Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - North East England

North East England Holiday Reviews

Angel of the North, Gateshead

Perfect for a short break, our hotels in North-East England range from budget city accommodation to luxury country retreats. Up-and-coming cultural hubs, cities in the North-East are also famous for their unique nightlife and fab shopping – our Newcastle hotels and hotels near Middlesbrough are handy for it all. When you’re off on a longer break, be sure to check out the hotels near Newcastle Airport for the best way to get your holiday off on the right foot.

Whatever you’re looking for from a getaway, our hotels in the North-East have something to offer; relaxing, picturesque and ideal for walks, Northumberland hotels are just as appealing as those in region’s big cities – for entirely different reasons. Escape to the country for one of our relaxed dinner break, unwind at a spa, or enjoy the splendour of an afternoon tea package at one of our hotels in North-East England.

  • One of the country’s top city breaks, don’t miss our Newcastle hotels for the best of the North-East’s great shopping, top sport, infamous nightlife, events and art galleries such as the renowned BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art.
  • Our hotels near Durham are also a superb choice for a short break; be sure to soak up the city’s ambience and appreciate its fabulous historical attractions – the gothic Durham Cathedral and the Norman Durham Castle are both UNESCO World Heritage sites.
  • Perhaps the area’s most scenic spot, the Northumbria coast is a must-see, and our hotels near Berwick couldn’t be better placed for visits to Alnwick Castle, Holy Island at Lindisfarne, and Hadrian’s Wall.


An excellent choice for your next short break destination, check out our range of hotels in the North-East in the list below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 399

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Love Derwent Manor

Stay Date: 25/04/11, a customer who stayed at 4* Derwent Manor Hotel, BW Premier Collection (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Allensford (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

After visiting this hotel last year we decided to go again for a nice chill-out weekend, and we had just that! we had glorious weather so we just stayed in the hotel grounds which have stunning See More  Read more information views. Thoroughly enjoyed the leisure facilities too. The evening meal was beautiful. We will definately be going back soon.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break To Visit Family/Matfen Hall

Stay Date: 31/05/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 4* Matfen Hall Hotel in Matfen (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

Matfen hall is a great hotel for a short/long break. Room 3 was a great size for the 3 of us with beautiful views over the golf course. The room itself was very nice although the bathroom I felt was See More  Read more information a bit tired! the whole experience is really relaxing, from the pool/spa to having a relaxing drink in the conservatory. The meal was excellent, the whole ambience was just perfect and our waitress(hungarian) was lovely and attentive. Breakfast was good, a great choice, again staff were lovely. My husband and I were at this hotel with our teenage daughter, who loved the hotel and diningexperience. I would certainly recommend this hotel, if your thinking of going, just book it!!! Hope to be back soon.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Library  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Fantastic Break

Stay Date: 18/06/11, a customer who stayed at 4* Derwent Manor Hotel, BW Premier Collection (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Allensford (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

My wife and i had a wonderful break at the derwent manor. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Durham Cathedral  
Durham City  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Convention In Newcastle

Stay Date: 18/06/11, a customer who stayed at 4* Derwent Manor Hotel, BW Premier Collection (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Allensford (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

Attended the jehovah's witnesses district convention in radio city stadium. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Richmond - Gardens  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Excellent Stay

Stay Date: 18/06/11, a customer from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Derwent Manor Hotel, BW Premier Collection (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Allensford (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

We had a wonderful stay at derwent manor I had 3 rooms booked for 6 of us and tickets to their turkey and tinsel (yes in june) the staff and manager couldn't do enough for us very well done. Already See More  Read more information booked 6 rooms for a family birthday in july thanks.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Enjoyable Weekend At Derwent Manor

Stay Date: 12/06/11, a customer who stayed at 4* Derwent Manor Hotel, BW Premier Collection (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Allensford (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

Had a great 2 night stay with dinner on 1st night. Staff were extremely helpful, room was clean & spacious, food was delicious, pool area was quiet and relaxing. Only negative comment is that bar See More  Read more information drinks seemed a bit steep for a 3* hotel. Otherwise a brilliant weekend, we would go back.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Restaurant  
Pub Menu  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Newcastle

Stay Date: 27/06/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 4* Derwent Manor Hotel, BW Premier Collection (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Allensford (Nr Newcastle) rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Durham City  
Newcastle Quayside  
Beamish  
 
 

First Time Visit To Hadrian's Wall

Stay Date: 05/07/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 4* Matfen Hall Hotel in Matfen (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

The hotel was an excellent choice. The food was excellent - staff did everything they could to cope with my gluten free dietary requirements admirably hotel and surroundings something to die for. It See More  Read more information was so peaceful and quiet. My wife and I enjoyed our stay and would reccommend the hotel to all.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hadrian's Wall  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Golf Club On Sight  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Newcastle

Stay Date: 03/07/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Washington (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Washington rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beamish  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
hotel  
 
 

Hotel Spoilt By Breakfast

Stay Date: 18/09/11, a customer who stayed at 3* Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel in Darlington wrote this review.

Hotel is a fantastic building. Room was great as was evening resturant. However, breakfast and breakfast staff were very poor. No fried eggs, no plates, no milk, no butter felt like a nag having to See More  Read more information keep asking for basic things that should have been there.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 81 - 90 of 399 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1001926 @ 12/06/2018 08:40:16

Last rendered @ 18/06/2018 01:16:16

Last rendered @ 18/06/2018 01:16:16

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB16

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.