Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - North East England

North East England Holiday Reviews

Angel of the North, Gateshead

Perfect for a short break, our hotels in North-East England range from budget city accommodation to luxury country retreats. Up-and-coming cultural hubs, cities in the North-East are also famous for their unique nightlife and fab shopping – our Newcastle hotels and hotels near Middlesbrough are handy for it all. When you’re off on a longer break, be sure to check out the hotels near Newcastle Airport for the best way to get your holiday off on the right foot.

Whatever you’re looking for from a getaway, our hotels in the North-East have something to offer; relaxing, picturesque and ideal for walks, Northumberland hotels are just as appealing as those in region’s big cities – for entirely different reasons. Escape to the country for one of our relaxed dinner break, unwind at a spa, or enjoy the splendour of an afternoon tea package at one of our hotels in North-East England.

  • One of the country’s top city breaks, don’t miss our Newcastle hotels for the best of the North-East’s great shopping, top sport, infamous nightlife, events and art galleries such as the renowned BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art.
  • Our hotels near Durham are also a superb choice for a short break; be sure to soak up the city’s ambience and appreciate its fabulous historical attractions – the gothic Durham Cathedral and the Norman Durham Castle are both UNESCO World Heritage sites.
  • Perhaps the area’s most scenic spot, the Northumbria coast is a must-see, and our hotels near Berwick couldn’t be better placed for visits to Alnwick Castle, Holy Island at Lindisfarne, and Hadrian’s Wall.


An excellent choice for your next short break destination, check out our range of hotels in the North-East in the list below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 334

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Few Days in Newcastle

Stay Date: 16/05/19, a customer aged 45-64 from Al who stayed at 4* Grey Street Hotel in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

Hotel room was a little noisy with traffic because the room overlooked the main busy road through Newcastle. Hotel was in a excellent location with eateries, theatre, cinema, comedy club, drinking See More  Read more information places all with in a few minutes walk. Metro is easy to get to the Monument is at the top of the road. Enjoyed our stay.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Baltic  
South Shields  
Tynemouth  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Zizzi  
Blakes  
Marco Polo  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Wonderful stay at Redworth

Stay Date: 15/04/19, a customer aged 25-44 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Redworth Hall Hotel in Newton Aycliffe wrote this review.

My husband, two boys and I had a super 3 night stay at Redworth Hall from 15/04-18/04. We stayed on the fourth floor in a large family room that was very spacious and clean. Upon arrival we See More  Read more information discovered one of the bedroom blinds was broken. We made reception aware and this was replaced straight away. The decor was a little tired, but it was perfect place to rest our heads after a busy dayexploring. The hotel is currently undergoing refurbishment. Some areas of the hotel are light, bright and modern while others are in need of some improving. The restaurant is great with a big breakfastselection. We also enjoyed a delicious evening meal from the set menu. Please note we booked dinner for 6pm at the restaurant but the kitchen does not open till 6.30pm. This was not made clear to us whenbooking before arrival so this was a little disappointing given we were keen to eat early with two little boys. The pool is a great extra and there is even family changing facilities which makes thingsa lot easier when there with wee ones. The boys had a super time swimming although on one of the three days there the pool was a little chilly. If going with family, it’s important to note restrictedtimes children are allowed entry to the pool. This wasn’t a problem for us but something to keep in mind when planning your day. The hotel grounds are lovely. We had a lovely time exploring throughthe woods. There is crazy golf on the lawn outside the hotel which is good fun. Collect putters and balls from reception for free. The course is dated and could do with some TLC but my two boys did notlet it spoil their fun. The hotel was a good base for exploring further afield. While on holiday we visited Diggerland and ventured into the historic town of Durham. Durham operates a super park andride system. Park your car at one of three park and ride parks and you can travel all day on the park and ride service for £2 per person (children under 5 free). This was a super way to get roundeasily and visit the cathedral, castle and botanics. My family and I had a wonderful break at Redworth Hall. Staff were polite and helpful throughout our stay. We were all sad about going home but lookforward to visiting again in the future.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Diggerland  
Durham Cathedral  
Durham Botanics  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Zizzi  
Fox Cub  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Little gem

Stay Date: 06/04/19, a customer aged 45-64 from Fife who stayed at 3* Blackwell Grange Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Darlington wrote this review.

Hotel/food/staff/facilities/area/friendliness/town centre - would recommend to anyone. And especially the local people, met some good friends and they showed us around, overall just a great short See More  Read more information break.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Entertainment  
Parks  
Football  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hole In The Wall  
penny weight  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Few days in Newcastle

Stay Date: 26/04/18, a customer aged 45-64 from Gb who stayed at 4* Grey Street Hotel in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

Hotel was Grey Street Hotel enjoyed our stay it was very good, view from our window looked out onto the Main Street. There are plenty of eating places up and down the street. Using the metro is See More  Read more information excellent and easy to use and getting about. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay - would go again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Newcastle City Centre  
The Coast  
Metro circular  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Carluccios  
Marco Polo in newcastle  
Restaurant in Fenwicks  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Beamish Hall

Stay Date: 06/04/18, a customer aged 25-44 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Beamish Hall Hotel (Afternoon Tea Offer) in Durham (Nr) wrote this review.

Had a fantastic time, beautiful place, will definitely be back to stay. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beamish hall  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beamish hall  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Good location for city break

Stay Date: 30/03/18, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays Hotel in Gateshead wrote this review.

Hotel was very comfortable and the staff very friendly and helpful. Excellent location for many of the city’s attractions, restaurants and nightlife. Would recommend and would use again. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Castle  
Baltic  
Shopping  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
TGI Friday  
Comedy Club  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Countryside retreat

Stay Date: 30/03/18, a customer aged 45-64 from Lancashire who stayed at 4* Redworth Hall Hotel in Newton Aycliffe wrote this review.

We stayed at Redworth Hall Hotel. It is a beautiful house converted to a Hotel. Our room was of an ample size with an en-suite bathroom. We were lovely and cosy in our home from home and made very See More  Read more information welcome by the staff. There is a spa and other facilities which we did not use but could have if we wanted to. We forgot to put the card on the door so our room was not refreshed, but the staff werevery quick to bring is milk and tea - bags etc on request. I have stayed here 3 times and would not hesitate to stay again. It is handy for visiting Kynren as well as many other North East attractions.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Metro Centre  
Riverside Football Stadium  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Redworth Hall Bar Snack  
Redworth Hall Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Excellent short break

Stay Date: 22/03/18, a customer aged 45-64 from Huddersfield who stayed at 3* Blackwell Grange Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Darlington wrote this review.

We booked a two night break, offered with breakfast and one dinner included. This was to celebrate our 44th wedding anniversary. The breakfast was buffet style with lots of choice and very good See More  Read more information quality. Dinner was also very good quality and the service was excellent. We also ate in the restaurant on our second night and once again were not disappointed. We had a surprise on our return tothe hotel, on our anniversary as the staff had left us a card and a plate full of cakes. During our short stay we spent a day at Beamish outdoor museum, approximately 45 minutes drive away. I wouldrecommend this highly. It is the best museum I've ever been to. Overall our short break was excellent and very good value.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beamish Museum  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Strictly Come Dancing in Newcastle

Stay Date: 24/01/18, a customer aged 25-44 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Grey Street Hotel in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

The Grey Street Hotel was a beautiful hotel. Bed are so comfortable and rooms have everything you need. Staff very all very helpful and friendly, would definitely come back. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Metro Radio Arena  
The gate shopping centre  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Fantastic overnight stay

Stay Date: 20/01/18, a customer aged 25-44 from North Lanarkshire who stayed at 4* Matfen Hall Hotel in Matfen (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

Our first impression of it was great. We upgraded to a double deluxe room. It was a beautiful room. Such lovely decor. Opening the door to such a lovely room. It was a really good size, with a big See More  Read more information bathroom. It was spotlessly clean & had a cosy feeling. We ate in the Keepers Lodge, we decided to eat in the more informal restaurant. Our meal was really nice. Afterwards we had a drink in theconservatory bar. It had a nice feel to it. Breakfast was in the library restaurant. It was lovely. Matfen Hall is a very beautiful hotel. The decor is so beautiful & tasteful. Such lovely old fashionedfeatures. Even the hallway carpets & decor. The great hall has the wow factor! We passed it going to & from our room. It looks like a room from Cinderella’s castle. The staff were all very polite,attentive & professional. The food was very good. It is situated out in the countryside, so ideal if like us, you are looking for somewhere to relax & just chill out. We don’t get to do that very often soit was a special treat. We would definitely recommend Matfen Hall. We had such a lovely relaxing time & hope to go back again some day. Thank you Matfen Hall.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 1 - 10 of 334 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002068 @ 16/05/2019 16:47:10

Last rendered @ 26/05/2019 19:04:02

Last rendered @ 26/05/2019 19:04:02

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB15

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.