Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - North West England

North West England Holiday Reviews

Bridgewater Hall, Manchester

There are lots of great reasons why our hotels in North West England are amongst our most popular short break destinations; great cities, full of some of the best shopping outside London and world-renowned attractions. With exciting music venues, top-class sport and fine dining, there's much to see and do in the area's big cities, whilst for a relaxing break away from the hustle and bustle, our hotels in Cheshire make an ideal choice.

When you're planning a stay in this region, be sure to check out our great value dinner deals too - two night packages with dinner included on the first night often offer the perfect country retreat, particularly in our hotels in Cheshire and in the Manchester area. When you're off on a longer break, be certain to take advantage of our handy Manchester Airport hotels too.

  • For a break with the whole family, nothing beats the Lancashire seaside and our hotels in Blackpool; check out the ever-popular Pleasure Beach, the local Madame Tussauds, and scale the heights for terrific views at Blackpool Tower.
  • Our Liverpool hotels are perfect for visiting the cultural city - find yourself at a trendy restaurant close to the Albert Docks, taking a ferry across the Mersey, or on the trail of The Beatles at the world-famous Cavern Club.
  • Visit two of the country's footballing giants at Old Trafford or the Etihad Stadium, or enjoy the infamous nightlife when you stay at one of our hotels in Manchester.
  • Our hotels in Chester have much to offer too - enjoy a family trip to the nationally-renowned Chester Zoo, or enjoy some of the best outlet shopping in the country at Cheshire Oaks.


A fabulous choice for your next short break destination, check out our range of hotels in the North-West in the list below. Alternatively, explore more UK weekend breaks.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 2851

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Manchester

Stay Date: 23/12/13, a customer who stayed at 3* Britannia Airport Manchester South Hotel Christmas Break in Manchester City (Nr Airport) wrote this review.

Stayed in hotel, meals and staff were excellent. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Stayed in hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Clean hotel

Stay Date: 23/12/16, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 3* Britannia Bolton Christmas Break in Bolton wrote this review.

Hotel nice and clean. Went on the Christmas package. Staff were quite friendly. Food was standard but everything was empty most of the time (e.g. No bread for toast, no water, no juice) had to keep See More  Read more information asking all the time which was quite annoying. Key card wouldn't let us in the rooms every afternoon so had to keep having them re programmed in the afternoon. Unfortunately the water was off all dayChristmas Day and most of Boxing Day so xmas lunch was ok under the circumstances. Wouldn't go for another Christmas break in this hotel again, but would stop for an odd night if visiting Bolton.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Christmas

Stay Date: 23/12/09, a customer who stayed at 3* Britannia Hotel Manchester Christmas Break in Manchester wrote this review.

I enjoyed my stay very much in Manchester, the Britannia hotel was great and would recommand this hotel to friends family and all. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Christmas at the Britannia hotel Manchester

Stay Date: 23/12/14, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 3* Britannia Hotel Manchester Christmas Break in Manchester wrote this review.

The hotel was amazing. Lovely hallway and features and our room was very comfortable. There was always plenty of food choices each day and catered for everyone. Staff were fantastic, always willing See More  Read more information to help with anything. Our only criticism is the entertainment. It wasn't catered for everyone, and no variety. Most of the guests were over 55, but after speaking to a few other couples that were alot older than also complained about the same thing. One lady in particular said she was also let down with the entertainment. Apart from that it was fantastic. This is the second Christmas trip wehave done to a Britannia hotel and would definitely do it again, although to a different hotel as we like to go somewhere different each time. If I was staying in manchester I would absolutely stay hereagain. Despite the entertainment I still give it 10/10 for everything else   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Manchester Eye  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Buffet city  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Christmas break

Stay Date: 23/12/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Britannia Hotel Manchester Christmas Break in Manchester wrote this review.

Stayed 4 days on a Christmas break. Smack bang in the middle of the city. Ideal for sightseeing and the Arndale Centre for shopping. Breakfast and evening meal included. Also Christmas lunch with See More  Read more information all the trimmings. Food was mostly ok and buffet style so eat as much as you like. A good selection and always kept hot in the Bain Marie. Coffee at breakfast served in thermos pouring jugs so could bea bit stale and luke warm. Investing in a good fresh ground coffee machine would go down well. The building is full of character and history and has an impressive staircase and chandeliers. The roomwas clean and warm overlooking Portland Street. The drinks prices were very competitive, for example a pint of Guinness and a large white wine was £7. Staff very friendly and helpful. If you're lookingfor a modern chain hotel with new carpet and freshly painted boxes for rooms the Britannia is not for you. However, if you want a good value hotel with loads of character in the city centre I canrecommend the Britannia.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Trafford Centre  
Arndale Centre  
Opera house pantomime  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Rajdoot Tandoori  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Xmas break

Stay Date: 24/12/15, a customer aged 45-64 from Kidderminster who stayed at 4* Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel 3 Night Christmas Break in Chester wrote this review.

Brook Mollington Hotel needs upgrade ASAP. Xmas dinner very poor. Beds uncomfortable and needed thorough clean in bathroom and around windows. Carpets stained throughout hotel. Couldn't eat until See More  Read more information 9.30pm on night of arrival? Needs new manager and staff training including money spent on it!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Made to feel so welcome in Chester

Stay Date: 24/12/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel 3 Night Christmas Break in Chester wrote this review.

The hotel was a little tired, in need of lick of paint and needed updating, however, the staff were absolutely amazing and took care of every little whim. I have never met such friendly and caring See More  Read more information staff. The rooms were adequate, but were a bit tired and plumbing was creaky, but they were very clean with comfy beds and plenty of fresh towels etc. The pool was pleasant and gym was well equippedbut changing rooms were freezing cold. The standard of cleanliness did not match that of other areas in the hotel. Overall value for money was excellent and with a tiny bit of tweaking and decorationthe place would be very desirable.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Chester  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Everything first class

Stay Date: 24/12/16, a customer aged 65+ from West Midlands who stayed at 4* Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel 3 Night Christmas Break in Chester wrote this review.

Would stay there again. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Chester  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Christmas break

Stay Date: 24/12/17, a customer aged 65+ from St. Helens who stayed at 4* Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel 3 Night Christmas Break in Chester wrote this review.

A very disappointing stay, the room was very unattractive, drab and poorly lit. To fill the bath we had to use the shower to fill the bath as the diverter switch didn't work. There was a separate See More  Read more information shower head but this was fixed and you couldn't stand under the shower as it was to close to the wall. Christmas dinner was very poor and overall the food was below what you would expect. The hotelwasn't very festive - no festive spirit whatsoever. On Christmas day there was no housekeeping available which was understandable but on returning to the hotel on Boxing Day we found our room hadstill not been serviced and we had no clean towels or toilet rolls! I had to go to reception to report this and towels and toilet rolls were brought to our room. Overall a very disappointing ChristmasBreak which we were so looking forward to.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Below average at Banastre

Stay Date: 24/12/17, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel 3 Night Christmas Break in Chester wrote this review.

Listed as 4 star but more like 2 star. Car park needs refurbishment with more disabled spaces. Told we had to wait until 20:30 for Christmas Eve meal even though tables were empty. Bathroom door not See More  Read more information closing. Hotel overall in need of refurbishment. We shall not go again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 2831 - 2840 of 2851 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002068 @ 16/05/2019 15:33:27

Last rendered @ 17/06/2019 18:29:32

Last rendered @ 17/06/2019 18:29:32

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB12

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.