Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - North East England

North East England Holiday Reviews

Angel of the North, Gateshead

Perfect for a short break, our hotels in North-East England range from budget city accommodation to luxury country retreats. Up-and-coming cultural hubs, cities in the North-East are also famous for their unique nightlife and fab shopping – our Newcastle hotels and hotels near Middlesbrough are handy for it all. When you’re off on a longer break, be sure to check out the hotels near Newcastle Airport for the best way to get your holiday off on the right foot.

Whatever you’re looking for from a getaway, our hotels in the North-East have something to offer; relaxing, picturesque and ideal for walks, Northumberland hotels are just as appealing as those in region’s big cities – for entirely different reasons. Escape to the country for one of our relaxed dinner break, unwind at a spa, or enjoy the splendour of an afternoon tea package at one of our hotels in North-East England.

  • One of the country’s top city breaks, don’t miss our Newcastle hotels for the best of the North-East’s great shopping, top sport, infamous nightlife, events and art galleries such as the renowned BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art.
  • Our hotels near Durham are also a superb choice for a short break; be sure to soak up the city’s ambience and appreciate its fabulous historical attractions – the gothic Durham Cathedral and the Norman Durham Castle are both UNESCO World Heritage sites.
  • Perhaps the area’s most scenic spot, the Northumbria coast is a must-see, and our hotels near Berwick couldn’t be better placed for visits to Alnwick Castle, Holy Island at Lindisfarne, and Hadrian’s Wall.


An excellent choice for your next short break destination, check out our range of hotels in the North-East in the list below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 399

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

First visit to Alnwick

Stay Date: 21/12/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* White Swan Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Alnwick wrote this review.

This was our first trip to Alnwick and we really enjoyed it. The Old White Swan hotel was clean and comfortable and our room was a good size with an excellent shower. We had two breakfasts and See More  Read more information dinner there and they were all tasty and the staff were very attentive. Our room was at the front and there was a bit of traffic noise but it didn't stop us sleeping. The hotel was in a great location forvisiting Alnwick Gardens and castle. Also well situated for visiting Bambrugh Castle and Seahouses. We will definitely be returning as there is a lot to explore.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Alnwick Gardens  
Beamish  
Bambrugh Castle  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
White Swan Hotel  
Di sopra  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Holiday Inn

Stay Date: 30/01/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Washington (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Washington wrote this review.

Warm welcome. Good size room with adequate facilities. Staff helpful during stay. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beamish Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Toby Carvery  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Catching up with friends

Stay Date: 08/02/16, a customer aged 45-64 from Morpeth who stayed at 4* Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner in Darlington wrote this review.

Our hotel was very nice right from the reception desk to breakfast and bar staff. The only problem we had was with the quality of the mattress and pillows were not the best, but other than that we See More  Read more information had a lovely break.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Day to Darlington

Stay Date: 17/02/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Blackwell Grange Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Darlington wrote this review.

Great day out in Darlington. Hotel a little dated but food good and staff very good. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Darlington  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Darlington  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Visit to Holiday Inn Washington

Stay Date: 26/02/16, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Washington (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Washington wrote this review.

Overall visit to this hotel was good, spoiled by smell of paint from refurbishing room opposite. Room was okay but please get rid of stippled effect ceiling, was not done well at all. Staff were See More  Read more information helpful and accommodating. Having said that it was good value for money, would go again on similar deal.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great hotel.

Stay Date: 27/02/16, a customer aged 25-44 from Gb who stayed at 3* Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel in Darlington wrote this review.

Stayed here for just one night. The hotel is a really nice and the staff were very friendly. The food in the Farmers Bar was very nice and cheap at £11 for 2 courses. My only issue was the fact that See More  Read more information in the Farmers Bar on the evening it was quite cold due to the building being old and a lack of heating. We found we had to move to the lounge next to the fire to keep warm. The room was nice butagain a little cold in the bathroom. I would visit again but with a jumper and some warm pyjamas or maybe in summer.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Historic Alnwick

Stay Date: 12/04/16, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* White Swan Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Alnwick wrote this review.

Alnwick is a great historic town, the hotel was in the main street and I parked my car in the hotel car park which was very convenient. It's quite a small town so leave your car and walk around the See More  Read more information town which is very interesting. We loved the hotel and staff, dinner on the 1st night was great - food was wonderful. Almost every hotel we stay in has the same problem = bad house keeping, and Ifrequently go back to the same hotels and nothing has been rectified, these problems are very easy to fix e.g at our hotel some of the electrical sockets did not work, bulbs needed changing, on our secondday the waste bin in the bathroom had not been emptied, carpet not hoovered, no shampoo, in public toilet lock on toilet door broken. Small things which are quick to fix. It would be very easy forthe staff to make a list of these things when they clean the room.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
historic churches and museum  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Impressive Castle Visit

Stay Date: 27/04/16, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* White Swan Hotel, Alnwick in Alnwick wrote this review.

We found the White Swan Hotel rather scruffy and in need of refurbishment. The arm chairs in the bistro are stained. The "superior" room we were given had a cobweb at the top of the window with dust See More  Read more information on it, the toilet was difficult to flush and the door to the room did not fit well and seemed insecure. On request the staff did immediately move us to another more acceptable room. The hotel staffwere friendly and efficient and the meals were enjoyable. It was an easy stroll to the castle from the White Swan.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Alnwick Castle  
Barters Book Shop  
Tree House  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Very handy

Stay Date: 09/07/16, a customer aged 45-64 from Perth who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Washington (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Washington wrote this review.

Great location. Staff were pleasant. Food was good. Location ideal for getting around the area. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Kynren  
Durham CCC  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Toby Carvery  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Fab anniversary break

Stay Date: 17/07/16, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* Hotel Indigo Newcastle in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

Lovely hotel, excellent location. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lola jeans  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 181 - 190 of 399 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1001956 @ 19/07/2018 12:07:28

Last rendered @ 19/07/2018 16:36:59

Last rendered @ 19/07/2018 16:36:59

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB12

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.