Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - North West England

North West England Holiday Reviews

Bridgewater Hall, Manchester

There are lots of great reasons why our hotels in North West England are amongst our most popular short break destinations; great cities, full of some of the best shopping outside London and world-renowned attractions. With exciting music venues, top-class sport and fine dining, there's much to see and do in the area's big cities, whilst for a relaxing break away from the hustle and bustle, our hotels in Cheshire make an ideal choice.

When you're planning a stay in this region, be sure to check out our great value dinner deals too - two night packages with dinner included on the first night often offer the perfect country retreat, particularly in our hotels in Cheshire and in the Manchester area. When you're off on a longer break, be certain to take advantage of our handy Manchester Airport hotels too.

  • For a break with the whole family, nothing beats the Lancashire seaside and our hotels in Blackpool; check out the ever-popular Pleasure Beach, the local Madame Tussauds, and scale the heights for terrific views at Blackpool Tower.
  • Our Liverpool hotels are perfect for visiting the cultural city - find yourself at a trendy restaurant close to the Albert Docks, taking a ferry across the Mersey, or on the trail of The Beatles at the world-famous Cavern Club.
  • Visit two of the country's footballing giants at Old Trafford or the Etihad Stadium, or enjoy the infamous nightlife when you stay at one of our hotels in Manchester.
  • Our hotels in Chester have much to offer too - enjoy a family trip to the nationally-renowned Chester Zoo, or enjoy some of the best outlet shopping in the country at Cheshire Oaks.


A fabulous choice for your next short break destination, check out our range of hotels in the North-West in the list below. Alternatively, explore more UK weekend breaks.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 2852

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Short Break In Chester

Stay Date: 01/08/09, a customer from Manchester who stayed at 4* Mercure Chester Abbots Well in Chester wrote this review.

Out all day at races on arriving back to hotel at six thirty, room had not been servicist. It took almost one hour for it to be done. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Chester Races  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Blackburn

Stay Date: 23/10/09, a customer from Ilford who stayed at 4* Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa in Blackburn rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Short Break In Blackburn

Stay Date: 19/09/09, a customer who stayed at 4* Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa in Blackburn wrote this review.

We went for a wedding - 1 night stay and found the hotel spa fantastic, and rooms spacious and very comfortable - only complaint was the bar in the spa was quite cold and service was poor - bar See More  Read more information prices in the rest of the hotel were also expensive - the hotel is not in London.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
Editor Notes:

Editor’s Comments: The Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa is a 4 star hotel and the prices of drinks in the hotel bar do reflect this.

 

Days In Chester

Stay Date: 29/08/09, a customer from Chesterfield who stayed at 4* Mercure Chester Abbots Well in Chester wrote this review.

We booked a break at the Ramada hotel due to it having a pool and this facility was excellent. However the hotel room was a bit of a let down due to the size of the room and this is a great shame as See More  Read more information everything else with the hotel was very good.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
- Chester Zoo  
- Chester  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
- Pizza Express  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

John's 40th

Stay Date: 28/08/09, a customer who stayed at 4* Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa in Blackburn wrote this review.

The view from the hotel room was poor and the grass was in need of a good cut, however, our room was away from the main building and considering there was 2 weddings on, we never heard a peep. Room See More  Read more information was very clean apart from round the bath area (needed a good scrub or steam clean). The boys enjoyed a great day out on the Saturday morning at Shaw Hill golf course (they would highly recommend it),whilst the girls walked into Accrington to do a bit of shopping, via the bypass (can be a bit tricky, but worth the walk). Then back to the leisure club for gym, swimming and a spot of lunch at theleisure club too. Might I just add the people in the leisure club both in the gym and the reception/food area were not only very friendly, but were a great asset, the food was good as well (and a lotcheaper than in the bar area). Drinks in the bar were quite expensive. We then went on to Northcote Manor by hummer limousine, what a treat! I can highly recommend the food, if you do go take advantageof the gourment menu. We then drove in the hummer to blackpool casino, champagne still flowing! We all won at the casino just to top off a great weekend!.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shaw Hill Golf Course  
Northcote Manor, Langho  
Stanley Casino, Blackpool  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Franco's, Oswaldtwistle  
Northcote Manor, Langho  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

The Festival Of Quilts

Stay Date: 21/08/09, a customer who stayed at 4* Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa in Blackburn wrote this review.

Although our hotel is still nearly 2 hours away from the NEC we still enjoy staying there because of the excellent leisure facilties, superb food, comfortable rooms and excellent staff. Getting to See More  Read more information the NEC by car is straightforward well signposted as you approach Birmingham and convenient parking. This annual exhibition has entries from all over the world and the variety of quilts truly amazing.Even if you are not a quilter there is much to see and enjoy. We left the NEC at the close of the show in order to get back to our hotel for dinner. Breakfast is always good but dinner is fabulous.The hotel bake their own bread and at least three delicious varieties are served. Drinks are reasonably priced and booking in on a half-board basis will save you money on your food. I'd recommend itespecially booking with Superbreak.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Festival Of Quilts, Nec, Birmingham.  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

New Year's Eve At The Dunkenhalgh

Stay Date: 31/12/09, a customer who stayed at 4* Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa in Blackburn wrote this review.

What a fantastic way to spend New Year's eve. The food was delicious, the live music was fantastic, all the staff were lovely and the night was just brilliant! everything about the hotel was great See More  Read more information and we will certainly be returning.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Lancashire

Stay Date: 24/12/09, a customer who stayed at 4* Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa in Blackburn rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel Spa  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel Restaurant  
 
 

Reunion Weekend

Stay Date: 22/01/10, a customer who stayed at 4* Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa in Blackburn wrote this review.

An association I am a member of held a reunion weekend at the Dunkenhalgh, including an entertainments night with a meal provided on the 1st night and a dinner/dance on the 2nd night again the meal See More  Read more information was provided by the hotel. The staff did very well in serving both meals as there must have been about 300 of us both nights and were delicious. Breakfasts were good too. I didn't venture out tosurrounding areas so can't comment.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Blackburn

Stay Date: 10/04/10, a customer from Lancashire who stayed at 4* Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa in Blackburn rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 
 

Showing 1161 - 1170 of 2852 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002075 @ 18/06/2019 12:13:57

Last rendered @ 19/06/2019 14:03:45

Last rendered @ 19/06/2019 14:03:45

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB14

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.