Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - North East England

North East England Holiday Reviews

Angel of the North, Gateshead

Perfect for a short break, our hotels in North-East England range from budget city accommodation to luxury country retreats. Up-and-coming cultural hubs, cities in the North-East are also famous for their unique nightlife and fab shopping – our Newcastle hotels and hotels near Middlesbrough are handy for it all. When you’re off on a longer break, be sure to check out the hotels near Newcastle Airport for the best way to get your holiday off on the right foot.

Whatever you’re looking for from a getaway, our hotels in the North-East have something to offer; relaxing, picturesque and ideal for walks, Northumberland hotels are just as appealing as those in region’s big cities – for entirely different reasons. Escape to the country for one of our relaxed dinner break, unwind at a spa, or enjoy the splendour of an afternoon tea package at one of our hotels in North-East England.

  • One of the country’s top city breaks, don’t miss our Newcastle hotels for the best of the North-East’s great shopping, top sport, infamous nightlife, events and art galleries such as the renowned BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art.
  • Our hotels near Durham are also a superb choice for a short break; be sure to soak up the city’s ambience and appreciate its fabulous historical attractions – the gothic Durham Cathedral and the Norman Durham Castle are both UNESCO World Heritage sites.
  • Perhaps the area’s most scenic spot, the Northumbria coast is a must-see, and our hotels near Berwick couldn’t be better placed for visits to Alnwick Castle, Holy Island at Lindisfarne, and Hadrian’s Wall.


An excellent choice for your next short break destination, check out our range of hotels in the North-East in the list below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 298

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Great hotel

Stay Date: 15/06/19, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* Waren House Hotel in Belford wrote this review.

The location of Warren House Hotel was beautiful. The garden is full of roses and has a superb view of the surrounding countryside. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food was excellent. We See More  Read more information will be going back there.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bamburgh  
Craster  
Etal  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Unfoggy Tyneside

Stay Date: 04/06/19, a customer aged 45-64 from Lincoln who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

Rail & Hotel short break to Newcastle; stayed at Holiday Inn Express - ideal 'hub' 5 mins from Central Station. Spotlessly clean, friendly and efficient with amazing breakfast buffet; ate in city See More  Read more information both nights at an Italian restaurant and cocktail bar, superb on both occasions. The Metro was a delight to use, and took me wherever I wanted - as it was an exploring visit, I couldn't have asked forbetter. I can feel a return visit coming on before the year is out...   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Tynemouth Priory  
Tyne & Wear Metro!  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
CENTRAL  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Few Days in Newcastle

Stay Date: 16/05/19, a customer aged 45-64 from Al who stayed at 4* Grey Street Hotel in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

Hotel room was a little noisy with traffic because the room overlooked the main busy road through Newcastle. Hotel was in a excellent location with eateries, theatre, cinema, comedy club, drinking See More  Read more information places all with in a few minutes walk. Metro is easy to get to the Monument is at the top of the road. Enjoyed our stay.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Baltic  
South Shields  
Tynemouth  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Zizzi  
Blakes  
Marco Polo  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great break at Grey St Hotel Newcastle

Stay Date: 29/04/19, a customer aged 65+ from Nottingham who stayed at 4* Grey Street Hotel in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

Hotel is excellent, great position, close to station shops, bars restaurants and riverfront. Some rooms can be noisy at night but that cannot be helped and no fault of the hotel! (and they did give See More  Read more information you earplugs if you needed them). But no problem in our room - spotlessly clean, free safe, tea and coffee making facilities renewed each day and extra if you need it at reception, ironing board andiron, proper hair dryer, large flat screen TV, lovely toiletries and towels, staff excellent so pleasant, helpful & friendly. If there was a bar & restaurant would be a much higher rating! But they arein the process of being refurbished and I would give it a 4 now! We did lots of shopping, eating, drinking and walking round this lovely place, very interesting! Also caught a bus and had a greattime at Beamish Museum, all thanks to suggestion from lovely people on reception, all in all a great few days break. Would definitely return and recommend. Thank you from 4 happy ladies.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beamish Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Keel row  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Little gem

Stay Date: 06/04/19, a customer aged 45-64 from Fife who stayed at 3* Blackwell Grange Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Darlington wrote this review.

Hotel/food/staff/facilities/area/friendliness/town centre - would recommend to anyone. And especially the local people, met some good friends and they showed us around, overall just a great short See More  Read more information break.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Entertainment  
Parks  
Football  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hole In The Wall  
penny weight  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Few days in Newcastle

Stay Date: 26/04/18, a customer aged 45-64 from Gb who stayed at 4* Grey Street Hotel in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

Hotel was Grey Street Hotel enjoyed our stay it was very good, view from our window looked out onto the Main Street. There are plenty of eating places up and down the street. Using the metro is See More  Read more information excellent and easy to use and getting about. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay - would go again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Newcastle City Centre  
The Coast  
Metro circular  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Carluccios  
Marco Polo in newcastle  
Restaurant in Fenwicks  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Beamish Hall

Stay Date: 06/04/18, a customer aged 25-44 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Beamish Hall Hotel (Afternoon Tea Offer) in Durham (Nr) wrote this review.

Had a fantastic time, beautiful place, will definitely be back to stay. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beamish hall  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beamish hall  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Good location for city break

Stay Date: 30/03/18, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays Hotel in Gateshead wrote this review.

Hotel was very comfortable and the staff very friendly and helpful. Excellent location for many of the city’s attractions, restaurants and nightlife. Would recommend and would use again. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Castle  
Baltic  
Shopping  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
TGI Friday  
Comedy Club  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Excellent short break

Stay Date: 22/03/18, a customer aged 45-64 from Huddersfield who stayed at 3* Blackwell Grange Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Darlington wrote this review.

We booked a two night break, offered with breakfast and one dinner included. This was to celebrate our 44th wedding anniversary. The breakfast was buffet style with lots of choice and very good See More  Read more information quality. Dinner was also very good quality and the service was excellent. We also ate in the restaurant on our second night and once again were not disappointed. We had a surprise on our return tothe hotel, on our anniversary as the staff had left us a card and a plate full of cakes. During our short stay we spent a day at Beamish outdoor museum, approximately 45 minutes drive away. I wouldrecommend this highly. It is the best museum I've ever been to. Overall our short break was excellent and very good value.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beamish Museum  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Strictly Come Dancing in Newcastle

Stay Date: 24/01/18, a customer aged 25-44 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Grey Street Hotel in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

The Grey Street Hotel was a beautiful hotel. Bed are so comfortable and rooms have everything you need. Staff very all very helpful and friendly, would definitely come back. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Metro Radio Arena  
The gate shopping centre  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 1 - 10 of 298 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002081 @ 17/07/2019 11:23:27

Last rendered @ 23/07/2019 10:17:47

Last rendered @ 23/07/2019 10:17:47

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB16

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.