Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - North West England

North West England Holiday Reviews

Bridgewater Hall, Manchester

There are lots of great reasons why our hotels in North West England are amongst our most popular short break destinations; great cities, full of some of the best shopping outside London and world-renowned attractions. With exciting music venues, top-class sport and fine dining, there's much to see and do in the area's big cities, whilst for a relaxing break away from the hustle and bustle, our hotels in Cheshire make an ideal choice.

When you're planning a stay in this region, be sure to check out our great value dinner deals too - two night packages with dinner included on the first night often offer the perfect country retreat, particularly in our hotels in Cheshire and in the Manchester area. When you're off on a longer break, be certain to take advantage of our handy Manchester Airport hotels too.

  • For a break with the whole family, nothing beats the Lancashire seaside and our hotels in Blackpool; check out the ever-popular Pleasure Beach, the local Madame Tussauds, and scale the heights for terrific views at Blackpool Tower.
  • Our Liverpool hotels are perfect for visiting the cultural city - find yourself at a trendy restaurant close to the Albert Docks, taking a ferry across the Mersey, or on the trail of The Beatles at the world-famous Cavern Club.
  • Visit two of the country's footballing giants at Old Trafford or the Etihad Stadium, or enjoy the infamous nightlife when you stay at one of our hotels in Manchester.
  • Our hotels in Chester have much to offer too - enjoy a family trip to the nationally-renowned Chester Zoo, or enjoy some of the best outlet shopping in the country at Cheshire Oaks.


A fabulous choice for your next short break destination, check out our range of hotels in the North-West in the list below. Alternatively, explore more UK weekend breaks.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 2834

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

MacDonald Portal Hotel Golf & Spa

Stay Date: 06/10/07, a customer from Stockport who stayed at 4* Macdonald Portal Hotel Golf & Spa in Tarporley (Nr Chester) wrote this review.

Hotel was in a lovely location but staff didn't have a double room for us as we'd booked the night previously through Superbreaks. Eventually found us a room and gave us a complementary bottle of See More  Read more information wine. We had a look at the restaurant menu and as I am a vegetarian there was no nice option so we opted for a local pub meal. Breakfast the next day was a fiasco, it took 20 mins to get a drink, alot of the buffet food was running out and it was generally not well organised. The quality of the scrambled eggs made me glad that we'd not eaten in the Restaurant the night before.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Tarporley Village  
Delamere Forest  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Fox & Barrel Pub  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Weekend in Manchester

Stay Date: 03/01/14, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* Mercure Manchester Piccadilly in Manchester wrote this review.

Had a great weekend in Manchester - there is loads to do: shopping at the Arndale Centre, Trafford Centre, Lowry Outlet Mall. Visited the Lowry Museum and had look around MediaCity. Went to Old See More  Read more information Trafford for the football - Theatre of Dreams is a great experience. Stayed at the Mecure Hotel which is centrally located, situated between Canal Street and China Town. Fantastic!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Manchester United  
Lowry Outlet Mall  
Lowry Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Giovanni  
China Town  
Red Cafe  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend in Chester

Stay Date: 14/02/14, a customer aged 18-24 who stayed at 4* Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel in Chester wrote this review.

We didn't really use the hotels facilities, they had a spa and a restaurant which we didn't attend. The hotel isn't as good as I hoped condition wise but it was nice enough for what I paid. The See More  Read more information weather was really bad which also didn't help me enjoy the weekend as much as I could. The location is the best thing about the hotel which a huge retail park, the city centre and Chester zoo all 5minutes away.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Chester City Centre  
Chester Zoo  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Chinese take away  
Pizza Hut  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Graduation

Stay Date: 25/09/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Mercure Manchester Piccadilly in Manchester wrote this review.

We stayed at this hotel where my daughter's graduation was held. The location was very central and good for shopping, eating out etc. The transport links were excellent with a free metro shuttle See More  Read more information from the train station to the hotel and numerous trams and buses. The hotel breakfast was plentiful. The only criticism was the hotel staff were a bit disorganised and on both mornings forgot to deliverour newspaper, and on the last morning we were woken by the cleaner knocking on the door at 8.15 am!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Arndale Centre  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ciao Bella  
The Brasserie  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Chester Christmas Shopping

Stay Date: 28/11/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel in Chester wrote this review.

Little bit disappointed with the hotel. Rooms and corridors need refurbishing. Clean enough though. Staff lovely and helpful. Good breakfast, reasonable choice of dishes. Trip to the Cheshire Oaks See More  Read more information Outlet shops was successful and only 10 minutes away. Good location.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ruan Orchid  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Fab Xmas markets in Manchester

Stay Date: 05/12/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Mercure Manchester Piccadilly in Manchester wrote this review.

Hotel room was cold but we got given a heater, the room had not been tidied by 3.30 in the afternoon when we returned, the coffee at breakfast was so bitter even in a latte! The staff were See More  Read more information extremely helpful, the view from the restaurant was brilliant and it was very central.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Xmas Markets  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great visit to Lion King

Stay Date: 17/02/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Mercure Manchester Piccadilly in Manchester wrote this review.

The warm friendly welcome from the Mercure Manchester staff, particularly from Paul (Front Office) got the two day break off to a great start. The spacious, well appointed room was beyond my See More  Read more information expectations and the location was within easy walking distance of several of the city's attractions. The evening visit to the Palace Theatre to see the Lion King was awesome!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
national arboretum  
Lion King, Palace Theatre  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
China Town  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Night away for a concert

Stay Date: 23/05/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Mercure Manchester Piccadilly in Manchester wrote this review.

Great hotel and location is excellent. Only 5 mins walk from the train station and 10 mins from the arena. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Manchester Arena  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A great trip away

Stay Date: 27/12/16, a customer aged 25-44 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Mercure Manchester Piccadilly in Manchester wrote this review.

We used SuperBreak to book a theatre and hotel combo package. Everything was fabulous! Tickets arrived well in advance - the hotel booking was efficient and smooth with no problems on arrival of See More  Read more information either! We will definitely use SuperBreak again!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shopping Centre  
Palace Theatre  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Thai shack  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Chester break

Stay Date: 06/02/19, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel in Chester wrote this review.

Lots to see and do, great. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Grosvenor Museum  
Cathedral  
Roman ampetheater  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 1501 - 1510 of 2834 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002068 @ 16/05/2019 15:33:27

Last rendered @ 25/05/2019 17:56:41

Last rendered @ 25/05/2019 17:56:41

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB12

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.