory in Blenheim. At Woodstock you can also find the elegant St. Mary Magdalene Church. The charming medieval market of Witney and the picturesque countryside of the Cotswolds are also close by. For that idyllic Cotswold market town, why not visit Burford, which has one of the best 'wool' churches in the country.

So you can see that Oxford has a lot more to offer than just a University, so why not book a hotel in Oxford today and see what this city and the Cotswolds have to offer.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 295

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Short Break in Oxford

Stay Date: 24/02/07, a customer from South Yorkshire who stayed at 4* Holiday Inn Oxford in Oxford wrote this review.

I went to Oxford, and only had time to do Blackwell's bookshop, which has a good selection of books, and is well worth a visit. Apart from this, the holiday and parking was terrible, and the problem See More  Read more information was that we parked at the wrong end, near the ice rink, and all the attractions were quite some distance away. Apart from that I was glad to get away, as the hotel was in the middle of Services andthe receptionist was cold, no smile or welcome, although the breakfast staff were good. There were noisy children in the nearby room, who seemed to have the door open, as we could hear them shouting. Apossibly different receptionist in the evening was helpful over the phone, and agreed to ask them to be quiet, as it was 10.30p.m. and we just wanted to sleep. If we had had the energy, with thenoise and the first reception, I think we would have gone home that night, without using the hotel we had paid for. We did not use the bar or cafe as some drunks were singing in that area as we wentby.There was no soap in our room, so we used the rooms soap from next door, which we had booked for our daughter. I think a friendly welcome is essential in this hotel, as it is in such an uninspiringlocation, isolated from any attractions we could walk to, and it may have helped if it wasn't noisy.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Chipping Norton

Stay Date: 03/02/07, a customer who stayed at 3* Heythrop Park Hotel in Nr Oxford wrote this review.

Myself and my boyfriend visited Heythrop Park are were very disappointed when we arrived. firstly, the leisure facilities that were advertised were not available due to maintenance work. Secondly,we See More  Read more information decided to go out for a meal but the hotel staff were not very helpful when asked for places to go. Thirdly, we had to find our own place to visit for a meal by driving around the local area, we thenbooked a taxi that charged us ?10 for a five minute journey. However, when we arrived at The Harrow Arms public house we were greeted by staff and local peple who were very friendly and made us feelvery welcome. We had a lovely meal and a few drinks for very reasonable prices. The hotel room was basic but met our needs. We decided not to have breakfast on the Sunday morning as we feltdisappointed and let down with the accomodation so as soon as we woke up we checked out. We will not be returning to Heythrop Park and would not recommend it!!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Harrow Arms Public House in Enstone  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Oxford And Beyond

Stay Date: 03/02/07, a customer who stayed at 3* Ramada Oxford in Oxford wrote this review.

We spent one day of our weekend travelling around Oxford which was lovely. We saw Oxford Castle and had a tour of the prison and read information about people who had been incarcerated there. See More  Read more information Outside the castle were a group of people doing a martial arts display which was very interesting who we watched from the cafe at the side of the castle. We spent the next day split between Burford andBourton on the water, two very pretty villages about 20 miles from Oxford. Bourton has a river running through the town. It was very picturesque and very good for cream teas! Burford was lovely. We hadlunch in a very old stone walled pub. It was delicious and excellent value. It was like stepping back in time and we spent quite a few hours there as the time flew by.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bourton-on-the-Water  
Oxford Castle  
Burford  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Oxford

Stay Date: 09/12/06, a customer who stayed at 4* Holiday Inn Oxford in Oxford rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Oxford  
 
 

Days Shopping at Bicester Shopping Village

Stay Date: 07/12/06, a customer who stayed at 4* Macdonald Bear Hotel in Woodstock wrote this review.

Attractive Good quality outlets Genuine reduced prices on quality goods. Staff mostly very helpful. Shopping for furniture at Woodstock. Real Wood Co. Superb furniture well displayed See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Woodstock  
Shopping in Bicester  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Short Break in Sandford Near Oxford

Stay Date: 30/09/06, a customer who stayed at 4* Oxford Thames Hotel in Oxford wrote this review.

walked by the river. swam in the hotel pool. went to oxford greyhound stadium. went to liaison chinese restaurant and turf tavern pub. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Oxford Greyhound Stadium  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Liaison, Oxford  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A Day Out in Oxford

Stay Date: 22/09/06, a customer who stayed at 4* Oxford Spires Hotel in Oxford wrote this review.

We hotel in which we stayed had a fantastic location. After a hearty breakfast we walked into Oxford which only takes a few minutes. You can also walk along the river. Very picturesque. We saw the See More  Read more information open top big red bus as soon as we came into Oxford, it looked great fun and as it was a sunny day we jumped on and did the full tour straight away. You can get on and off all day, so if somethingtakes your fancy you can stop at any time. We got off at one of the largest bookshops I have ever seen. (Bliss!)Then we visited The Oxford Story, the Museum and we even had time to catch a film! We calledin at a riverside pub for a Pims on the way back to our hotel, where we finished our day with a great meal.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Oxford Red Bus Tour  
Oxford Story  
Ashmolean Museum  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A Weekend In Oxford

Stay Date: 12/08/06, a customer from Dartford who stayed at 3* Ramada Oxford in Oxford wrote this review.

We had been looking forward especially to punting along the River Isis in Oxford and were not disappointed when we hired a boat for 2 with its own guide! It was very romantic and informational too! See More  Read more information The open top bus was a delight on a summer's day. We took in the historical sights and the guide was both educational and humorous! very enjoyable. Lastly we finished with meal in one of Oxford's manyrestaurants.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Open Top Bus Tour  
Oxford Centre  
Punting  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
New Orleans Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Wallingford

Stay Date: 17/07/06, a customer from Folkestone who stayed at 3* Shillingford Bridge Hotel in Wallingford (Nr) rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Short Break in Woodstock

Stay Date: 23/06/06, a customer from Cumbria who stayed at 4* Macdonald Bear Hotel in Woodstock wrote this review.

Blenhiem Palace and grounds an excellent full day out. The city of Oxford a weekend end is barely long enough. A picinic lunch in the park around Christchurch collage ! excellent a whole day in its See More  Read more information self if you want to appreciate the views,history and pure atmosphere.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Blenheim Palace  
Oxford city  
Woodstock  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Macdonald Bear Hotel Restaurant  
Woodstock Arms  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 281 - 290 of 295 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002081 @ 17/07/2019 11:23:27

Last rendered @ 23/07/2019 23:03:19

Last rendered @ 23/07/2019 23:03:19

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB14

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.