Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - North East England

North East England Holiday Reviews

Angel of the North, Gateshead

Perfect for a short break, our hotels in North-East England range from budget city accommodation to luxury country retreats. Up-and-coming cultural hubs, cities in the North-East are also famous for their unique nightlife and fab shopping – our Newcastle hotels and hotels near Middlesbrough are handy for it all. When you’re off on a longer break, be sure to check out the hotels near Newcastle Airport for the best way to get your holiday off on the right foot.

Whatever you’re looking for from a getaway, our hotels in the North-East have something to offer; relaxing, picturesque and ideal for walks, Northumberland hotels are just as appealing as those in region’s big cities – for entirely different reasons. Escape to the country for one of our relaxed dinner break, unwind at a spa, or enjoy the splendour of an afternoon tea package at one of our hotels in North-East England.

  • One of the country’s top city breaks, don’t miss our Newcastle hotels for the best of the North-East’s great shopping, top sport, infamous nightlife, events and art galleries such as the renowned BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art.
  • Our hotels near Durham are also a superb choice for a short break; be sure to soak up the city’s ambience and appreciate its fabulous historical attractions – the gothic Durham Cathedral and the Norman Durham Castle are both UNESCO World Heritage sites.
  • Perhaps the area’s most scenic spot, the Northumbria coast is a must-see, and our hotels near Berwick couldn’t be better placed for visits to Alnwick Castle, Holy Island at Lindisfarne, and Hadrian’s Wall.


An excellent choice for your next short break destination, check out our range of hotels in the North-East in the list below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 298

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Great break in Newcastle

Stay Date: 06/01/17, a customer aged 45-64 from Cumbria who stayed at 4* Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays Hotel - Friday Night Out in Gateshead wrote this review.

Fantastic break from start to finish. Staff were great. Room was clean, tidy and warm. Location was good right next to the river lovely views. Breakfast was fab. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Tiger Tiger  
Zizzis  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Zizzis  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Newcastle

Stay Date: 20/01/17, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays Hotel - Friday Night Out in Gateshead wrote this review.

Excellent stay for my daughters 21st, the staff very helpful, room was excellent comfy bed and clean. You could walk into Newcastle, but taxis was a reasonable price. Excellent stay. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
City Centre  
Tiger Tiger  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Zizzi  
Queens Cafe  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Newcastle Big Night Out

Stay Date: 10/02/17, a customer aged 25-44 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Jurys Inn Newcastle - Friday Night Out in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

Excellent evening for how much we paid. Hotel was like a five minute walk from the train station. Bars and clubs nearby but a lot didn't show up online when we tried to google lots of places. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Zizzis Newcastle  
Bijoux Newcastle  
Tiger Tiger Newcastle  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Zizzis Newcastle  
Blonde Barrell Newcastle  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 2 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Alnwick and surrounding area

Stay Date: 15/09/17, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* White Swan Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Alnwick wrote this review.

This was our 1st Super Break. We stayed at the Swan in Alnwick. Lovely comfortable hotel in centre or town. Amazing restaurant with super food using top quality ingredients. We explored the town of See More  Read more information Alnwick which has a lovely lively and friendly bustle. We explored the amazing Northumberland coastline and enjoyed a great value coffee and cake at Seahouses golf club cafe. The best views andwelcoming hosts for just 2 pounds! Bamborough village and Castle are magical but Holy Island is amazing. Cragside house at Rothbury is a must. A really super weekend, Super Break!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Alnwick Town  
Cragside  
Holy Island  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Copper kettle tea room Bamborough  
Carlos fish restaurant Alnwick  
Seahouses golf club  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Gorgeous Northumberland!

Stay Date: 06/10/17, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* White Swan Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Alnwick wrote this review.

Stayed at White Swan Alnwick for our wedding anniversary. Staff were excellent & hotel provided complimentary champagne with our anniversary meal. Hotel is very old and traditional and rooms are See More  Read more information "tired". Problem with bathroom as no heat in the towel rail so towels from evening's shower were still wet and cold next morning. Hotel is aware as towel rails are a Health & Safety issue and cannot beused? Food was very good with excellent choices. The Olympic restaurant which features stained glass and wood panelling from The Olympic, sister ship to The Titanic is worth a visit in itself. Followthe coastal drive from Amble north to experience the most stunning deserted beaches.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
N. T. Cragside  
Northumberland coastal drive  
Craster  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lovely stay in Alnwick

Stay Date: 13/10/17, a customer aged 45-64 from Preston who stayed at 3* White Swan Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Alnwick wrote this review.

Package very good overall only problem train journey seats from York to Alnwick reserved all over the train carriage, they were ok from Alnwick to York. Hotel rooms not adjacent which considering See More  Read more information booked together was unexpected.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lilburns Alnwick  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend in Alnwick

Stay Date: 11/11/17, a customer aged 45-64 from Doncaster who stayed at 3* White Swan Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Alnwick wrote this review.

Excellent hotel, staff were very pleasant. Food was first class. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Alnwick  
Holy Island  
Banbury Castle  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great stay

Stay Date: 21/11/17, a customer aged 45-64 from North Yorkshire who stayed at 3* Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel in Durham wrote this review.

We only stayed one night but can highly recommend the hotel. Food was gorgeous and the staff very helpful and friendly. Our hotel room had amazing views over the deer park too. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Durham  
Dalton Park  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Patisserie Valerie  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Unfoggy Tyneside

Stay Date: 04/06/19, a customer aged 45-64 from Lincoln who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

Rail & Hotel short break to Newcastle; stayed at Holiday Inn Express - ideal 'hub' 5 mins from Central Station. Spotlessly clean, friendly and efficient with amazing breakfast buffet; ate in city See More  Read more information both nights at an Italian restaurant and cocktail bar, superb on both occasions. The Metro was a delight to use, and took me wherever I wanted - as it was an exploring visit, I couldn't have asked forbetter. I can feel a return visit coming on before the year is out...   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Tynemouth Priory  
Tyne & Wear Metro!  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
CENTRAL  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great hotel

Stay Date: 15/06/19, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* Waren House Hotel in Belford wrote this review.

The location of Warren House Hotel was beautiful. The garden is full of roses and has a superb view of the surrounding countryside. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food was excellent. We See More  Read more information will be going back there.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bamburgh  
Craster  
Etal  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 1 - 10 of 298 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002081 @ 17/07/2019 10:44:06

Last rendered @ 22/07/2019 17:42:58

Last rendered @ 22/07/2019 17:42:58

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB11

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.