Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - North West England

North West England Holiday Reviews

Bridgewater Hall, Manchester

There are lots of great reasons why our hotels in North West England are amongst our most popular short break destinations; great cities, full of some of the best shopping outside London and world-renowned attractions. With exciting music venues, top-class sport and fine dining, there's much to see and do in the area's big cities, whilst for a relaxing break away from the hustle and bustle, our hotels in Cheshire make an ideal choice.

When you're planning a stay in this region, be sure to check out our great value dinner deals too - two night packages with dinner included on the first night often offer the perfect country retreat, particularly in our hotels in Cheshire and in the Manchester area. When you're off on a longer break, be certain to take advantage of our handy Manchester Airport hotels too.

  • For a break with the whole family, nothing beats the Lancashire seaside and our hotels in Blackpool; check out the ever-popular Pleasure Beach, the local Madame Tussauds, and scale the heights for terrific views at Blackpool Tower.
  • Our Liverpool hotels are perfect for visiting the cultural city - find yourself at a trendy restaurant close to the Albert Docks, taking a ferry across the Mersey, or on the trail of The Beatles at the world-famous Cavern Club.
  • Visit two of the country's footballing giants at Old Trafford or the Etihad Stadium, or enjoy the infamous nightlife when you stay at one of our hotels in Manchester.
  • Our hotels in Chester have much to offer too - enjoy a family trip to the nationally-renowned Chester Zoo, or enjoy some of the best outlet shopping in the country at Cheshire Oaks.


A fabulous choice for your next short break destination, check out our range of hotels in the North-West in the list below. Alternatively, explore more UK weekend breaks.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 2851

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Short Break In Manchester Airport

Stay Date: 09/07/07, a customer who stayed at 2* Britannia Country House Hotel and 15 days parking in Manchester Airport (Nr) wrote this review.

The reason we booked the hotel was to make life easier on the morning of our flight out of Manchester airport, so we could park our vehicle the afternoon before, have a chance to relax and not have See More  Read more information such an early start for our flight as the airport was only a short distance by courtesy bus. We parked our vehicle, checked into the hotel to be told that we would have to take the vehicle thefollowing morning to another car park and then be transferred to the airport from there, we were advised to leave an hour earlier to allow tme for this. Since we only live an hours drive away it defeatedthe object of not having such an early start. When pointing this out to the receptionist her attitude was one-of - 'tough luck'. On entering the room we were very disappointed in the standard of theroom, the decor was shabby the bed itself looked very old and dirty, although the sheets appeared clean. The TV was very basic and had bad reception. The hairdryer did not work and on requesting areplacement one could not be provided. The restaurant service was poor to say the least and you even had to go to the bar yourself and order drinks as they did not serve them to your table.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Lytham St Annes

Stay Date: 14/08/07, a customer from London who stayed at 3* Inn on the Prom at the Fernlea in Lytham St Annes rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Blackpool  
Doctor Who Exhibition  
Louis Tussauds Waxworks  
 
 

Blackpool break

Stay Date: 19/08/07, a customer who stayed at 2* Norbreck Castle Hotel in Blackpool rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
STANLEY PARK ZOO  
CENTRAL PIER SHOW: LEGENDS  
 
 

Stay Away from the Palace Hotel Manchester

Stay Date: 25/08/07, a customer who stayed at 5* The Principal Manchester in Manchester wrote this review.

This hotel is way below the 4 star standard that it claims. A high number of rooms are in the basment and are shabby, over warm (no air conditioning and locked windows) and accessed by endless See More  Read more information flights of stairs. Hotel staff are helpful to some extent but could not give us the family room that was on our confirmation - instead giving us - after 3 requests a campbed that would be more in place ina 1930s holiday camp. VERY VERY VERY dissapointing. Just read the reviews on www.tripadvisor.co.uk before booking this hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review not helpful

Rate This Review:
 
Editor Notes:

Editor's Comments: The client booked a doubleroom, not a family room.

 

The Worst Hotel in the City

Stay Date: 26/08/07, a customer from Brighton who stayed at 4* Mercure Manchester Piccadilly in Manchester wrote this review.

This hotel is undergoing a refit, however the facilities there are not up to scratch, there is a 5 step entrance to the reception so if you have heavy bags be ready to lift them. We were second See More  Read more information to check in that day and all rooms were smoking ones (well they had 1 non and we did not get it despite requesting a non smiking one as my wife is 7 months pregnant) The room stank and was in a poorstate of repair. It took an hour to get them to change the room. The lifts are also falling apart and take for ever to arrive, when they do it is like a roller coaster ride. Wifi is advertisedbut the signal is useless and keeps dropping out. There is a car park but this is well hidden and not at the address as given for the hotel. Food is of a good standard and the staff arefriendly. We were there for business and would not be returning if we had the choice   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Arndale Shopping Centre  
City Wheel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
Editor Notes:

Editor’s comments: Our booking confirmations state that any requests, such as non-smoking rooms, quiet rooms etc. cannot be guaranteed, however every effort will be made to satisfy your requirements.

 

Shrigley Hall Not What I Expected

Stay Date: 25/08/07, a customer from Wednesbury who stayed at 4* Shrigley Hall Hotel (2 Nt Offer & 1st Nt Dinner) in Pott Shrigley (Peak District) wrote this review.

After visiting Paramount Palace hotel in May my expectations of a wonderfull break were high. I was very disapointed with the service recieved at Shrigley Hall the restauraunt could not cope, the See More  Read more information Bar was left un clean with dirty plates and glasses every where but as a plus the Hotel staff in the Spa were very helpfull and friendly. On my return I have complained to Shrigley Hall and they haveinvited us back to see if service has improved I was very pleased with the prompt reply from the Hotel Manager, after our complaints whilst staying were ignored by staff   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Buxton  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Man U Week End

Stay Date: 31/08/07, a customer from Ennis who stayed at 3* Britannia Hotel Manchester (City Rooms) in Manchester rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Old Trafford  
 
 

Short Stay at Manchester Airport

Stay Date: 25/09/07, a customer from Largs who stayed at 2* Britannia Country House Hotel in Manchester Airport (Nr) wrote this review.

this is a dump See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review not helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Overnight at Manchester Airport

Stay Date: 12/10/07, a customer who stayed at 2* Britannia Country House Hotel and 8 days parking in Manchester Airport (Nr) wrote this review.

Our break was the beginning of a holiday abroad. The promise was of a hotel with parking. We ended up with a hotel with no food available, a bar that closed early upon bar manager's whim, staff who See More  Read more information made no attempt at contact in any way and parking that involved 1. find your own space in our grounds in the dark 2. drive yourself to an airport parking lot. I think this was very poor . However I have no problem with your service.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Blackpool

Stay Date: 23/10/07, a customer who stayed at 2* Norbreck Castle Hotel in Blackpool rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Blackpool Illuminations  
Pleasure Beach Blackpool  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Harvester, Lytham  
 
 
 

Showing 2811 - 2820 of 2851 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002068 @ 16/05/2019 15:33:26

Last rendered @ 17/06/2019 15:36:06

Last rendered @ 17/06/2019 15:36:06

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB13

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.