Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - North West England

North West England Holiday Reviews

Bridgewater Hall, Manchester

There are lots of great reasons why our hotels in North West England are amongst our most popular short break destinations; great cities, full of some of the best shopping outside London and world-renowned attractions. With exciting music venues, top-class sport and fine dining, there's much to see and do in the area's big cities, whilst for a relaxing break away from the hustle and bustle, our hotels in Cheshire make an ideal choice.

When you're planning a stay in this region, be sure to check out our great value dinner deals too - two night packages with dinner included on the first night often offer the perfect country retreat, particularly in our hotels in Cheshire and in the Manchester area. When you're off on a longer break, be certain to take advantage of our handy Manchester Airport hotels too.

  • For a break with the whole family, nothing beats the Lancashire seaside and our hotels in Blackpool; check out the ever-popular Pleasure Beach, the local Madame Tussauds, and scale the heights for terrific views at Blackpool Tower.
  • Our Liverpool hotels are perfect for visiting the cultural city - find yourself at a trendy restaurant close to the Albert Docks, taking a ferry across the Mersey, or on the trail of The Beatles at the world-famous Cavern Club.
  • Visit two of the country's footballing giants at Old Trafford or the Etihad Stadium, or enjoy the infamous nightlife when you stay at one of our hotels in Manchester.
  • Our hotels in Chester have much to offer too - enjoy a family trip to the nationally-renowned Chester Zoo, or enjoy some of the best outlet shopping in the country at Cheshire Oaks.


A fabulous choice for your next short break destination, check out our range of hotels in the North-West in the list below. Alternatively, explore more UK weekend breaks.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 2851

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Great Weekend In Manchester

Stay Date: 13/02/12, a customer from United Kingdom who stayed at 2* Sachas Hotel Manchester - City Rooms in Manchester wrote this review.

Hotel is in a good location to the town centre. The restaurant wasn't too bad in the hotel. The room we stayed in was average standard apart from having no window in it!. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Manchester United Football Ground  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
China Town  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
Editor Notes:

Editor's comments: It does state on the Superbreak website that City Rooms are internal rooms with no windows.

 

All Mc Donald Hotels Are Not The Same

Stay Date: 25/02/12, a customer who stayed at 4* Townhouse Hotel Manchester in Manchester wrote this review.

The Macdonald townhouse has a plaque outside with a different hotel name on it. Great when you are walking up and down the road in the rain with luggage. The rooms facing the main street are See More  Read more information uninhabitable due to the noise from the pub and clubs opposite, you need to request a room at the far end of the hotel in order to get any sleep. Location is handy from the station and to the theatre, foodis good.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Douglas Isle Of Man

Stay Date: 03/04/12, a customer who stayed at 3* The Chesterhouse Hotel in Douglas (Isle of Man) wrote this review.

Went to the isle of man at the wrong time, most attactions of interest were closed and the hotel gave us a room facing a back alley that was used by mainly cooing pigeons and drunks coming out from See More  Read more information the pubs so it was really loud rooms were tiny and smelled of musty dust, also the beds were like sleeping on the floor they were so rock hard. Both resturants were closed so for the first night hadto find another place to eat...Will never book there again we stayed one extra night due to the seacat cancelling it's trip due to weather and stayed at the best western hotel and casino for just 10quid more and it was wonderful. Big clean rooms facing the sea and the breakfast was the best part of the journey.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Rusham Castle  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Jaks  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

£100 Million Experience

Stay Date: 23/06/12, a customer who stayed at 2* Grand Metropole Hotel (3 or 4 night Half Board Offer) in Blackpool wrote this review.

Visiting and riding on the new trams, which cost the local authorities £100m, was excellent. They are smart, smooth, really good looking and on time. It's worth getting an all day pass for less than See More  Read more information £5 which allows you to travel as much as you like along the 11 mile route. Stops are frequent and as the trams run until midnight you can visit other towns on the route, although fleetwood itselfgoes to bed early and there's no pub or restaurant close to the end of the track. It's also worth a trip to the south end to view the superb new tram depot. The old one is still there and houses thetraditional trams which now only run on saturdays. The metropole hotel is really convenient for the town centre, the fantastic new promenade, the tower and the beach but it is of a very poorstandard. The rooms and public areas are dirty, the staff not very helpful and the bedroom felt like a room from an old russian guesthouse - filthy, noisy and very thin sheets. Food was ok but don't expectanything great, and dinner was at a very early 6.30pm - miss it and you go hungry.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Blackpool Tower  
Winter Gardens  
The Grand Theatre  
New Trams  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Toast Cafe-Bar  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Not a Good Day at Norbreck Blackpool

Stay Date: 28/09/12, a customer aged 45-64 from Bolton who stayed at 2* Norbreck Castle Hotel in Blackpool wrote this review.

We booked a night at the Norbreck for our fathers 70th Birthday as he was going to a show and we didint want him to drive home late....what dissapointment!...the room was clean but very old See More  Read more information fashioned and dated only 1 plug in the whole room .......the breakfast left much to be desired it was like being in a holiday camp......would not reccomend this hotel   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
the sands concert  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
meal/show at the sands  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Norbreck Castle Hotel!!!

Stay Date: 29/09/12, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 2* Norbreck Castle (3 or 4 night Half Board Offer) in Blackpool wrote this review.

Had stayed at this hotel years ago and stopped going because it was very old fashioned and in much need of modernisation. As the last time we stayed was 2002 we thought it must have been upgraded by See More  Read more information now but we were wrong. The rooms that we were in were dated,scruffy, the bed uncomfortable and the bedding full of washed in stains and not ironed. They were also very dinghy and claustrophobic asthey were internal rooms with no windows. The dining experience was like queuing up for school dinners and all the food at dinner was either out of a tin or packet. We were booked in for three nightsbut only stayed two.and when we said we were leaving early they didn't even enquire why. The entertainment was also not very good - quite amateurish. this hotel does not deserve more then one star.Maybe part of the problem is that it is now run by Pontins   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A Night in Hotel Shabby

Stay Date: 27/10/12, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Best Western Plus Samlesbury Hotel - Preston in Preston wrote this review.

Never stayed in a hotel that only served breakfast at 8.00 a.m. My husband needed to eat early as he was running a marathon. We had to check out at 6.45 and go and buy breakfast elsewhere See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Dinner  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Norbreck Hotel

Stay Date: 26/10/12, a customer who stayed at 2* Norbreck Castle Hotel in Blackpool wrote this review.

Hotel rooms were very poor, needs bringing into the 20th Century, Facilities - Good, Breakfast - Good, although one staff member in the kitchen very rude, needs customer service See More  Read more information training! Superbreak advises that this hotel is 3* but i think this is more a 2*   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Blackpool  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Poor Hotel Experience

Stay Date: 15/12/12, a customer who stayed at 2* Britannia Savoy Hotel in Blackpool wrote this review.

I do not usually comment on the hotels I have been in through Superbreak as they have always been okay but I felt compelled to write about this one as I do not think it is up to the usual standard. See More  Read more information The bedroom wallpaper was stained and peeling away from the wall with damp, the window was blocked by another building making the room dark all the time, one morning there was no hot water for ashower, the coffee in the room tasted disgusting etc. To be fair the bedding was clean and the food was okay. It could certainly do with a major refurbishment.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Chester Weekend

Stay Date: 16/03/13, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel in Chester wrote this review.

We visited Chester Zoo for our son's 3rd birthday. The zoo was fantastic and had a great day. The let down of the weekend was the hotel. The Mollington Banastre Hotel and Spa was very disappointing. See More  Read more information The staff were unwelcoming and the hotel and rooms were in desperate need of upgrading. It also wasn't the cleanest!!! Wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone!!!!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Chester Zoo  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 2781 - 2790 of 2851 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002068 @ 16/05/2019 15:33:26

Last rendered @ 17/06/2019 18:14:32

Last rendered @ 17/06/2019 18:14:32

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB13

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.