Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - North West England

North West England Holiday Reviews

Bridgewater Hall, Manchester

There are lots of great reasons why our hotels in North West England are amongst our most popular short break destinations; great cities, full of some of the best shopping outside London and world-renowned attractions. With exciting music venues, top-class sport and fine dining, there's much to see and do in the area's big cities, whilst for a relaxing break away from the hustle and bustle, our hotels in Cheshire make an ideal choice.

When you're planning a stay in this region, be sure to check out our great value dinner deals too - two night packages with dinner included on the first night often offer the perfect country retreat, particularly in our hotels in Cheshire and in the Manchester area. When you're off on a longer break, be certain to take advantage of our handy Manchester Airport hotels too.

  • For a break with the whole family, nothing beats the Lancashire seaside and our hotels in Blackpool; check out the ever-popular Pleasure Beach, the local Madame Tussauds, and scale the heights for terrific views at Blackpool Tower.
  • Our Liverpool hotels are perfect for visiting the cultural city - find yourself at a trendy restaurant close to the Albert Docks, taking a ferry across the Mersey, or on the trail of The Beatles at the world-famous Cavern Club.
  • Visit two of the country's footballing giants at Old Trafford or the Etihad Stadium, or enjoy the infamous nightlife when you stay at one of our hotels in Manchester.
  • Our hotels in Chester have much to offer too - enjoy a family trip to the nationally-renowned Chester Zoo, or enjoy some of the best outlet shopping in the country at Cheshire Oaks.


A fabulous choice for your next short break destination, check out our range of hotels in the North-West in the list below. Alternatively, explore more UK weekend breaks.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 2852

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Short Break in Altrincham

Stay Date: 27/05/06, a customer who stayed at 3* Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel in Altrincham wrote this review.

We were not overly impressed with the hotel. Whilst we realise that our request for quiet room could not be guaranteed it was rather unfortunate that we had a room just next to the air conditioning See More  Read more information fans from the kitchen which were noisy all the time. Also, regarding the hotel, it is also unfortunate that as you enter the reception area you need to go through the bar which was smoky. There didnot appear to be any other area to sit and relax with a drink other than to endure cigarette smoke and the large screen TV   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lowry Centre  
 
Rate This Review:
 
Editor Notes:

Editor's Comments: Superbreak cannot guarantee the positioning of any hotel room. Any specific room requests are given to the hotel when a booking is made, and a quiet room is generally one at the back of the hotel away from any outdoor noise. Hotels make every attempt to accommodate every guest’s requests as best they can, but cannot always meet every request made.

 

Short Break in Altrincham

Stay Date: 16/06/06, a customer who stayed at 3* Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel in Altrincham wrote this review.

shopping Manchester city centre, walk countryside, visit National Trust property, attend political meeting See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Dunham Massey  
Hare Hill  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Dunham Massey Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Altrincham

Stay Date: 22/07/06, a customer who stayed at 3* Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel in Altrincham rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Dunham Massey  
Rhs Flower Show at Tatton Park  
 
 

Short Break in Charnock Richard

Stay Date: 07/09/07, a customer from Chorley who stayed at 3* Ramada Chorley South in Charnock Richard (Nr Preston) rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Formby Point  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Verdes  
Papa Luigis  
Farmers Arms Heskin  
 
 

Chester

Stay Date: 21/06/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Warrington who stayed at 4* Mercure Chester Abbots Well in Chester wrote this review.

Good weekend in Chester. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Harvester  
Boat House  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Caccrington

Stay Date: 17/10/14, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa in Blackburn wrote this review.

Hotel and leisure facilities outstanding. Cleaners barged in at 9.30 though, if we had booked a breakfast we would have been out of the room then so found it strange as we had the room til 12. Area See More  Read more information was poor around, maybe one or two walks but very isolated and rural. If you are planning to use the hotel and facilities the would recommend, but as a base for things to see a do a big no no.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Gym and spa  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great day out in Chester

Stay Date: 20/12/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Wolverhampton who stayed at 4* Mercure Chester Abbots Well in Chester wrote this review.

Hotel room was very nice, comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful. Bar staff were very pleasant, they served you until you didn't want anymore to drink. Would recommend this hotel to friends See More  Read more information and family.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Chester Town Centre  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
City Spice  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Location location location

Stay Date: 04/12/15, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Mercure Chester Abbots Well in Chester wrote this review.

We have been to the Mercure before, so it was good to see that the excellent service we received before had not not changed. The great thing about this hotel is the location. Next door to a park and See More  Read more information ride into Chester centre (£2.00 return) or a £5.00 cab ride into town. Great if you have driven all day. Breakfast is brilliant with everything you need to stock up for a long day of sight seeing orshopping. Ate in Chester in the evenings, vast choice of restaurants. Booking a must at peak times.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Roman Ruins  
City Wall  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Moules a Go Go  
Piccolino  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lovely Saturday evening

Stay Date: 05/12/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa in Blackburn wrote this review.

The hotel room was lovely except for a dodgy wardrobe door, very clean and spacious. The staff were lovely and very helpful, with a brilliant barman called Paddy. We booked breakfast the day we See More  Read more information arrived but wish we hadn't, absolute chaos, run out of food, waiting for more to be put out, big disappointment from previous visits. Being woken up by the fire alarm at 8.20 on a Sunday morning wasnot something we had expected, no fire though!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Chester Mercure

Stay Date: 19/11/17, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Mercure Chester Abbots Well in Chester wrote this review.

We stayed two nights at the Chester Mercure hotel, which was really quiet just as we had requested. The hotel is nothing to look at and is a bit dated and tired, but the staff were really helpful See More  Read more information and friendly. We used the park and ride to travel around which was very good. Our only trip was to the Zoo, which was a bit disappointing, but the weather could have had a lot to do with it.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Chester Town Centre  
Chester Zoo  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 1181 - 1190 of 2852 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002075 @ 18/06/2019 11:30:19

Last rendered @ 25/06/2019 00:23:09

Last rendered @ 25/06/2019 00:23:09

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB11

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.