Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Oxford Area

Oxford Area Holiday Reviews

View of All Souls College, Oxford



Book a hotel in Oxford and see that there's so much more here than just the University. A visit to Oxford means that you get to shop at the covered market, visit the world renowned Modern Art Museum or stroll through the Universities botanical gardens for a stonewalled haven of peace in the bustling city.

However, if you are booking hotels in Oxford, then it would be a crime for you not to see the University. Christ Church College is not far from most hotels, but it offers some of the most picturesque architecture in the country. The college has served as a movie set for films such as Brideshead revisited and Harry Potter. Whilst in the city centre, why not take a trip along the Thames via one of the many punting stations, before heading back to your Oxford Hotel and changing before hitting the cities restaurants and pubs.

Whilst Oxford is not the largest city, there are a number of attractions that will be within a short distance of your hotel. Nearby Woodstock offers the magnificent Blenheim Palace. Built in 1704 for the John Churchill, The Duke of Marlborough, it was named after his recent victory in Blenheim. At Woodstock you can also find the elegant St. Mary Magdalene Church. The charming medieval market of Witney and the picturesque countryside of the Cotswolds are also close by. For that idyllic Cotswold market town, why not visit Burford, which has one of the best 'wool' churches in the country.

So you can see that Oxford has a lot more to offer than just a University, so why not book a hotel in Oxford today and see what this city and the Cotswolds have to offer.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 295

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Stopover near Oxford

Stay Date: 17/05/18, a customer aged 65+ from Sudbury who stayed at 3* Best Western Plus Magnolia Park Golf and Country Club in Nr Oxford wrote this review.

We used this hotel to break our journey home to Suffolk from Tetbury. We had a nice spacious room with all the usual facilities including Hairdryer (although no plug near a mirror, Safe, flat screen See More  Read more information TV (No Sky Sports, you needed to go to the bar for that), Coffee and Tea and an empty fridge. The bed was very comfortable and we had a first floor room with a small balcony and view over the golfcourse. We ate a snack in the Bar, which is actually the golf bar. The food was good but the actual bar itself was a little tired and in need of refurbishment. We were down to breakfast just before 9am(breakfast was available until 10am) and were advised to order from the menu rather than use the hot buffet which we were told would be a little dry. We both had Eggs Royale which was excellent.Obviously, the cereal and cold buffet items were fine.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bicester Village  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Heythrop Park

Stay Date: 11/05/18, a customer aged 45-64 from Scunthorpe who stayed at 3* Heythrop Park Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Nr Oxford wrote this review.

Hotel very poor and very shabby, staff not helpful wouldn't recommend this for a break. Had to complain about room size on arrival so small you couldn't open the wardrobe door, they did give us a See More  Read more information bigger room. Afternoon tea very poor, hotel grossly under staffed. Lovely grounds and walks mapped out however these were poorly signed.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Oxford history

Stay Date: 25/04/18, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 5* Macdonald Randolph Hotel in Oxford wrote this review.

Staying in the Macdonald Randolph Hotel - was on the centre of Oxford and close to all the historical sites and colleges. The hotels link to the Morse series also adds to its charm. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ashmolean Museum  
City Bus Tours  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Browns  
The Red Lion  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Ladies reunion in Oxford

Stay Date: 20/04/18, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Oxford Spires Hotel in Oxford wrote this review.

Good welcome from the hotel on arrival, the room wasn't ready as we were early, but the checking in was completed. We were unpleasantly surprised though that we had to pay to park at the hotel. The See More  Read more information location was great and we were able to walk into Oxford easily along the Thames footpath. There was a good choice of breakfast foods but sadly I thought the cooked choice was not hot enoughespecially the fried eggs which were indeed cold, not even cool. I suspect they were pre-cooked and stored in the fridge. Unfortunately as it was very busy they didn't have long enough on the hot plate to bereheated. The terrace was pleasant to sit out on in the sun and all areas clean and tidy. We didn't expect 2 fire alarms; hope the culprit was fined if it was due to smoking in their room! I wouldreturn to the hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ashmolean  
Footprints walking tour  
St Marys vaults coffee shop  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Wheatsheaf in town  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 2 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Oxford

Stay Date: 09/04/18, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Oxford Spires Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Oxford wrote this review.

The hotel was good and very clean. The room was slightly dated and the bathroom in need of a make-over. Parking cost £15 for two days, but Oxford was expensive to park. Hotel 15 minutes walk to See More  Read more information centre. Food at hotel was very good but not cheap. Overall the hotel and staff were good.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Oxford Castle  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Turf  
Oxford Spires  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Superb Hotel in Oxford

Stay Date: 10/04/18, a customer aged 65+ from St Peter Port Guernsey who stayed at 4* Oxford Spires Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Oxford wrote this review.

The hotel was modern and chic, friendly staff, excellent breakfast and dinner. Location ideal, peacefully only twenty minutes from the centre of Oxford. Gym, swim and gym centre attached to the See More  Read more information hotel. All contributed to a delightful stay.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ashmolean muesum  
Oxford Modern Art  
Pit River Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Tate Modern  
Oxford Spires Hotel  
Bill's Oxford  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Easter Weekend break

Stay Date: 30/03/18, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Oxford Spires Hotel in Oxford wrote this review.

Excellent hotel, classy, comfortable, the dining experience especially impressed, first class food and drink. Only downside, the indoor pool changing room and attendant - was not aware old pound See More  Read more information coins were needed for lockers, and unaware of what code should be used, so had to leave my belongings in open locker which made me feel nervous and probably hastened my enjoyment in the pool, so I leftearlier than I had expected too. Mentioned to attendant - when he was available! - and he told me details then, too late! apart from that, thoroughly enjoyed weekend.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ashmolean Museum  
Town Hall art gallery  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

OK in Oxford

Stay Date: 09/03/18, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Oxford Spires Hotel (2 Night Offer, 1st Night Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Oxford wrote this review.

I have stayed in Oxford Spires Hotel many times before. It's a good hotel, nice rooms, fab pool and great location for the city. I was left a little disappointed this time, they appeared See More  Read more information understaffed in the restaurant and bar making things a little chaotic. Also they have started charging to park, which I was not made aware of so that was £7.50 per day we were not expecting. Room was good.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Covered Market  
Museum of Natural.History & Pitt Rivers Museum  
Riverside and College walk  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Crown  
Spires Hotel  
Pieminister in the market  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Oxford weekend

Stay Date: 09/03/18, a customer aged 45-64 from Rugeley who stayed at 3* Best Western Plus Magnolia Park (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Nr Oxford wrote this review.

Stayed at the hotel while we visited Oxford city. Hotel was in a quiet rural location but was still handy for the park and ride to get both into Oxford city and Bicester retail outlet. The rooms See More  Read more information were all lovely and clean and all of the staff were very pleasant and helpful. I was disappointed with the restaurant for a Best Western hotel, as during our stay we were only offered dining options inthe bar area.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Oxford City  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Wonderful stay in Oxford

Stay Date: 03/03/18, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Oxford Spires Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Oxford wrote this review.

The hotel (Oxford Spires) was superb. Great views to watch the "resident" wildlife. Hand fed geese from our bedroom window which was delightful. Fabulous breakfast set us up for the day. Very See More  Read more information comfortable bed. Hotel has a lovely pool, hot tub, gym and a spa offering many treatments. Great location. 20 mins walk to Christ Church college where you can pick up a hop on hop off bus to do a tour ofthe city. Thoroughly recommend this hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Tour of Oxford  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel Bar  
Hotel Restaurant  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 1 - 10 of 295 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002081 @ 17/07/2019 11:23:27

Last rendered @ 23/07/2019 23:58:13

Last rendered @ 23/07/2019 23:58:13

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB15

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.