Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - North West England

North West England Holiday Reviews

Bridgewater Hall, Manchester

There are lots of great reasons why our hotels in North West England are amongst our most popular short break destinations; great cities, full of some of the best shopping outside London and world-renowned attractions. With exciting music venues, top-class sport and fine dining, there's much to see and do in the area's big cities, whilst for a relaxing break away from the hustle and bustle, our hotels in Cheshire make an ideal choice.

When you're planning a stay in this region, be sure to check out our great value dinner deals too - two night packages with dinner included on the first night often offer the perfect country retreat, particularly in our hotels in Cheshire and in the Manchester area. When you're off on a longer break, be certain to take advantage of our handy Manchester Airport hotels too.

  • For a break with the whole family, nothing beats the Lancashire seaside and our hotels in Blackpool; check out the ever-popular Pleasure Beach, the local Madame Tussauds, and scale the heights for terrific views at Blackpool Tower.
  • Our Liverpool hotels are perfect for visiting the cultural city - find yourself at a trendy restaurant close to the Albert Docks, taking a ferry across the Mersey, or on the trail of The Beatles at the world-famous Cavern Club.
  • Visit two of the country's footballing giants at Old Trafford or the Etihad Stadium, or enjoy the infamous nightlife when you stay at one of our hotels in Manchester.
  • Our hotels in Chester have much to offer too - enjoy a family trip to the nationally-renowned Chester Zoo, or enjoy some of the best outlet shopping in the country at Cheshire Oaks.


A fabulous choice for your next short break destination, check out our range of hotels in the North-West in the list below. Alternatively, explore more UK weekend breaks.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 2822

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Below usual Best Western Standards

Stay Date: 24/12/17, a customer aged 65+ from Leicester who stayed at 3* Best Western Carlton Hotel 3 Night Christmas Break in Blackpool wrote this review.

Disappointing Christmas Break. At a cost of £900 for three nights we expected much better accommodation, food and entertainment. Not up to the usual Best Western standards so would not recommend See More  Read more information this hotel. Location is good as it is walkable to the centre of Blackpool and faces the beach.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Blackpool Tower  
Beach  
Lancaster  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel Carlton AI  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Murder mystery trip excellent

Stay Date: 05/01/18, a customer aged 45-64 from Wigan who stayed at 3* Best Western Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa Murder Mystery Break in Southport wrote this review.

This is the first time we have experienced one of these events. It was brilliant, really enjoyed the plot, the actors were brilliant and the other guests on our table were lovely and we had a good See More  Read more information laugh. The hotel was fantastic and the food was lovely, the evening meal was really good, as was the breakfast in the morning with a good choice of food. The room we were in was really nice, a goodsize and very comfortable. The location of the hotel was fantastic as the vast array of shops were within walking distance. A great experience.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Murder Mystery  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Windsor  
Pavillion  
 

User Review Ratings: 3 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Murder Mystery Night

Stay Date: 05/01/18, a customer aged 65+ from Chorley who stayed at 3* Best Western Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa Murder Mystery Break in Southport wrote this review.

First time we have used Super Break. First of all let me say that the food, staff & the actual Murder Mystery was very good & enjoyable. The room we were offered was small, dark & faced on to a See More  Read more information brick wall with rubbish lying on the ground. We went back to reception, quite prepared to leave the hotel if that was all they could offer (it really was that bad). We had booked two rooms as our son &wife were joining us later. We eventually had to pay an extra £40 to upgrade to rooms that were better. It would have helped if we had been given this option when we booked originally. Verydisappointing as it was the first time we had used Super Break.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 2 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

snowed in

Stay Date: 20/01/18, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Hollin House Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Macclesfield wrote this review.

Wanted to visit Buxton but unable to get there due to snow. The restaurant and bar staff were a bit slow, and made mistakes with orders. A saucer or container could be provided in the rooms to put See More  Read more information a used teaspoon on, also a soap dish is required in the bathrooms.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Knutsford  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review not helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Chester Zoo

Stay Date: 17/02/18, a customer aged 18-24 from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port-Cheshire Oaks in Chester (Nr) wrote this review.

Wasn’t happy with the room, booked a double on higher floor and received a disabled access room. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Chester Zoo  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
T.G.I. Friday’s  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review not helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Murder mystery at Southport

Stay Date: 23/03/18, a customer aged 45-64 from Wigan who stayed at 3* Best Western Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa Murder Mystery Break in Southport wrote this review.

Would recommend this break to anyone! The food at the hotel was excellent, entertainment was great and the staff were very professional. Only one thing - the mattress was VERY firm. Might be great See More  Read more information for some but for me it was quite uncomfortable.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Chester Zoo and Holiday Inn stay

Stay Date: 06/04/18, a customer aged 25-44 from Rotherham who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Warrington in Warrington wrote this review.

We had a great day out at Chester Zoo, found the zoo accessible with a pushchair and plenty of picnic areas. The Holiday Inn was really good with welcoming and helpful staff. The only low point was See More  Read more information the girls football team staying on the same floor as us who made so much noise even when asked by staff to stop running up and down the corridor and slamming doors, unfortunately they did not untilgone midnight, so we got little sleep.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Chester Zoo  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Excellent visit to Chester Zoo

Stay Date: 12/04/18, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 3* Hallmark Inn Chester in Chester wrote this review.

Super impressed with Chester Zoo, well maintained, great staff and helpful too! See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Chester Zoo  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

BW Crewe Arms Hotel

Stay Date: 11/05/18, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Best Western Crewe Arms Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1 Night Dinner) in Crewe wrote this review.

Very nice and friendly hotel was good, everything was clean and tidy, food was great. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Chester Zoo  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Good location

Stay Date: 13/05/18, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Hampton by Hilton Liverpool City Centre in Liverpool wrote this review.

Hampton Hilton Hotel in Liverpool was a vertical good location for the town, the docks, The bus station for buses to football stadiums and for the Cathedrals. The staff were pleasant and the hotel See More  Read more information was very clean.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Liverpool Cathedral  
Liverpool Metropolitan Cathedral  
Liverpool matchday experience  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Sandon  
Catholic cafe and bar  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 1451 - 1460 of 2822 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002068 @ 16/05/2019 16:47:10

Last rendered @ 20/05/2019 19:53:09

Last rendered @ 20/05/2019 19:53:09

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB16

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.