Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - North East England

North East England Holiday Reviews

Angel of the North, Gateshead

Perfect for a short break, our hotels in North-East England range from budget city accommodation to luxury country retreats. Up-and-coming cultural hubs, cities in the North-East are also famous for their unique nightlife and fab shopping – our Newcastle hotels and hotels near Middlesbrough are handy for it all. When you’re off on a longer break, be sure to check out the hotels near Newcastle Airport for the best way to get your holiday off on the right foot.

Whatever you’re looking for from a getaway, our hotels in the North-East have something to offer; relaxing, picturesque and ideal for walks, Northumberland hotels are just as appealing as those in region’s big cities – for entirely different reasons. Escape to the country for one of our relaxed dinner break, unwind at a spa, or enjoy the splendour of an afternoon tea package at one of our hotels in North-East England.

  • One of the country’s top city breaks, don’t miss our Newcastle hotels for the best of the North-East’s great shopping, top sport, infamous nightlife, events and art galleries such as the renowned BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art.
  • Our hotels near Durham are also a superb choice for a short break; be sure to soak up the city’s ambience and appreciate its fabulous historical attractions – the gothic Durham Cathedral and the Norman Durham Castle are both UNESCO World Heritage sites.
  • Perhaps the area’s most scenic spot, the Northumbria coast is a must-see, and our hotels near Berwick couldn’t be better placed for visits to Alnwick Castle, Holy Island at Lindisfarne, and Hadrian’s Wall.


An excellent choice for your next short break destination, check out our range of hotels in the North-East in the list below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 399

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Short Break In Newcastle

Stay Date: 27/08/09, a customer from Kendal who stayed at 4* Grey Street Hotel in Newcastle-upon-Tyne rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Living Room  
Portofino  
 
 

Short Break In Newcastle

Stay Date: 23/08/09, a customer from Wolverhampton who stayed at 4* Grey Street Hotel in Newcastle-upon-Tyne rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Newcastle!

Stay Date: 07/08/09, a customer who stayed at 4* Grey Street Hotel in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

This hotel is great. Great location, close walking distance to all attractions, shops, quayside and parking. Hotel has good offer with car park between 4.30 - 09.30, but outside these hours its See More  Read more information £1.00 per hour. Nice cellar bar, although very quiet, but drinks not expensive. Room lovely, nice to have tea and coffee in the room as well.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Great North Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Zizzi  
China Town  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

New Year At Redworth Hall

Stay Date: 01/01/10, a customer from Chester Le Street who stayed at 4* Redworth Hall Hotel in Newton Aycliffe wrote this review.

My family, my parents, myself and my two daughters age 11 and 9 stayed at Redworth Hall as a Christmas/New Year treat. It was also my birthday on New Years day. The hotel is beautiful real old world See More  Read more information with open fires and a lovely christmas feel. We enjoyed the New Year evening meal and had two lovely swims while we were there- very enjoyable break.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Barcelo Redworth Hall Hotel Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Newcastle Area

Stay Date: 18/08/09, a customer who stayed at 4* Matfen Hall Hotel in Matfen (Nr Newcastle) rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Go Ape  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Matfen Hall Hotel  
 
 

Weekend Break

Stay Date: 16/04/10, a customer who stayed at 4* Derwent Manor Hotel, BW Premier Collection (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Allensford (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

Our recent weekend break at Derwent Manor, was excellent. On arrival we were upgraded to a suite, which was very clean and tidy, and decorated nicely. Staff were really helpful and friendly, and we See More  Read more information made great use of the free leisure facilities, which were excellent aswell.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Durham City  
Beamish Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Best Western Hotel Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Good Weekend In Newcastle

Stay Date: 26/07/10, a customer who stayed at 4* Grey Street Hotel in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

Arrived on Friday - visited metro centre and then back to hotel to relax and unwind - had meal at La Tasca. Saturday - ladies day at Newcastle racecourse - good day out - weather fantastic. Back to See More  Read more information town at night - had meal at Marco Polo's restaurant and then back to hotel. Sunday down at quayside - visited baltic centre - had meal at quayside - back to hotel - a bit disappointed that the bardownstairs wasn't open. Left on Monday morning to go home.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Baltic Centre, Metro Centre, Ladies Day At Races  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Newcastle

Stay Date: 01/08/10, a customer from London who stayed at 4* Grey Street Hotel in Newcastle-upon-Tyne rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Alnmouth  
Berwick  
Bambrough  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Zizzi  
Pizza Express  
La Tasca  
 
 

A Good Little Get Away

Stay Date: 05/08/10, a customer from Uk who stayed at 4* Derwent Manor Hotel, BW Premier Collection (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Allensford (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

The hotel room was a suprise as my boyfriend and I were given a suite, very large and spacious room however I would not have paid much more for it... Hairs in the sink and shower, left over confetti See More  Read more information on the carpet so obviously not vacuumed, just little things like that which spoilt such a beautiful room. The staff at the hotel were very polite to us, but it was obvious we were given preferentialtreatment as the other guests were not given very good customer service. Apart from that it was a very plesant stay. On the way to the hotel we went to butterfly world which would be great for afamily day out, free parking too. We then spent 3hrs at buttercups pottery which was great fun, good value too. On the first day we started off in the hotel swimming pool which was small but very nice.During the day we went to High Force waterfall which was very pretty, we then spent the rest of the day at Sunderland beach, not much to do though if you dont like looking for crabs! On our final day wewent to Tynmouth aquarium which was also on the beach which was great fun. Overall a good little holiday.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Tynemouth Aquarium  
Butterfly World  
High Force Water Fall  
Buttercups Pottery  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Midnight Moon Indian, Sunderland  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Durham Area

Stay Date: 19/08/10, a customer who stayed at 4* Redworth Hall Hotel in Newton Aycliffe rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Alnwick Gardens  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Seahouses  
 
 
 

Showing 111 - 120 of 399 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1001932 @ 22/06/2018 08:41:42

Last rendered @ 23/06/2018 03:31:36

Last rendered @ 23/06/2018 03:31:36

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB12

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.