Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - North West England

North West England Holiday Reviews

Bridgewater Hall, Manchester

There are lots of great reasons why our hotels in North West England are amongst our most popular short break destinations; great cities, full of some of the best shopping outside London and world-renowned attractions. With exciting music venues, top-class sport and fine dining, there's much to see and do in the area's big cities, whilst for a relaxing break away from the hustle and bustle, our hotels in Cheshire make an ideal choice.

When you're planning a stay in this region, be sure to check out our great value dinner deals too - two night packages with dinner included on the first night often offer the perfect country retreat, particularly in our hotels in Cheshire and in the Manchester area. When you're off on a longer break, be certain to take advantage of our handy Manchester Airport hotels too.

  • For a break with the whole family, nothing beats the Lancashire seaside and our hotels in Blackpool; check out the ever-popular Pleasure Beach, the local Madame Tussauds, and scale the heights for terrific views at Blackpool Tower.
  • Our Liverpool hotels are perfect for visiting the cultural city - find yourself at a trendy restaurant close to the Albert Docks, taking a ferry across the Mersey, or on the trail of The Beatles at the world-famous Cavern Club.
  • Visit two of the country's footballing giants at Old Trafford or the Etihad Stadium, or enjoy the infamous nightlife when you stay at one of our hotels in Manchester.
  • Our hotels in Chester have much to offer too - enjoy a family trip to the nationally-renowned Chester Zoo, or enjoy some of the best outlet shopping in the country at Cheshire Oaks.


A fabulous choice for your next short break destination, check out our range of hotels in the North-West in the list below. Alternatively, explore more UK weekend breaks.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 2851

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Family Visit

Stay Date: 10/04/09, a customer from West Midlands who stayed at 4* Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa in Blackburn wrote this review.

The break was to see my family, so we mainly stayed at the hotel or with my family. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Chester

Stay Date: 10/04/09, a customer from Halifax who stayed at 4* Mercure Chester Abbots Well in Chester rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

OK room but bad location

Stay Date: 17/04/09, a customer who stayed at 4* Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa in Blackburn wrote this review.

The room we had to stay in was nice although a bit tired looking. However, the temparature in the room was totally off! The radiator in the room wasn't even on and yet the room must have been about See More  Read more information 22C constantly. For a 4* hotel this issue is critical as they are meant to provide a good night sleep to their guests.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Days out in Chester

Stay Date: 19/04/09, a customer who stayed at 4* Mercure Chester Abbots Well in Chester wrote this review.

Chester City centre, very good shopping area, great parks, great walk along the River Dee, very clean city. Hotel easy to find. Great park and ride. Very frequent. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Chester City  
Chester Zoo  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Cheshire Cat  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

40th Birthday Treat

Stay Date: 18/04/09, a customer who stayed at 4* Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa in Blackburn wrote this review.

my daughter and i visited the Dunkenhalgh in December and we were so satisfied that i took my daughter again for her 49th birthday. the bonus was we were up graded to an executive suite. the See More  Read more information facilities are excellent and we spent a very pleasent few hours in the saunas, steam room, and aromatherapy room as well as the swimming pool. we will certainly be doing it again as it was the most relaxingweekend we have had for a while.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Dunkenhalgh Hotel

Stay Date: 24/04/09, a customer who stayed at 4* Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa in Blackburn wrote this review.

The reason for my 1 night stay at the Dunkenhalgh Hotel was a Dinner/Dance held at the hotel and organised by an Appreciation Society I am a member of. The Dinner was really good and served well by See More  Read more information the staff considering there must have been 300 or more people who attended. The staff were friendly and polite, the room very comfortable and would have slept better if it hadn't been for the full andexciting evening which I had experienced. Breakfast following morning was very good too.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Blackburn

Stay Date: 24/04/09, a customer from Stockport who stayed at 4* Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa in Blackburn wrote this review.

The hotel and facilities were excellent although drinks at the bar were very expensive.Over £14 for 2 glasses of wine See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Chester Weekend Break

Stay Date: 08/05/09, a customer from Loughborough who stayed at 4* Mercure Chester Abbots Well in Chester wrote this review.

Hotel situated not far from park & ride. saves trouble finding parking. cost £1.70 per person all day. Hotel very clean, staff friendly and helpful. Food in hotel very good. Enjoyed the walk round See More  Read more information the city wall, easy to follow and no hard walking. Plenty of variety in the shops in town centre. Lots to choose from and spend your money on. Some good cafes off the beaten track, well worth lookingfor.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Uttoxeter Racecourse  
Cheshire Oaks  
Chester Town Centre  
Bridgemere garden centre  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

An Interesting Day In Chester

Stay Date: 05/06/09, a customer who stayed at 4* Mercure Chester Abbots Well in Chester wrote this review.

Despite the poor weather the city is always a joy to visit. The older parts are interesting and nice to see the town crier and some traditional events going on. Good shopping (comment from the See More  Read more information wives)   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Chester City Centre  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ramada Chester Hotel Restaurant  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Chester Weekend

Stay Date: 05/06/09, a customer who stayed at 4* Mercure Chester Abbots Well in Chester wrote this review.

Apart from the rain, it was an enjoyable weekend with the family. Chester zoo was well wortth the money and we'll definately go again. the aquarium was not so good, too short although the sharks See More  Read more information were good.The ramada hotel was very good. Spacious room and excellent breakfast choice. Well worth £70 a night.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Chester Zoo  
Blue Planet Aquarium  
Cheshire Farm, Ice Cream Farm  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Harvester  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 1191 - 1200 of 2851 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002068 @ 16/05/2019 15:33:26

Last rendered @ 17/06/2019 18:31:47

Last rendered @ 17/06/2019 18:31:47

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB13

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.