Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - North West England

North West England Holiday Reviews

Bridgewater Hall, Manchester

There are lots of great reasons why our hotels in North West England are amongst our most popular short break destinations; great cities, full of some of the best shopping outside London and world-renowned attractions. With exciting music venues, top-class sport and fine dining, there's much to see and do in the area's big cities, whilst for a relaxing break away from the hustle and bustle, our hotels in Cheshire make an ideal choice.

When you're planning a stay in this region, be sure to check out our great value dinner deals too - two night packages with dinner included on the first night often offer the perfect country retreat, particularly in our hotels in Cheshire and in the Manchester area. When you're off on a longer break, be certain to take advantage of our handy Manchester Airport hotels too.

  • For a break with the whole family, nothing beats the Lancashire seaside and our hotels in Blackpool; check out the ever-popular Pleasure Beach, the local Madame Tussauds, and scale the heights for terrific views at Blackpool Tower.
  • Our Liverpool hotels are perfect for visiting the cultural city - find yourself at a trendy restaurant close to the Albert Docks, taking a ferry across the Mersey, or on the trail of The Beatles at the world-famous Cavern Club.
  • Visit two of the country's footballing giants at Old Trafford or the Etihad Stadium, or enjoy the infamous nightlife when you stay at one of our hotels in Manchester.
  • Our hotels in Chester have much to offer too - enjoy a family trip to the nationally-renowned Chester Zoo, or enjoy some of the best outlet shopping in the country at Cheshire Oaks.


A fabulous choice for your next short break destination, check out our range of hotels in the North-West in the list below. Alternatively, explore more UK weekend breaks.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 2834

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Lovely day at Chester races

Stay Date: 03/08/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Middlesbrough who stayed at 4* Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel (Afternoon Tea Offer) in Chester wrote this review.

The Brook Mollington Banastre is very nice hotel just outside of Chester. Me and my wife enjoyed our stay there, from the hotel staff who very helpful as soon as we arrived to our room which was See More  Read more information nice. The food was very good the afternoon tea and full English breakfast lovely. And I may add the pool and leisure facilities were also good. Overall we had nice time.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cheshire Oaks  
Chester  
Chester Races  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The coach house chester  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

not happy

Stay Date: 07/08/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 2* Scarisbrick Hotel in Southport wrote this review.

There are some issues with the hotel room. I was staying with my sister and my 6 year old niece. I was surprised to be given a room with a trip hazard step as we had a young child with us. I fell See More  Read more information down this step twice in the first hour. The step did not have any bright coloured hazard tape on it, just a small sticker on the wall. The rubber bathmat was stained and discoloured which wasunappealing. The website advertises flatscreen tvs in the bedrooms however ours was an old fashioned portable bulky tv. On my first evening (7.8.2014) I noticed some broken glass in the corridor leading to ourroom (room 129) I moved the glass to the side and informed the Reception staff in the morning. On my departure (9.8.2014) this glass was still where I had left it. If someone had stood on it it wouldcause them to cut their foot. I mentioned it again to the Receptionist who said she passed my concerns on already to her Manager. I am concerned that this hotel does not take its housekeeping andcustomer service seriously.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pleasureland  
Pontins  
oceanplaza  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
PizzaHut  
Frankie and Bennys  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend Getaway Blackpool

Stay Date: 08/08/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Leicester who stayed at 2* Britannia Savoy Hotel (2 Night Offer & Dinner) in Blackpool wrote this review.

Not a very clean hotel. Breakfast and Evening ok. Entertainment poor. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Blackpool Mini Break

Stay Date: 11/08/14, a customer aged 25-44 from Bangor who stayed at 4* The Imperial Blackpool in Blackpool wrote this review.

Check in at the Hotel was smooth and the staff were friendly. The room was clean & spacious for our family of 4. The attractions were a 10 minute tram ride away, so we were away from the hustle & See More  Read more information bustle. We had planned our days to do 2 activities per day which worked really well.... Booking the attraction tickets online saved us the money to use the tram and have lunch on the day. Great 4 daybreak away.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Blackpool Zoo  
Sandcastle Water Park  
Blackpool Tower Dungeon  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Blackpool

Stay Date: 15/08/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 2* Grand Metropole Hotel in Blackpool wrote this review.

The hotel. Although middle of summer was FREEZING. Unfortunately bad weather was with us, when we asked for heating on in our room! Reception said NO we would therefore have to heat the whole See More  Read more information hotel, our room faced onto a courtyard of kitchens, bins, and pigeons with faeces every where on the windows and sills. We found it not very homely, or inviting. Although staff were excellent and locationbrilliant we will not be staying at Metropole ever again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Madame Tussards  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Chinese  
Indian  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Hotel

Stay Date: 17/08/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Alfreton who stayed at 4* Shrigley Hall Hotel (2 Nt Offer & 1st Nt Dinner) in Pott Shrigley (Peak District) wrote this review.

Hotel is too large with not enough staff. Not a friendly place to stay. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Chef & Brewer  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend in Chester

Stay Date: 23/08/14, a customer aged 25-44 from Poole who stayed at 4* Crowne Plaza Chester in Chester wrote this review.

Hotel was nice, room was ok- the carpet could do with a bit of a clean and skirting boards and edges of carpets a little dusty. Overall the attention to detail could be better to match the standard See More  Read more information of service! The pillows need changing as they were either lumpy or hard so we didn't get the best nights sleep! The best bit was the buffet style breakfast. A good choice to suit any taste- from freshfruit to full English! Chester is full of history and we did the tour on the vintage bus which was good fun and very informative- would definitely recommend doing it. The wall is also worthwalking and a visit to the amphitheatre and Roman gardens is a must. The cathedral was interesting. The shopping is good as there's a variety of shops. The restaurant we ate in was the hickory smokehouse.it was an American style eatery, we enjoyed the food, although for me portions were very large but expected this due to the style of restaurant. The staff were very friendly and the service was goodespecially as it was very busy over the bank holiday. Overall we had a lovely weekend in Chester, we would recommend it as a place to visit .   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Chester  
City tour vintage bus  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hickory smokehouse  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lovely hotel

Stay Date: 23/08/14, a customer aged 25-44 from Warrington who stayed at 4* De Vere Cranage Estate (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Nr Crewe wrote this review.

We had a lovely break at this hotel. The service and food was excellent and the facilities were very good. The only issue we had (which the staff can do nothing about) was the walls are really thin See More  Read more information in the bedrooms section of the hotel, which made it noisy when other guests were getting up or returning to their rooms etc... Other than that we had a lovely time.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Holmes Chapel Village  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The George & Dragon  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Return trip to Isle of Man

Stay Date: 27/08/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* The Rutland Hotel in Douglas (Isle of Man) wrote this review.

Excellent return to Douglas isle of man, glorious weather, lovely hotel, friendly people. Easy travel using all public transport, would definitely return a 3rd time and stay in the Rutland. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Steam Train  
horse drawn tram  
electric train  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Jaks  
Hotel  
terminus  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Disgusting hotel

Stay Date: 02/09/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Mountain Ash who stayed at 3* Britannia Airport Manchester South Hotel in Manchester City (Nr Airport) wrote this review.

The hotel whilst cheap was dirty and smelly and not what I would expect. The room itself was clean with clean bedding but smelt of stale smoke and bleach. There were mould all over the bathroom See More  Read more information walls and ceiling. The trouser press was dirty and the carpet has seen better days.Was scared to put my feet on them. The hotel needs a coat of paint and a good clean.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 2191 - 2200 of 2834 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002068 @ 16/05/2019 15:33:26

Last rendered @ 21/05/2019 18:43:42

Last rendered @ 21/05/2019 18:43:42

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB13

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.