Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - North East England

North East England Holiday Reviews

Angel of the North, Gateshead

Perfect for a short break, our hotels in North-East England range from budget city accommodation to luxury country retreats. Up-and-coming cultural hubs, cities in the North-East are also famous for their unique nightlife and fab shopping – our Newcastle hotels and hotels near Middlesbrough are handy for it all. When you’re off on a longer break, be sure to check out the hotels near Newcastle Airport for the best way to get your holiday off on the right foot.

Whatever you’re looking for from a getaway, our hotels in the North-East have something to offer; relaxing, picturesque and ideal for walks, Northumberland hotels are just as appealing as those in region’s big cities – for entirely different reasons. Escape to the country for one of our relaxed dinner break, unwind at a spa, or enjoy the splendour of an afternoon tea package at one of our hotels in North-East England.

  • One of the country’s top city breaks, don’t miss our Newcastle hotels for the best of the North-East’s great shopping, top sport, infamous nightlife, events and art galleries such as the renowned BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art.
  • Our hotels near Durham are also a superb choice for a short break; be sure to soak up the city’s ambience and appreciate its fabulous historical attractions – the gothic Durham Cathedral and the Norman Durham Castle are both UNESCO World Heritage sites.
  • Perhaps the area’s most scenic spot, the Northumbria coast is a must-see, and our hotels near Berwick couldn’t be better placed for visits to Alnwick Castle, Holy Island at Lindisfarne, and Hadrian’s Wall.


An excellent choice for your next short break destination, check out our range of hotels in the North-East in the list below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 399

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Short break away

Stay Date: 10/02/17, a customer aged 45-64 from Scarborough who stayed at 3* Blackwell Grange Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Darlington wrote this review.

An enjoyable break for the weekend. The hotel was welcoming and the staff very friendly. Dinner on the first night was good in the restaurant and the service on the second night from the bar menu See More  Read more information served in the lounge was also a good option.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Oriental Museum  
Head of steam museum  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Break in Darlington scenic location

Stay Date: 25/03/17, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Blackwell Grange Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Darlington wrote this review.

Room was good and spacious. Meals very good with plenty of choice. Excellent leisure facilities. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Golf and Pubs

Stay Date: 27/03/17, a customer aged 45-64 from Bridlington who stayed at 3* Hall Garth Hotel, Golf & Country Club in Darlington wrote this review.

Overall we had a lovely break, 4 nights. The breakfasts were superb at the hotel and we ate at 2 great pubs both of which were within only a few miles of the hotel and provided great food from menus See More  Read more information which had plenty of choice. The golf course although only 9 holes was in lovely condition. Our only negative comment was that there was numerous items of litter on the course, mainly cans and plasticbottles, although not the fault of the hotel but the untidy guests, could and should have been picked up by the grounds staff working on the course.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beamish Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
George and Dragon  
Buttree In  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Day in Alnwick

Stay Date: 14/04/17, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* White Swan Hotel, Alnwick in Alnwick wrote this review.

Although a lovely place think we picked wrong day - Good Friday. Most places closed. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Seahouses  
Amble  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Darlington Wow

Stay Date: 11/05/17, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* Blackwell Grange Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Darlington wrote this review.

Darlington is a fantastic place to visit - lots to see and wonderful buildings. The bus stop is outside Blackwell Grange hotel, 5 minutes into town and Durham is 15 minutes away by train. Hotel is See More  Read more information very good value but our superior room was above the front door so extremely noisy from the car park and late night revellers. Would return but request quieter room.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Durham  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Beamish Weekend

Stay Date: 05/05/17, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Washington (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Washington wrote this review.

Excellent weekend visiting Beamish Museum. Hotel ideally situated for this attraction, close to A1 as well. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beamish  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Toby  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Excellent

Stay Date: 12/05/17, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* The County Hotel Newcastle (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

Hotel clean, staff friendly and helpful, meals lovely and served by very professional staff. Situated straight across from railway station - perfect location for shopping, pubs and restaurants. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
St James Park  
MetroCentre  
Eldon centre  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
TGI  
Weatherspoon  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend at Darlington

Stay Date: 12/08/17, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Blackwell Grange Hotel in Darlington wrote this review.

We stayed at The Blackwell Grange Hotel, we were made welcome on arrival, our room was spotless. After a good night's sleep we went for breakfast, the staff were friendly and welcoming, there was a See More  Read more information good range of food to pick from and was all good. Would not hesitate to stay there again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Darlington Town  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Alnwick and surrounding area

Stay Date: 15/09/17, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* White Swan Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Alnwick wrote this review.

This was our 1st Super Break. We stayed at the Swan in Alnwick. Lovely comfortable hotel in centre or town. Amazing restaurant with super food using top quality ingredients. We explored the town of See More  Read more information Alnwick which has a lovely lively and friendly bustle. We explored the amazing Northumberland coastline and enjoyed a great value coffee and cake at Seahouses golf club cafe. The best views andwelcoming hosts for just 2 pounds! Bamborough village and Castle are magical but Holy Island is amazing. Cragside house at Rothbury is a must. A really super weekend, Super Break!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Alnwick Town  
Cragside  
Holy Island  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Copper kettle tea room Bamborough  
Carlos fish restaurant Alnwick  
Seahouses golf club  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Gorgeous Northumberland!

Stay Date: 06/10/17, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* White Swan Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Alnwick wrote this review.

Stayed at White Swan Alnwick for our wedding anniversary. Staff were excellent & hotel provided complimentary champagne with our anniversary meal. Hotel is very old and traditional and rooms are See More  Read more information "tired". Problem with bathroom as no heat in the towel rail so towels from evening's shower were still wet and cold next morning. Hotel is aware as towel rails are a Health & Safety issue and cannot beused? Food was very good with excellent choices. The Olympic restaurant which features stained glass and wood panelling from The Olympic, sister ship to The Titanic is worth a visit in itself. Followthe coastal drive from Amble north to experience the most stunning deserted beaches.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
N. T. Cragside  
Northumberland coastal drive  
Craster  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 201 - 210 of 399 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1001952 @ 05/07/2018 10:29:37

Last rendered @ 16/07/2018 05:51:58

Last rendered @ 16/07/2018 05:51:58

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB16

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.