Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - North West England

North West England Holiday Reviews

Bridgewater Hall, Manchester

There are lots of great reasons why our hotels in North West England are amongst our most popular short break destinations; great cities, full of some of the best shopping outside London and world-renowned attractions. With exciting music venues, top-class sport and fine dining, there's much to see and do in the area's big cities, whilst for a relaxing break away from the hustle and bustle, our hotels in Cheshire make an ideal choice.

When you're planning a stay in this region, be sure to check out our great value dinner deals too - two night packages with dinner included on the first night often offer the perfect country retreat, particularly in our hotels in Cheshire and in the Manchester area. When you're off on a longer break, be certain to take advantage of our handy Manchester Airport hotels too.

  • For a break with the whole family, nothing beats the Lancashire seaside and our hotels in Blackpool; check out the ever-popular Pleasure Beach, the local Madame Tussauds, and scale the heights for terrific views at Blackpool Tower.
  • Our Liverpool hotels are perfect for visiting the cultural city - find yourself at a trendy restaurant close to the Albert Docks, taking a ferry across the Mersey, or on the trail of The Beatles at the world-famous Cavern Club.
  • Visit two of the country's footballing giants at Old Trafford or the Etihad Stadium, or enjoy the infamous nightlife when you stay at one of our hotels in Manchester.
  • Our hotels in Chester have much to offer too - enjoy a family trip to the nationally-renowned Chester Zoo, or enjoy some of the best outlet shopping in the country at Cheshire Oaks.


A fabulous choice for your next short break destination, check out our range of hotels in the North-West in the list below. Alternatively, explore more UK weekend breaks.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 2818

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Short Break in Chester

Stay Date: 21/01/09, a customer who stayed at 4* Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel in Chester wrote this review.

Hotel OK but thermostat in room not working so felt as if I was slowly roasting. Chester is a great place for a few days break -plenty to do and see. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Zoo  
Cathedral  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Manchester

Stay Date: 06/02/09, a customer from York who stayed at 4* Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre in Manchester rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Short Break in Chester

Stay Date: 16/03/09, a customer from Norwich who stayed at 4* Crabwall Manor Hotel (1 Night Dinner with Wine Offer) in Chester wrote this review.

The hotel is a beautiful building in a peaceful setting. The spa is excellent. We had dinner in the hotel each evening. The quality and presentation of the meals were excellent. However the choice See More  Read more information was very poor. The menu had 5 starters / mains /deserts, which was sufficiently varied. The problem was that these were little changed for all 4 days - indeed 2 of the 5 main courses were the same thewhole period and the three others were on the menu for three days. I'm glad I'm not vegetarian as it would entailed virtually the same dinner for the whole stay. The room was large and adequatelyfurnished. Unfortunately the heating was impossible to control and the room was very hot. We needed the windows open all the time and the use of a fan (in March) in order to cope. I would not recommendthe hotel for a dinner break package in view of the very limited dinner menu - a shame because the meals themselves were good.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Chester  
Bodnant Gardens  
Mid Wales  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

OK room but bad location

Stay Date: 17/04/09, a customer who stayed at 4* Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa in Blackburn wrote this review.

The room we had to stay in was nice although a bit tired looking. However, the temparature in the room was totally off! The radiator in the room wasn't even on and yet the room must have been about See More  Read more information 22C constantly. For a 4* hotel this issue is critical as they are meant to provide a good night sleep to their guests.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Blackpool

Stay Date: 25/05/09, a customer from Shrewsbury who stayed at 2* Norbreck Castle Hotel in Blackpool wrote this review.

We have been to this hotel for the second time and it had slightly improved from the last visit , the foul musty smell was nearly gone and the room was better than the last one. The entertainment See More  Read more information and the cinema is a joke, the cinema is unsupervised, there are no new releases as they advertised but old shrek movies etc. The food leaves a lot to be desired, there are no facilities to have a mealunless you pre book an evening meal at a cost of approx £16 per head, room service is only until 9.30 pm with only pizza being offered at £9 . My daughter is diabetic and we struggled for eveningsnacks etc wouldn't bother with blackpool tower unless you have under 10s as there is nothing there for over that age apart from the circus which is getting to be less value for money with second rateacts, if you do visit the tower go before a visit to the waxworks and you will get in half price on production of tower tickets. Best to get tickets for pleasure beach online at discount prices as mostrides are 4/6 ticket rides and tickets are £1 each buy the wristband , other problem was despite it being really hot and busy a lot of the rides were closed   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Blackpool Tower  
Wax Works  
Pleasure Beach  
Richard De Vere Show - The Horseshoe  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Chester

Stay Date: 03/08/09, a customer from Bristol who stayed at 3* Daresbury Park Hotel in Chester (Nr) rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cheshire Oaks  
Chester City Walls  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bella Italia  
Frankie & Benny's  
 
 

Week-End At St Annes - Inn On The Prom

Stay Date: 04/09/09, a customer from Heald Green who stayed at 3* Inn on the Prom at the Fernlea in Lytham St Annes wrote this review.

Had a great week-end but disappointed with the hotel room. No view whatsoever just a wall. We must have been over the kitchen as we could smell cooking fat in our room all the time. Air conditioning See More  Read more information unit kept going on and off all night for 1 out of the 3 nights we stayed (not that we got air con). The room itself was ok but the bathroom was awful - pink! it was in desperate need to updating,haven't seen a bathroom like that since the 1980s! Loved the food it was excellent and the kids loved the desserts. The restaurant staff were lovely and very helpful. We would recommend a stay at the innon the prom if you go for an upgrade. If you want a room that resembles those shown on their website you will need to pay the extra. Went to the pleasure beach, had a great day. Saw the illuminationswhich took forever but were very good. Visited the toby carvery on the prom at St Annes a couple of times, food very good, staff very helpful and prices very reasonable.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Blackpool Pleasure Beach  
The Illuminations  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Toby Carvery - Salters Wharf  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Fun Weekend In Blackpool

Stay Date: 03/09/09, a customer who stayed at 2* Britannia Savoy Hotel (2 Night Offer & Dinner) in Blackpool wrote this review.

Hotel, Britannia Savoy, rooms nothing startling, small, sparce, but clean. Bathroom looked failty new, with jaccuzi type bath. No sea view from our room, but was just as well, as was blowing a gale See More  Read more information outside. On dbb basis, only trouble was dinner was between 7 and 9 and the show we wanted to see was at 7.30, so had to miss dinner on the first night. It has been years since we went to Blackpool,but had a fun time. Show one night, tower and circus next afternoon, and Blackpool lights switch on that evening, then home following day. With penny machines in between. Only low point of the holidaywas as I looked for directions to the hotel, the train tickets flew away from the folder!!. Blackpool was so windy!! 35/40 miles per hour!!. My husband caught one ticket, but the other disappeared inthe opposite direction, chased after it but was never found.....So had to fork out £52 for a single train ticket back home!.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Blackpool Tower  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Liverpool

Stay Date: 23/04/10, a customer who stayed at 3* Arinza Apartments in Liverpool wrote this review.

The apartments were clean & easily found. Although about 2 miles from the centre, we didn't have a problem with the location & found the walk into town very easy. I drove to the apartments & was See More  Read more information very impressed with the car parking facilities, it was very secure. I was a little disappointed with the smaller touches of the apartments, the apartment we were given was made up for 3 people (only3 beds), when I had booked for 5 of us. I called the manager (who wasn't on site) to adivse & he sent the GM with 2 extra beds. The owner, who I contacted, was very helpful & apologetic but we thenonly had 4 of everything in the kitchen & bathroom. I do think this was just an error & a shame it was our apartment but I think attention to detail goes a long way. Overall, the apartment catered forour needs of a city break & friend catch up & is reasonably priced.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Liverpool One  
 

User Review Ratings: 5 out of 5 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
Editor Notes:

Editor's Comments: This review was written by a member of Superbreak staff who stayed at this hotel.

 

Short Break In Blackpool

Stay Date: 27/06/10, a customer who stayed at 2* Norbreck Castle Hotel in Blackpool wrote this review.

The hotel was easy to fine, plenty of parking available. The room was a good standard with a sea view. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and a problem with the bathroom door was sorted within See More  Read more information an hour. Unfotunately our room over looked the pub next door and was extremely noisy into the early hours. We also had a problem with the people in the next room who brought friends back then satshouting, screaming and laughing till 4am! However, you can't blame the hotel for that. In all we had a lovely time and will definetly stay at the hotel again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Blackpool Beach  
Pleasure Beach  
Theatre  
Armed Forces Weekend Events  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bella Italia  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 2601 - 2610 of 2818 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002068 @ 16/05/2019 15:33:27

Last rendered @ 20/05/2019 10:01:44

Last rendered @ 20/05/2019 10:01:44

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB12

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.