Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - North East England

North East England Holiday Reviews

Angel of the North, Gateshead

Perfect for a short break, our hotels in North-East England range from budget city accommodation to luxury country retreats. Up-and-coming cultural hubs, cities in the North-East are also famous for their unique nightlife and fab shopping – our Newcastle hotels and hotels near Middlesbrough are handy for it all. When you’re off on a longer break, be sure to check out the hotels near Newcastle Airport for the best way to get your holiday off on the right foot.

Whatever you’re looking for from a getaway, our hotels in the North-East have something to offer; relaxing, picturesque and ideal for walks, Northumberland hotels are just as appealing as those in region’s big cities – for entirely different reasons. Escape to the country for one of our relaxed dinner break, unwind at a spa, or enjoy the splendour of an afternoon tea package at one of our hotels in North-East England.

  • One of the country’s top city breaks, don’t miss our Newcastle hotels for the best of the North-East’s great shopping, top sport, infamous nightlife, events and art galleries such as the renowned BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art.
  • Our hotels near Durham are also a superb choice for a short break; be sure to soak up the city’s ambience and appreciate its fabulous historical attractions – the gothic Durham Cathedral and the Norman Durham Castle are both UNESCO World Heritage sites.
  • Perhaps the area’s most scenic spot, the Northumbria coast is a must-see, and our hotels near Berwick couldn’t be better placed for visits to Alnwick Castle, Holy Island at Lindisfarne, and Hadrian’s Wall.


An excellent choice for your next short break destination, check out our range of hotels in the North-East in the list below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 298

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Short Break in Newcastle

Stay Date: 31/01/07, a customer from Glasgow who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre in Gateshead rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Short Break in Alnwick

Stay Date: 27/01/07, a customer from Richmond who stayed at 3* White Swan Hotel, Alnwick in Alnwick rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

R&R at Matfen Hall

Stay Date: 06/01/07, a customer from Hexham who stayed at 4* Matfen Hall Hotel in Matfen (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

Had an enjoyable lunch in the hotels conservatory. Hearty sandwiches,pricey but tasty and very filling. Views and environment very relaxing. Had Dinner in the Print room, formal atmostphere, food See More  Read more information excellent but tables a bit too close together, pricey but worth it for a special occasion. Spa facilities excellent including a fantastic steam room with LED lights in the ceiling, pool luxurious butdid get very busy 10-12, 4-7pm when children were allowed in. Not enough loungers around the pool. We upgraded to a deluxe room from a classic room, cost around an extra £30. Disappointed, the roomwas in the old part of the hotel, the room had character, beamed ceiling but there was damp on the window frames/sills. It was also cool and the heating could not be altered. My sister visited 3 dayslater and stayed in a classic room which sounded much more comfortable, clean & warm so suggest not upgrading as the only difference is the size of the room. Very happy with hotel service and amenitiesapart from the room.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Newcastle Rocks.

Stay Date: 12/01/07, a customer who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

Just spent a weekend in Newcastle. Lovely time, people are so friendly up there. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pitcher & Piano  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Trip Back to Geordieland

Stay Date: 01/01/07, a customer from Bolton who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

En route from Hogmanay with friends in Scotland, my partner and I broke our journey at the Holiday Inn. Drove to Gosforth and had a curry. Checked out and went to visit my mother in my home town of See More  Read more information Whitley Bay. Had a nice visit and then left. Drove back to Lancashire where I have been "exiled" for many years. This has not stopped me being a loyal follower of The Toon (40 years now - it's a lifesentence!)   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Overnight in Darlington

Stay Date: 09/12/06, a customer from Angus who stayed at 3* Blackwell Grange Hotel in Darlington wrote this review.

After a hard four hour drive down the A68, in not very nice conditions, we were delighted to reach Blackwell Grange Hotel. After checking in we were able to go and visit with family and spend a See More  Read more information couple of hours in the centre of town at the Christmas Market....it really helped to get us 'in the mood'. A lovely meal at the local Thai restaurant where the staff were outstanding helped to make ourevening quite memorable.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Darlington Christmas Market  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Darlington Local Thai Restaurant  
 

User Review Ratings: 4 out of 4 users found this review not helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Grey Street Hotel Newcastle

Stay Date: 01/12/06, a customer who stayed at 4* Grey Street Hotel in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

We decided to stay at the Grey Street Hotel due to its central location. Noise from Newcastles revellers wasn't a problem at all, but the noise from the extractor fan of the kitchen unit of the See More  Read more information Hotel was (Room 14). After one early morning call at 06.00hrs we asked for a room change, which was obliged and after that we slept very well. Food is provided by The Living Rooms. We had Breakfast inour room twice, both times, incorrect and cold. We had breakfast in the Living Room once and they forgot the Muffins, hard when thats where the Salmon and Scambled eggs were supposed to lay upon! Wealso ate twice in the Living Rooms, the atmosphere was great, the service good but once again the wrong food delivered! Tuna instead of Lamb! We explored the Sage and Baltic, but were dissapointed bythe Baltic. They must have run out of money finishing the Baltic as all it needs now is some Art inside. Newcastle was great for pubbing and Christmas shopping. We went initially to see Richard Ashcroftand Morrissey and can highly recomend The Metro Radio Arena as a great place for gigs. We had a great time let down by a poor hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Sage  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Living Room  
The Baltic  
Treacle Moon  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A Night To Forget

Stay Date: 04/12/06, a customer from York who stayed at 4* Grey Street Hotel in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

We went to Newcastle to attend a concert and decided that we would treat ourselves and stay overnight at the Greystreethotel. The directions from Superbreaks were useless as they were for people See More  Read more information approaching Newcastle from the North and we were coming from the south. Therefore we spent hours getting lost in the City's one way system before finally giving up, leaving the car in an overnight carpark and getting a taxi to the hotel. The hotel itself was very nice indeed. It was clean, obviously new and very, very comfortable. Before going to the concert we decided to have a wander aroundNewcastle and were fairly appalled to find that the hotel bar (the Living Room) was crowded with extremely drunk young adults at 5.45p.m We decided to move on elsewhere and found that every bar we wentinto was the same. For a Monday night we found this pretty staggering. Finally we went to the concert which was excellent but there was no atmosphere in the venue. We got back to the hotel at midnightand, as usual, found it so stiflingly hot in the room that we had to sleep with the air conditioning roaring all night despite it being a cold December night outside. This seems always to be the casein modern hotels now and I have yet to fathom out why. All in all the hotel was lovely but Newcastle was rough and completly lacking in character. I will not be rushing back there again!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Newcastle Town Centre  
Metro Arena  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Indian Restaurant Opppsite Greystreethotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
Editor Notes:

Editor's comments: Based on this valuable feedback received from our customers we have corrected the directions for this hotel. Thank you!

 

2 Nights in Newcastle

Stay Date: 15/10/06, a customer who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

We went to see Tom Jones at Newcastle Metro Arena and visited the Casino. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Darlington

Stay Date: 23/09/06, a customer who stayed at 3* Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel in Darlington rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Metro Centre  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Walworth Castle Hotel Bar Area  
 
 
 

Showing 271 - 280 of 298 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002075 @ 18/06/2019 12:13:57

Last rendered @ 17/07/2019 01:48:21

Last rendered @ 17/07/2019 01:48:21

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB14

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.