Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - North East England

North East England Holiday Reviews

Angel of the North, Gateshead

Perfect for a short break, our hotels in North-East England range from budget city accommodation to luxury country retreats. Up-and-coming cultural hubs, cities in the North-East are also famous for their unique nightlife and fab shopping – our Newcastle hotels and hotels near Middlesbrough are handy for it all. When you’re off on a longer break, be sure to check out the hotels near Newcastle Airport for the best way to get your holiday off on the right foot.

Whatever you’re looking for from a getaway, our hotels in the North-East have something to offer; relaxing, picturesque and ideal for walks, Northumberland hotels are just as appealing as those in region’s big cities – for entirely different reasons. Escape to the country for one of our relaxed dinner break, unwind at a spa, or enjoy the splendour of an afternoon tea package at one of our hotels in North-East England.

  • One of the country’s top city breaks, don’t miss our Newcastle hotels for the best of the North-East’s great shopping, top sport, infamous nightlife, events and art galleries such as the renowned BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art.
  • Our hotels near Durham are also a superb choice for a short break; be sure to soak up the city’s ambience and appreciate its fabulous historical attractions – the gothic Durham Cathedral and the Norman Durham Castle are both UNESCO World Heritage sites.
  • Perhaps the area’s most scenic spot, the Northumbria coast is a must-see, and our hotels near Berwick couldn’t be better placed for visits to Alnwick Castle, Holy Island at Lindisfarne, and Hadrian’s Wall.


An excellent choice for your next short break destination, check out our range of hotels in the North-East in the list below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 399

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Three Castles

Stay Date: 22/06/13, a customer aged 45-64 from Shipley who stayed at 3* Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel in Darlington wrote this review.

In one weekend we managed to visit three castles all of them very good in their own way: Ripley Castle had beautiful gardens and an excellent tea room, Barnard Castle was interesting from a See More  Read more information historical perspective and finally we stayed in Walworth Castle which was an excellent way to spend a night, a top quality meal in the restaurant and a comfortable night's sleep in a truly massive roomcomplete with four poster bed. The staff were friendly and the sense of occasion for my wife's birthday was complete. A very good weekend!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Barnard Castle  
Ripley Castle  
Wensleydale Railway  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great day in Durham

Stay Date: 30/10/13, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Derwent Manor Hotel, BW Premier Collection (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Allensford (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

Easy drive from hotel (used park & ride to town centre) Great shops and ambiance with various good street musicians. Fine tea shop just over bridge - best home made cake ever. Durham cathedral See More  Read more information well worth a visit - compares well with York Minster & Piazza Domo in Milan. Hotel food is first class and very reasonable for the quality.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Durham Cathedral  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lovely Night at the Novotel

Stay Date: 26/12/13, a customer aged 18-24 who stayed at 3* Novotel Newcastle Airport in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

I arrived at the Novotol at around 8pm and was greeted by a lovely woman at the desk, she didn't seem to mind that I was checking in so late. She was extremely friendly to us and actually made us See More  Read more information feel wanted, nothing was to much trouble for any of the staff. We received our room key and went straight up, at first glance the Novotel is extremely pleasing to look at, everything's clean and it hada lovely vanilla smell. We arrived at our superior queen room which was exactly like the photos I'd seen, it was large and warm. I was surprised at our en suite feature as it was much bigger thanI expected it to be. Unfortunately my stay wasn't long enough to enjoy the hotels facilities but if your looking for a lovely hotel to spend the night in, I highly recommended the Novotel for itsfriendly staff and clean comfortable rooms.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Relaxing using Hotel Facilities

Stay Date: 27/12/13, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Derwent Manor Hotel, BW Premier Collection in Allensford (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

Arrived slightly early so took the oppotunity to use the hotel spa facilities, then checked in to a wonderful large room overlooking the Derwent valley with splendid views. Ordered a meal in the See More  Read more information hotels bar and settled in for a cosy night with a few drinks in front of a log fire.......great relaxing night away to celebrate our anniversary, well recommended.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Relaxing Stop-Gap

Stay Date: 07/03/14, a customer from Southampton who stayed at 4* Derwent Manor Hotel, BW Premier Collection (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Allensford (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

We went for a 2 night break to celebrate my sister's 60th birthday. We were out of the hotel most of the time visiting relatives which was the main purpose of our trip. If it was for a leisure See More  Read more information weekend the hotel would have been the perfect choice. On Friday evening when we arrived after a long journey we had a relaxing drink in the bar and then dinner in the lovely restaurant finished off with anightcap in the bar. This is just what we needed and would have done the same thing again the following day if we hadn't been attending the party. We did not have time to use the leisure facilitiesbut we intend returning and will certainly use the facilities when we have more time to enjoy. The location of the hotel is superb and the views from our bedroom window were spectacular. Onlycomplaint I have is the TV in our bedroom was on a TV stand and could not be seen from the bed. The stand was far too low and the screen was the size of the old style bedroom TV's. If we had been having arelaxing weekend I would have found this to be a problem.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Restaurant  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Very good hotel

Stay Date: 20/03/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Windsor Hotel in Whitley Bay wrote this review.

Room was fantastic. Four poster bed and sea view. Staff great and very helpful. Restaurant good but small choice. It was March though. Only drawback three nightclubs around hotel so noisy when they See More  Read more information turned out. All told very clean hotel and area. Excellent will definitely use again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Holy Island  
Beamish  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Harvester  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Durham Trip

Stay Date: 20/03/14, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Derwent Manor Hotel, BW Premier Collection (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Allensford (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

Fantastic trip around cathedral. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Durham City  
Durham Cathedral  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Exhausting day in Beamish

Stay Date: 18/04/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Blackwell Grange Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Darlington wrote this review.

Would definitely recommend for a visit a lot to see in one day. Would recommend taking your own food don't bother with chippy had to queue more than. An hour and not as good as we were expecting See More  Read more information after all the hype.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beamish Museum  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review not helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Great 3 days in Northumberland

Stay Date: 01/09/14, a customer aged 65+ from Uk who stayed at 4* Macdonald Linden Hall, Golf & Country Club (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Morpeth (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

Enjoyed 3 beautiful autumnal days in this lovely hotel and magnificent local area. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Alnwick Castle  
Cragside  
Amble  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great stay at Linden Park

Stay Date: 22/09/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Macdonald Linden Hall, Golf & Country Club (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Morpeth (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

Arrived monday late afternoon after visiting Alnwick, check in was easy and quick, staff informed us of the need to reserve a table for dinner, which she did for us. The room was excellent, cosy and See More  Read more information warm, just what we wanted. The restaurant and the pub were smart and clean, food was excellent as was the service. Stayed two nights, well worth the visit.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Alnwick  
Coast  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 61 - 70 of 399 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1001956 @ 19/07/2018 12:17:22

Last rendered @ 22/07/2018 08:00:40

Last rendered @ 22/07/2018 08:00:40

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB15

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.