Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - North West England

North West England Holiday Reviews

Bridgewater Hall, Manchester

There are lots of great reasons why our hotels in North West England are amongst our most popular short break destinations; great cities, full of some of the best shopping outside London and world-renowned attractions. With exciting music venues, top-class sport and fine dining, there's much to see and do in the area's big cities, whilst for a relaxing break away from the hustle and bustle, our hotels in Cheshire make an ideal choice.

When you're planning a stay in this region, be sure to check out our great value dinner deals too - two night packages with dinner included on the first night often offer the perfect country retreat, particularly in our hotels in Cheshire and in the Manchester area. When you're off on a longer break, be certain to take advantage of our handy Manchester Airport hotels too.

  • For a break with the whole family, nothing beats the Lancashire seaside and our hotels in Blackpool; check out the ever-popular Pleasure Beach, the local Madame Tussauds, and scale the heights for terrific views at Blackpool Tower.
  • Our Liverpool hotels are perfect for visiting the cultural city - find yourself at a trendy restaurant close to the Albert Docks, taking a ferry across the Mersey, or on the trail of The Beatles at the world-famous Cavern Club.
  • Visit two of the country's footballing giants at Old Trafford or the Etihad Stadium, or enjoy the infamous nightlife when you stay at one of our hotels in Manchester.
  • Our hotels in Chester have much to offer too - enjoy a family trip to the nationally-renowned Chester Zoo, or enjoy some of the best outlet shopping in the country at Cheshire Oaks.


A fabulous choice for your next short break destination, check out our range of hotels in the North-West in the list below. Alternatively, explore more UK weekend breaks.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 2851

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

One night stopover

Stay Date: 17/12/16, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* Hollin House Hotel (Half Board Offer) in Macclesfield wrote this review.

Very busy hotel the night we stayed. Christmas parties and a lot going on. We checked in late. Dinner had been arranged and we were found a table in a very noisy restaurant with Christmas parties See More  Read more information going on around us. Once settled we sort of got into the spirit of the evening - the food was fine and the service although understandably a little slow was good. We retired wondering if the noise wouldbe heard in our room - we need not have worried, it was very quiet and the room temperature ideal for sleep - I spend a lot of time in hotels and they are invariably too hot! We thought the beds werevery hard, however we had an excellent nights sleep so probably they were ideal. I would like to visit again when they are not as stretched and will probably do so in the next few months.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Lovely hotel

Stay Date: 27/12/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Chester wrote this review.

The hotel is a little dated but spotlessly clean, the food is great as so are the staff. The swimming pool, sauna, steam room and gym are excellent, and the hotel is around 8 minutes from Cheshire See More  Read more information Oaks shopping outlet and 10 minutes from Chester. I would recommend this hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cheshire Oaks  
Chester City Centre  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Wheatsheaf Pub  
The Everton pub  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A great trip away

Stay Date: 27/12/16, a customer aged 25-44 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Mercure Manchester Piccadilly in Manchester wrote this review.

We used SuperBreak to book a theatre and hotel combo package. Everything was fabulous! Tickets arrived well in advance - the hotel booking was efficient and smooth with no problems on arrival of See More  Read more information either! We will definitely use SuperBreak again!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shopping Centre  
Palace Theatre  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Thai shack  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Blackpool

Stay Date: 23/12/16, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 2* Grand Metropole Hotel Christmas Break in Blackpool wrote this review.

Nice hotel - had heard bad reviews of this hotel but I had Christmas here and enjoyed my stay. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Blackpool Circus  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Clean hotel

Stay Date: 23/12/16, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 3* Britannia Bolton Christmas Break in Bolton wrote this review.

Hotel nice and clean. Went on the Christmas package. Staff were quite friendly. Food was standard but everything was empty most of the time (e.g. No bread for toast, no water, no juice) had to keep See More  Read more information asking all the time which was quite annoying. Key card wouldn't let us in the rooms every afternoon so had to keep having them re programmed in the afternoon. Unfortunately the water was off all dayChristmas Day and most of Boxing Day so xmas lunch was ok under the circumstances. Wouldn't go for another Christmas break in this hotel again, but would stop for an odd night if visiting Bolton.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Christmas break

Stay Date: 23/12/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Britannia Hotel Manchester Christmas Break in Manchester wrote this review.

Stayed 4 days on a Christmas break. Smack bang in the middle of the city. Ideal for sightseeing and the Arndale Centre for shopping. Breakfast and evening meal included. Also Christmas lunch with See More  Read more information all the trimmings. Food was mostly ok and buffet style so eat as much as you like. A good selection and always kept hot in the Bain Marie. Coffee at breakfast served in thermos pouring jugs so could bea bit stale and luke warm. Investing in a good fresh ground coffee machine would go down well. The building is full of character and history and has an impressive staircase and chandeliers. The roomwas clean and warm overlooking Portland Street. The drinks prices were very competitive, for example a pint of Guinness and a large white wine was £7. Staff very friendly and helpful. If you're lookingfor a modern chain hotel with new carpet and freshly painted boxes for rooms the Britannia is not for you. However, if you want a good value hotel with loads of character in the city centre I canrecommend the Britannia.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Trafford Centre  
Arndale Centre  
Opera house pantomime  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Rajdoot Tandoori  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Southport

Stay Date: 16/12/16, a customer from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Best Western Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa (2 Nt Offer & 1st Nt Dinner) in Southport wrote this review.

Really a nice relaxing break before Christmas. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pub  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Chester shopping

Stay Date: 14/12/16, a customer aged 65+ from Stoke-On-Trent who stayed at 4* Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester (2 Night Offer/1st Nt Dinner & Wine or Afternoon Tea) in Chester wrote this review.

Hotel in excellent position for arrival by train, two minutes from station. Easy walk, 10 mins into town centre otherwise bus directly available. Hotel is still very 'Victorian' and bit over formal See More  Read more information generally. Concierge extremely helpful. Bathroom in room needed extra attention to cleanliness in the shower, soap residue on the walls.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shopping  
yard restaurant  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Yard  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Booking not on system

Stay Date: 09/12/16, a customer aged 45-64 from Knottingley who stayed at 3* Hollin House Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Macclesfield wrote this review.

Arrived at hotel to be told that we were not on the system, oh you booked though SuperBreak did you, and that we were lucky there was a room available. Meal on first night as booked was unavailable See More  Read more information due to Christmas parties being held that evening so we went out in search of a pub meal. The meal we had the following evening at the hotel was very nice.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lyme Park  
Goyt Valley  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Holley Bush  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review not helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Chester Zoo

Stay Date: 26/11/16, a customer aged 45-64 from Cornwall who stayed at 3* Best Western Crewe Arms Hotel in Crewe wrote this review.

We had a fabulous room in the hotel - so comfortable. The hot water was warm as a lot of people had booked in and must have had a shower/bath and maybe used all the water, apart from that the See More  Read more information breakfast was superb, lovely hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Chester Zoo  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bella Italia  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 251 - 260 of 2851 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002075 @ 18/06/2019 11:30:19

Last rendered @ 18/06/2019 14:42:44

Last rendered @ 18/06/2019 14:42:44

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB11

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.