Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - North East England

North East England Holiday Reviews

Angel of the North, Gateshead

Perfect for a short break, our hotels in North-East England range from budget city accommodation to luxury country retreats. Up-and-coming cultural hubs, cities in the North-East are also famous for their unique nightlife and fab shopping – our Newcastle hotels and hotels near Middlesbrough are handy for it all. When you’re off on a longer break, be sure to check out the hotels near Newcastle Airport for the best way to get your holiday off on the right foot.

Whatever you’re looking for from a getaway, our hotels in the North-East have something to offer; relaxing, picturesque and ideal for walks, Northumberland hotels are just as appealing as those in region’s big cities – for entirely different reasons. Escape to the country for one of our relaxed dinner break, unwind at a spa, or enjoy the splendour of an afternoon tea package at one of our hotels in North-East England.

  • One of the country’s top city breaks, don’t miss our Newcastle hotels for the best of the North-East’s great shopping, top sport, infamous nightlife, events and art galleries such as the renowned BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art.
  • Our hotels near Durham are also a superb choice for a short break; be sure to soak up the city’s ambience and appreciate its fabulous historical attractions – the gothic Durham Cathedral and the Norman Durham Castle are both UNESCO World Heritage sites.
  • Perhaps the area’s most scenic spot, the Northumbria coast is a must-see, and our hotels near Berwick couldn’t be better placed for visits to Alnwick Castle, Holy Island at Lindisfarne, and Hadrian’s Wall.


An excellent choice for your next short break destination, check out our range of hotels in the North-East in the list below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 298

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Well Situated Hotel for Visits.

Stay Date: 29/11/12, a customer aged 65+ from Brough who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Washington (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Washington wrote this review.

Went to a family funeral and added an extra day which enabled us to visit Durham,used the very convenient park and ride facility.The Christmas Festival started our Christmas build up and was See More  Read more information thoroughly enjoyed by us. We have visited this hotel before and know of its proximity to lots of places to visit.We had a meal on our first night which was one of the best we have had in a hotel.Breakfastwas excellent,as usual, which sets you up for the day.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Durham Christmas Festival  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Had to Change Hotel

Stay Date: 12/12/12, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre in Gateshead wrote this review.

Booked Copthorne Newcastle - central heating not working ,low floor bedroom request via stairs and only stairs fire escape , not ideal for elderly mother , changed hotel to holiday inn . Superbreak See More  Read more information call centre excellent help .   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Metro  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Relaxing Break

Stay Date: 01/03/13, a customer aged 45-64 from Middlesbrough who stayed at 3* Blackwell Grange Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Darlington wrote this review.

The hotel was unexpectedly good for the price we paid. We just wanted to relax for a couple of days. The leisure facilities were small but perfectly adequate. The food was good and the staff See More  Read more information friendly and helpful. I would certainly use Superbreak again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 2 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Break at Matfen Hall

Stay Date: 12/05/13, a customer aged 45-64 from Johnstone who stayed at 4* Matfen Hall Hotel in Matfen (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

This was our 4th visit and the hotel was up to the usual high standard. Recommend the Black Bull in Corbridge for your evening meal, good food and good value. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Newcastle Quayside  
Newcastle City Centre  
Baltic Centre for Contemporary Arts  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Black Bull, Corbridge  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Darlington

Stay Date: 13/09/13, a customer aged 45-64 from Middlesbrough who stayed at 3* Blackwell Grange Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Darlington wrote this review.

Arrived on a Friday night and was greeted by a nice lady at reception. She asked what time we would like the included evening meal and gave us the room keys. The room was adequate but not anything See More  Read more information special, it was front facing on the second floor on the right hand wing of the hotel. There was an inclusive leisure facility including an indoor pool which had we known we would have been preparedfor, however that was not the hotels fault. On the Saturday after an excellent breakfast we travelled a short distance to the start of a walk around the river Tees that we had sought out. It was alovely circular 5 mile walk which took in some riverside paths, main roads and small wooded areas. The weather was very nice with rain forecast for the following day. When we had finished the walk wereturned to the Hotel, got changed and went into the Town Ctr for some shopping and leisure time. The town was nicely laid out with plenty of car parking spaces and lots of thriving shops and shoppingcentres. After approx 3hrs we returned to the hotel again, got changed and went out to dinner to the Hardwick Arms in Sedgefield, a deal we had got a voucher for and proved to be a little gem for themeals. The next morning after another hearty breakfast we packed our belongings and left. In all it was a very pleasant weekend in a nice location and a nice hotel. The Hotel is in the height of thewedding season and there were 3 weddings while we were staying, 2 on the Saturday and 1 on the Sunday with lots of guests, some of which were a bit rowdy on the Saturday evening but nothing thatbothered us to much. Would give the break overall 7.5 out of 10.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Town Centre  
Broken Scar Walk  
Hardwick Arms Sedgefield  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hardwick Arms Sedgefield  
 

User Review Ratings: 3 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Holiday Inn Newcastle

Stay Date: 10/12/13, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

Hotel restaurant evening meal was very poor. Dry and overcooked. Breakfast variable with meaty things overcooked and dried up and the rest passable. However, the hotel itself was warm clean and the See More  Read more information staff helpful and pleasant but if I went again it would be room only.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lovely Night at the Novotel

Stay Date: 26/12/13, a customer aged 18-24 who stayed at 3* Novotel Newcastle Airport in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

I arrived at the Novotol at around 8pm and was greeted by a lovely woman at the desk, she didn't seem to mind that I was checking in so late. She was extremely friendly to us and actually made us See More  Read more information feel wanted, nothing was to much trouble for any of the staff. We received our room key and went straight up, at first glance the Novotel is extremely pleasing to look at, everything's clean and it hada lovely vanilla smell. We arrived at our superior queen room which was exactly like the photos I'd seen, it was large and warm. I was surprised at our en suite feature as it was much bigger thanI expected it to be. Unfortunately my stay wasn't long enough to enjoy the hotels facilities but if your looking for a lovely hotel to spend the night in, I highly recommended the Novotel for itsfriendly staff and clean comfortable rooms.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Relaxing using Hotel Facilities

Stay Date: 27/12/13, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Derwent Manor Hotel, BW Premier Collection in Allensford (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

Arrived slightly early so took the oppotunity to use the hotel spa facilities, then checked in to a wonderful large room overlooking the Derwent valley with splendid views. Ordered a meal in the See More  Read more information hotels bar and settled in for a cosy night with a few drinks in front of a log fire.......great relaxing night away to celebrate our anniversary, well recommended.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Relaxing break in a lovely location

Stay Date: 14/03/14, a customer aged 25-44 from Peterlee who stayed at 3* Blackwell Grange Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Darlington wrote this review.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here in the Blackwell Grange. The room was more than adequate for what we needed. The breakfast in the hotel was fabulous, my partner even went as far to say that it was See More  Read more information the best hotel breakfast he had ever had! The meal that we got on the deal we booked was also very good. Only issue I had was that initially we were given the wrong menu and had already made achoice on food before it had been changed. The facilities are great, although it was a little busy for the size of the pool and spa. It was a little dated and needed a little refurb maybe but wasfine for us. There was a wedding party in the hotel at the time which meant it was particularly noisy in the hotel on the second night of our stay. I would go back and book the same deal I hadbooked, overall great location and fab break!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Market Place  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Fab time

Stay Date: 23/03/14, a customer aged 18-24 from Livingston who stayed at 3* Blackwell Grange Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Darlington wrote this review.

Me and my partner visited the hotel and stayed two nights and had breakfast both days which we both enjoyed and there was a good selection. The dinner was phenomenal. The restaurant was fantastic. See More  Read more information The room was good and shower was amazing. I could have lived in the hot tub. Had a great stay and would highly recommend.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beamish Museum  
Durham Cathedral  
meteo centre  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 171 - 180 of 298 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002081 @ 17/07/2019 10:44:09

Last rendered @ 22/07/2019 14:59:06

Last rendered @ 22/07/2019 14:59:06

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB12

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.