Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - North West England

North West England Holiday Reviews

Bridgewater Hall, Manchester

There are lots of great reasons why our hotels in North West England are amongst our most popular short break destinations; great cities, full of some of the best shopping outside London and world-renowned attractions. With exciting music venues, top-class sport and fine dining, there's much to see and do in the area's big cities, whilst for a relaxing break away from the hustle and bustle, our hotels in Cheshire make an ideal choice.

When you're planning a stay in this region, be sure to check out our great value dinner deals too - two night packages with dinner included on the first night often offer the perfect country retreat, particularly in our hotels in Cheshire and in the Manchester area. When you're off on a longer break, be certain to take advantage of our handy Manchester Airport hotels too.

  • For a break with the whole family, nothing beats the Lancashire seaside and our hotels in Blackpool; check out the ever-popular Pleasure Beach, the local Madame Tussauds, and scale the heights for terrific views at Blackpool Tower.
  • Our Liverpool hotels are perfect for visiting the cultural city - find yourself at a trendy restaurant close to the Albert Docks, taking a ferry across the Mersey, or on the trail of The Beatles at the world-famous Cavern Club.
  • Visit two of the country's footballing giants at Old Trafford or the Etihad Stadium, or enjoy the infamous nightlife when you stay at one of our hotels in Manchester.
  • Our hotels in Chester have much to offer too - enjoy a family trip to the nationally-renowned Chester Zoo, or enjoy some of the best outlet shopping in the country at Cheshire Oaks.


A fabulous choice for your next short break destination, check out our range of hotels in the North-West in the list below. Alternatively, explore more UK weekend breaks.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 2841

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Weekend in Chester

Stay Date: 13/10/12, a customer aged 45-64 from Coalville who stayed at 3* Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel in Chester (Nr) wrote this review.

Chester is an easy drive from the Midlands and has excellent shopping facilities and local attractions such as the zoo and river cruises. The Mercure Hotel we stayed at was very comfortable and the See More  Read more information food was excellent, a pity about the noisy air conditioning unit on the roof outside our window. Spent time Sunday morning walking along the Wirral coastline / riverbank, cold but sunny and alovely way to work up an apetite. Will definitely visit this area again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Bad Night in Blackpool

Stay Date: 21/10/12, a customer aged 25-44 from Wirral who stayed at 2* Norbreck Castle Hotel in Blackpool wrote this review.

Hotel check in was very slow when u get there there is no key till 3.30pm witch is late when you wont to get on and do something so for 40mins we hung around with 3kids bumped into a couple of bad See More  Read more information mannered staff then queued again for the key could use the swimming pool while we wait cos we didnt have a key. we finally got in room for 4 that was ok nice and big beds were clean then we got wokenby the fire alarm at 6.20   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Tower Circus  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Norbreck Chill out in Blackpool

Stay Date: 19/10/12, a customer aged 45-64 from Oldham who stayed at 2* Norbreck Castle (3 or 4 night Half Board Offer) in Blackpool wrote this review.

Pleasant room all requests for room suitability for disabled dealt with. Staff excellent and considerate when my wife and I came down with illness, but overall a good break. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Antiques fair in lytham  
Fair at Norbreck Castlr  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

2 days in Blackpool

Stay Date: 24/10/12, a customer aged 45-64 from Crewe who stayed at 4* The Imperial Blackpool (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Blackpool wrote this review.

Spent time using the trams to explore the coast. Walked along the promenade to look at the illuminations. Walked into Blackpool to find a suitable restaurant on the 2nd night. Enjoyed the sea air in See More  Read more information Fleetwood.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Blackpool Illuminations  
Blackpool Trams  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bella Italia  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review not helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Theatre Break in Manchester

Stay Date: 21/12/12, a customer aged 45-64 from Cockermouth who stayed at 5* The Principal Manchester in Manchester wrote this review.

Hotel was good but dinner was below average for a 4 star hotel, room was spacious and well equipped but decor was in need of touching up (ceiling paint flaking,grouting in bathroom cracking and See More  Read more information dirty), sound proofing between rooms was poor   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Christmas Market  
Shopping Area  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel  
oriental restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Hotel

Stay Date: 09/03/13, a customer aged 45-64 from Swindon who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Chester - South (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Chester wrote this review.

Drinks were very expensive in the Hotel. Made the offer not as attractive. Room was also too warm See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel Resturant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Cold Comfort at the Norbreck Castle

Stay Date: 10/05/13, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 2* Norbreck Castle Hotel in Blackpool wrote this review.

My partner and 77 year old father stayed at the Norbeck Castle Hotel Blackpool for 2 nights B and B. The first impression of the hotel was that was in need of a good clean. The windows in our room See More  Read more information were dirty and the view was of haulage hangers. On both nights the police were called to attend some drunks and and woke us up. The hotel on the second night was freezing even in the bar and cabaretroom i had to put coats over my father to keep him warm he has not been well since we arrived home.considering the hotel was full of senior citizens the very least the hotel should have had adequatelyheated. The food was good and the staff were exceptional. In my opinion the management were to blame and not the staff. Overall the location and friendliness was very good.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Trip to Chester Zoo

Stay Date: 31/05/13, a customer aged 25-44 from Scunthorpe who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Chester - South in Chester wrote this review.

Excellent on the whole, had poor night sleep 1st night due to bed being very hard. Spent next night on the sofa bed and was much better. Holiday inn was excellent other than that kids really enjoyed See More  Read more information the swimming pool. Zoo was just as great as remembered.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Chester Zoo  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Superbreak to the rescue!

Stay Date: 05/08/13, a customer aged 45-64 from Bradford who stayed at 2* Norbreck Castle Hotel in Blackpool wrote this review.

Never styed in Blackpool before and didn't want to be central, we opted for a very reasonable offer from Superbreak for a couple of nights at The Norbreck Castle Hotel. Oh my goodness .... never See More  Read more information again! We booked a superior sea view room so felt reasonably happy that things would be OK. On arrival at the Norbreck, we quickly realised that this was a fairly horrible place and the check inexperience confirmed that. Our first allocated room was on sixth floor, the one lift had a queue of frustrated elderly folks with luggage so we took the stairs. The internal room was dingy, small and wasaltogether depressing. Back to check in ... we refused the room and asked for our booked sea view etc.... they didn't have one but could offer another room.... seventh floor. The lift still had thequeue so we took the stairs again! Worse than the last room with a tiny window that wouldn't open which made the stale smell unbearable. Back to check in ... to repeat the same process...same queue forlift ... fourth floor stairs....same shoddy room. So we phoned Superbreak to ask for help. Within about ten minutes of Superbreak staff getting involved The Norbreck suddenly realised they did haveroom... a much better room with a sea view! Although things turned out OK for us in the end, I would never recommend this hotel. The carpets in the lounge. bar, dining areas are sodden withbeer....feet stick to them as you walk. You are herded into breakfast with all the other poor inmates and squashed into tiny spaces.....get the picture....!! The only positive thing I could say is that the carpark is very large and we had no trouble parking. The Tower Ballroom was great.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Tower Ballroom  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Not the real Savoy!

Stay Date: 11/10/13, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 2* Britannia Savoy Hotel (2 Night Offer & Dinner) in Blackpool wrote this review.

The hotel was not up to expectation. What was once probably very grand is now shabby and tired. The food was of poor quality and luke warm. Our room was awful nothing like the pictures!.It was dark, See More  Read more information the window had obscured glass and the furniture was tatty. The surfaces were stained and dirty. The bathroom floor had not been swept or mopped and the shower had black mildew all around the edges.Even the public areas of the hotel were neglected, we actually wrote in the dust on the display shelves in the dining room! The hotel was very busy with coaches of mature people and I was told theonly other room available would be the same as the one we had! I also sensed that because we had booked a deal on the internet we were given the worst rooms in the hotel. It is a shame that such abeautiful building with original features has fallen into decline.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Funny Girls Show  
Tower Ballroom  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 2601 - 2610 of 2841 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open Open 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002024 @ 05/02/2019 12:08:50

Last rendered @ 20/02/2019 07:34:27

Last rendered @ 20/02/2019 07:34:27

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB13

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.