Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - North West England

North West England Holiday Reviews

Bridgewater Hall, Manchester

There are lots of great reasons why our hotels in North West England are amongst our most popular short break destinations; great cities, full of some of the best shopping outside London and world-renowned attractions. With exciting music venues, top-class sport and fine dining, there's much to see and do in the area's big cities, whilst for a relaxing break away from the hustle and bustle, our hotels in Cheshire make an ideal choice.

When you're planning a stay in this region, be sure to check out our great value dinner deals too - two night packages with dinner included on the first night often offer the perfect country retreat, particularly in our hotels in Cheshire and in the Manchester area. When you're off on a longer break, be certain to take advantage of our handy Manchester Airport hotels too.

  • For a break with the whole family, nothing beats the Lancashire seaside and our hotels in Blackpool; check out the ever-popular Pleasure Beach, the local Madame Tussauds, and scale the heights for terrific views at Blackpool Tower.
  • Our Liverpool hotels are perfect for visiting the cultural city - find yourself at a trendy restaurant close to the Albert Docks, taking a ferry across the Mersey, or on the trail of The Beatles at the world-famous Cavern Club.
  • Visit two of the country's footballing giants at Old Trafford or the Etihad Stadium, or enjoy the infamous nightlife when you stay at one of our hotels in Manchester.
  • Our hotels in Chester have much to offer too - enjoy a family trip to the nationally-renowned Chester Zoo, or enjoy some of the best outlet shopping in the country at Cheshire Oaks.


A fabulous choice for your next short break destination, check out our range of hotels in the North-West in the list below. Alternatively, explore more UK weekend breaks.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 2851

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Excellent Short Break In the Isle of Man

Stay Date: 24/04/14, a customer aged 65+ from Huddersfield who stayed at 4* Claremont Hotel in Douglas (Isle of Man) wrote this review.

This was an excellent break for myself and wife. The hotel staff were excellent and the Isle of Man is a great place for a short break. If you go yo must use the Manx Railways, they are an See More  Read more information experience. The hotel room was at the back of the hotel and was very warn, we had to have a fan going 24 hours a day. Overall were would say excellent value for money and would recommend it to anyone.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Peel Castle  
Laxey Wheel  
Calf of Man  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hawthorne  
Itialan Job  
Sir Normans  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend away

Stay Date: 25/04/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Birmingham who stayed at 4* Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel (Afternoon Tea Offer) in Chester wrote this review.

Hotel was ok, nothing special, but a good price. Spa was a little rough around the edges and I cut my foot on something on the floor. Tea on arrival was an unexpected bonus lovely sandwiches and See More  Read more information cakes.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Chester Zoo  
RSPB Site  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

City break Chester

Stay Date: 25/04/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Sheffield who stayed at 4* Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel (Afternoon Tea Offer) in Chester wrote this review.

Good location for canal and Chester city centre. We also were near to Broxton castle and Pemberton castle. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Chester  
Anderton Boat Lift  
Canal  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

De Vere Venues Wychwood Park

Stay Date: 24/04/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Beck Lane who stayed at 3* Wychwood Park Hotel & Golf Club in Crewe wrote this review.

Modern hotel, clean and tidy. Golf course next door, not a lot of other amenities. Need to book table for dinner, was told on first night that booking was not required and could not get a table See More  Read more information until 20.30. Restaurant space not fully used. Bar was not open during the day.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Chester  
Chester Zoo  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Easter in Preston, Lancs.

Stay Date: 18/04/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Best Western Plus Samlesbury Hotel - Preston in Preston wrote this review.

Great hotel if you don't want to do anything but sit. No recreation facilities at all! Sports facilities closed, pool table gone, bar closed early. Not really child or young person friendly at See More  Read more information the moment. Room was cold, window wouldn't shut and the fan was on all the time. Bed was uncomfortable and the lock fell off the bathroom door. We have stayed in this hotel 3 times in the past when itwas the Preston Swallow, before it was taken over by the Merchants and called the Samlesbury Hotel, it was a lot better then.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Blackpool Pleasure Beach  
Sizergh Casle grounds  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Guild Merchant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Fantastic family mini break

Stay Date: 16/04/14, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 3* Daresbury Park Hotel (Family Half Board Offer) in Chester (Nr) wrote this review.

The hotel was very clean and the room was a good size. The food was lovely in the Brasserie my only complaint would be to change the meat for the carvery daily as it was roast beef every night. We See More  Read more information also ate in the Triumph bar and the food was excellent - it made a nice change from the busy Brasserie restaurant which can get a little noisy. The leisure facilities were good but we were unaware thatyou had to book to go in the swimming pool so had 2 disappointed children when we were turned away. The hotel was extremely busy on our last night and last morning due to a wedding which meant wewere unable to get to the cooked breakfast as the queue was ridiculously long, a prewarning from reception staff when we checked in would have been appreciated then we would have known to go earlier forbreakfast. Overall it was good value for money and a good break away from the norm. I would not recommend visiting Conkers if your children are over 10, there was little for them to do and we felt theentrance fee was a little high and the website a bit misleading. We did want to try the National Space Centre but ran out of time so we may be visiting again in the future.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Twycross Zoo  
Conkers  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Appleby Inn  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Stay by the quay

Stay Date: 18/04/14, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays in Manchester wrote this review.

The hotel location was perfect with beautiful window view. The rooms were ok the kids bed was v uncomfy (for a 4 & 11 yr old!) so me and my hubby had turns in sleeping there. The breakfast could See More  Read more information have been better (all other hi /exp breakfast is always perfect) eg. It could have been warmer and there should be options for vegetarians(vegi sausages) rather than just egg n beans. I was surprisedthey didn't serve hash browns! The shower in our room wasn't v powerful so we hand held it while having a shower.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Trafford Centre  
Legoland Discovery Centre  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
McDonalds  
Nandos  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Family friendly

Stay Date: 17/04/14, a customer aged 25-44 from Bradford who stayed at 2* Britannia Savoy Hotel in Blackpool wrote this review.

Lovely family short break. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Blackpool Pleasure Beach  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pizza Hut  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Exploring the Peak District

Stay Date: 14/04/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Shrigley Hall Hotel (2 Nt Offer & 1st Nt Dinner) in Pott Shrigley (Peak District) wrote this review.

Shrigley Hall, for the golfer or not, a great location to allow exploration of the peak district. Hotel offered lovely walks in grounds a good food. Recommended! See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Low Arbour Stone Circle  
Whalley Bridge  
Shrigley Hall  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Wetherspoons  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Ramada Plaza Southport

Stay Date: 14/04/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Stoke-On-Trent who stayed at 4* Bliss Hotel Southport in Southport wrote this review.

Hotel is excellent the position first class the staff very polite overall break was better than expected. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 761 - 770 of 2851 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002068 @ 16/05/2019 15:33:26

Last rendered @ 18/06/2019 02:28:55

Last rendered @ 18/06/2019 02:28:55

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB13

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.