Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - North East England

North East England Holiday Reviews

Angel of the North, Gateshead

Perfect for a short break, our hotels in North-East England range from budget city accommodation to luxury country retreats. Up-and-coming cultural hubs, cities in the North-East are also famous for their unique nightlife and fab shopping – our Newcastle hotels and hotels near Middlesbrough are handy for it all. When you’re off on a longer break, be sure to check out the hotels near Newcastle Airport for the best way to get your holiday off on the right foot.

Whatever you’re looking for from a getaway, our hotels in the North-East have something to offer; relaxing, picturesque and ideal for walks, Northumberland hotels are just as appealing as those in region’s big cities – for entirely different reasons. Escape to the country for one of our relaxed dinner break, unwind at a spa, or enjoy the splendour of an afternoon tea package at one of our hotels in North-East England.

  • One of the country’s top city breaks, don’t miss our Newcastle hotels for the best of the North-East’s great shopping, top sport, infamous nightlife, events and art galleries such as the renowned BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art.
  • Our hotels near Durham are also a superb choice for a short break; be sure to soak up the city’s ambience and appreciate its fabulous historical attractions – the gothic Durham Cathedral and the Norman Durham Castle are both UNESCO World Heritage sites.
  • Perhaps the area’s most scenic spot, the Northumbria coast is a must-see, and our hotels near Berwick couldn’t be better placed for visits to Alnwick Castle, Holy Island at Lindisfarne, and Hadrian’s Wall.


An excellent choice for your next short break destination, check out our range of hotels in the North-East in the list below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 394

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Redworth Hall Hotel - nice but pricey!

Stay Date: 19/09/08, a customer who stayed at 4* Redworth Hall Hotel in Newton Aycliffe wrote this review.

The hotel layout, grounds, and staff are all good for a great stay away, and we really enjoyed it. However, the prices for meals eg dinner or bar snacks were about twice what we would have expected, See More  Read more information so we did not use those facilities at all, and did not stay in the hotel as much as we might have if more reasonable prices. This was our only complaint.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Durham  
Richmond  
Hartlepool Marina  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Bay Horse, Heighenton Village  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Our Short Break in Redworth

Stay Date: 24/10/08, a customer from Birmingham who stayed at 4* Redworth Hall Hotel in Newton Aycliffe wrote this review.

Visited Redworth to visit family in Houghton LeSpring. Lovely hotel and excellent facilities for wheelchair users (I am one). Had a lovely wet room and good sized bedroom. Excellent breakfast. See More  Read more information Although buffet-style, all food freshly cooked to perfection.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bowes Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Mill, Houghton leSpring  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Darlington

Stay Date: 10/02/09, a customer who stayed at 3* Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel in Darlington rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Walworth Castle Hotel Restaurant  
 
 

Short Break in Alnwick

Stay Date: 31/03/09, a customer from Mansfield who stayed at 3* White Swan Hotel, Alnwick in Alnwick rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Holy Island  
Cragside  
 
 

Newcastle

Stay Date: 05/04/09, a customer from Pickering who stayed at 4* Grey Street Hotel in Newcastle-upon-Tyne rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Sage Gateshead  
 
 

Relaxing Break

Stay Date: 10/04/09, a customer from Leicester who stayed at 3* Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel in Darlington wrote this review.

We had a great view right at the front of the Castle. There was a wedding on the Sat night which did not interfere with our stay (noise etc). So excellent. Lovely food. Lovely countryside. Visited See More  Read more information the local (1 mile up the road) very friendly. Altogether a great weekend. My companion was an 87yr old lady who could not have been helped by everyone more! She loved it.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Walworth Castle Hotel Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Redworth

Stay Date: 11/04/09, a customer who stayed at 4* Redworth Hall Hotel in Newton Aycliffe wrote this review.

Family Wedding. Excellent Venue and excellent food. Well organised by very professional staff See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Fountains Abbey  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Alnwick

Stay Date: 21/04/09, a customer from Edinburgh who stayed at 3* White Swan Hotel, Alnwick in Alnwick rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

White Swan Alnwick - Weekend

Stay Date: 19/06/09, a customer who stayed at 3* White Swan Hotel, Alnwick in Alnwick wrote this review.

The hotel is in an excellent position, being only a few minutes walk from Alnwick Castle and Gardens, which was the main attraction that we wanted to visit. The only problem was that our hotel room, See More  Read more information although of an excellent standard with a really comfortable bed, was on the ground floor at the front of the hotel and some of the late night revellers were quite rowdy. But I couldnt fault thestaff, service or any aspect of the breakfast, which was plentiful and was also topped up constantly. We also went on the open top bus, which was quite cheap at £5 (free if your a concession) manned byvery friendly and informative staff. All in all we had a fabulous weekend, Alnwick is a lovely town, the castle is good and the gardens are breathtaking.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Alnwick Castle  
Alnwick Gardens  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Louis Steak House & Bistro  
Caffe Tirreno  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Review Beamish

Stay Date: 23/07/09, a customer from Lancashire who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Darlington North A1M (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Darlington wrote this review.

Handy to Aston hotel which is very good for the price. King size bed, kettle, tea and coffee in room, brilliant shower. Breakfast is exceptional, full english buffet style Beamish is a full day out See More  Read more information very interesting. Durham Cathedral is well worth a visit as is the university city.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Aysgarth Falls  
Durham Cathedral  
Beamish  
Hawes  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Aston Hotel Restaurant  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 111 - 120 of 394 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open Open 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1001995 @ 15/11/2018 15:25:46

Last rendered @ 20/11/2018 20:37:33

Last rendered @ 20/11/2018 20:37:33

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB15

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.