Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Newport Area

Newport Area Holiday Reviews

Stowe Hill, Newport

Simply ideal for a charming short break in pretty South Wales, our hotels in Newport are great for experiencing the fine dining, unique culture, excellent shopping and fascinating history of this exciting Welsh city. Easily reached via the M4, or on national rail services on the South Wales Main Line, our Newport hotels range from budget accommodation to luxury retreats and are a great choice for a getaway.

Historic though the city is, Newport is also famous for its modern art, the Newport Museum and for the highly distinctive Transporter Bridge. Relax and unwind, or simply reconnect with the great outdoors; our hotels in Newport are superbly located for visits to Belle Vue Park, the pretty gardens at Tredegar House, and just a short drive from the gorgeous Brecon Beacons National Park.

  • The Grade-II listed Newport Castle sits by the River Usk, and was the subject of a famous painting by JWM Turner – the historic city’s other famous features include Newport Cathedral and the Roman city walls.
  • Host of the Ryder Cup in 2010, Celtic Manor Golf Course lies nearby and is a must-visit for all fans of the game – a prestigious, five star resort, the course is home of the annual Wales Open tournament.
  • A cultural hub, Newport is the birthplace of poet WH Davies, a commemorative statue entitled Stand and Stare is a distinctive feature on Commercial Street, whilst in the summer months the Newport Festival is held at venues around the city.


A wonderful destination for your next short break, take a look through our hotels in Newport in the list below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 25

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Celtic Manor

Stay Date: 25/07/16, a customer aged 45-64 from Bargoed who stayed at 5* The Celtic Manor Resort in Newport wrote this review.

This hotel is exceptional. Upgraded for a small charge to signature rooms on signature floor with own reception on our floor, big rooms with balcony and turn-down service, bottle wine and chocs in See More  Read more information room. Ate in steak for six and rafters both fab experience. We used pool area and had a spa all arranged on our floor for us. Would like to go back again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Introduction to South Wales

Stay Date: 17/06/16, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Coldra Court Hotel by Celtic Manor in Newport wrote this review.

The Coldra Court Hotel was recently a Hilton Hotel, now part of the Celtic Manor Hotel. The facilities were very good. The rooms and bathrooms were comfortable and adequate but perhaps need some See More  Read more information updating over time. The Seasons Restaurant was very good with a varied choice on the menu. All the staff in the hotel were very helpful and friendly. There was a courtesy minibus up to the Celtic ManorHotel. We would definitely recommend the Coldra Court Hotel as it was very good value for a weekend break.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Brecon Beacons  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Seasons  
White Horse Bwilth Wells  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Spa facilities

Stay Date: 29/05/16, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 5* The Celtic Manor Resort in Newport wrote this review.

Excellent facilities and cleanliness. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Grill  
Cens  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Wedding Guest at Celtic Manor

Stay Date: 20/06/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 5* The Celtic Manor Resort in Newport wrote this review.

We stayed overnight whilst attending a wedding reception held at the Celtic Manor. The wedding venue was pure magic which was then surpassed when our room was upgraded to one with a balcony with a See More  Read more information beautiful view from the 8th floor. This was a really spacious room with a marble bathroom. I also used the leisure facilities which were excellent and plan to return for a spa day and have afternoontea in the Old Manor House!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great night at Manor Park

Stay Date: 07/04/15, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 5* The Celtic Manor Resort in Newport wrote this review.

Really enjoyed this relaxing but high class hotel. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bars  
Restaurants  
Golf Course  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Grill  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

10th Wedding Anniversary weekend

Stay Date: 18/10/14, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 5* The Celtic Manor Resort in Newport wrote this review.

Just arrived home from a nights stay with hubby for our 10th wedding anniversary the amenities fantastic, room fantastic, service fantastic and a fabulous evening meal at The Lodge restaurant. To See More  Read more information top this amazing weekend we had a couples massage in the The Forum Spa which was outstanding. I would definitely recommend this resort.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lodge  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Two days at Celtic Manor

Stay Date: 20/08/14, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 5* The Celtic Manor Resort in Newport wrote this review.

Lovely Hotel, friendly staff. When we arrived at our room all looked ok unfortunately when we went into the bathroom the sink had dirty water in it which would not go away - not what we expected of See More  Read more information 5 star hotel, we rang reception and it was sorted. Also when we retired to bed we couldn't get the lamps to work, my husband had to pull the bed out and we found they weren't plugged in, we would haveexpected this to be done. Maybe they were rushing to get room ready, but for 5 star hotel this should have been checked! Didn't spoil our break but sloppy.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cardiff City  
Cardiff Bay  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Olive Tree  
Caesar Arms  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Celtic Manor Resort

Stay Date: 04/07/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Carmarthen who stayed at 5* The Celtic Manor Resort in Newport wrote this review.

We stayed in the Celtic Manor Resort on July 5th, we booked 2 rooms, our room was horrendous there was a pillar in the middle of the room, the room was so small we had to walk around it to get See More  Read more information anywhere, was really disappointed - have stayed there before but never in such a terrible room. I did put in a complaint still waiting for a reply, will not be returning.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Romantic Break

Stay Date: 09/05/11, a customer who stayed at 5* The Celtic Manor Resort in Newport wrote this review.

We stayed a long weekend for my husbands birthday, he played golf and he was extremely impressed with the course. The hotel staff put some chocs in our room when they found out it was his birthday. See More  Read more information Could not find any fault with the staff and hotel and the conceirge are available 24 hours a day. Definitely going back.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Montgomery Golf Course  
Spice Island Indian Restaurant  
Adventure Golf  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Lodge  
Merlins Bar  
Spice Island Indian  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Manor House Hotel

Stay Date: 29/08/09, a customer from Swansea who stayed at 4* Manor House Hotel in Newport wrote this review.

Away for night for anniversary. Told on check-in that no tables available in restaurants for evening. Had to have food at bar in main part of hotel. We were woken in middle of night by bill being See More  Read more information pushed under bedroom door. Considering standard of this hotel, was disappointed.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Merlins  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
Editor Notes:

Editor’s Comments: Superbreak does advise when all bookings are made that dinner reservations must be pre-booked before arrival to avoid disappointment.

 

Short Break in Newport

Stay Date: 13/04/09, a customer from Bexleyheath who stayed at 5* The Celtic Manor Resort in Newport wrote this review.

Very Good Hotel See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cardiff  
Millennium Stadium  
Cardiff Bay  
BarryIsland  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Newport

Stay Date: 04/04/09, a customer from Wedmore who stayed at 5* The Celtic Manor Resort in Newport wrote this review.

The hotel was everything we wanted from our weekend break. The room was lovely, with good facilities. The hotel staff were excellent and the facilities were all good. We spent all weekend relaxing See More  Read more information in bars, the spa, on the roof gardens, eating lovely food as well as palying tennis and walking in the grounds grounds.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Greyhound,near Usk  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

One Night Stay At Celtic Manor Resort

Stay Date: 06/03/09, a customer from Bargoed who stayed at 5* The Celtic Manor Resort in Newport wrote this review.

Absolutely beautiful hotel with very friendly staff and fantastic facilties including the pool and gymnasium. The room was spotless and food was wonderful. Set in glorious surroundings an excellent See More  Read more information hotel for a special treat. However, drinks are very expensive, £7.75 for a glass of wine!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Lodge Brasserie  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Newport

Stay Date: 06/03/09, a customer who stayed at 5* The Celtic Manor Resort in Newport rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Celtic Manor Room Service  
 
 

Newport Visit

Stay Date: 26/09/08, a customer from St. Asaph who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Newport in Newport wrote this review.

In the area for family wedding and get together. Nearby Caerleon very interesting and we were fortunate to have lovely weather. We had family function on Friday evening so did not eat in restaurants See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Caerleon Roman Baths  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Newport

Stay Date: 21/08/08, a customer from Pinner who stayed at 5* The Celtic Manor Resort in Newport rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
National Showcaves  
 
 

Short Break in Newport

Stay Date: 14/06/08, a customer from Lancashire who stayed at 5* The Celtic Manor Resort in Newport rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

A Great Result !!

Stay Date: 15/03/08, a customer from Rochdale who stayed at 5* The Celtic Manor Resort in Newport wrote this review.

Went to see the wales v france game - excellent-fantastic weekend See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
6 Nations Rugby Match  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

The Hotel

Stay Date: 19/10/07, a customer who stayed at 5* The Celtic Manor Resort in Newport wrote this review.

The Celtic Manor Hotel is vast! Vast reception and bar areas, the ceiling height right up to the 10th floor. Nice rooms. We went to a concert in Cardiff and shared a taxi into town with another See More  Read more information couple, total cost £30 if booked with the hotel. Advisable as town taxis charge much more. Book with concierge.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cardiff Millennium Stadium  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

The Celtic Manor Resort

Stay Date: 29/09/07, a customer who stayed at 5* The Celtic Manor Resort in Newport rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Amazing Spa Break

Stay Date: 03/08/07, a customer who stayed at 5* The Celtic Manor Resort in Newport wrote this review.

From the moment you enter the hotel you feel realxed. The hotel SPA is a must! The hotel is complete luxury from the SPA to the bedrooms to the variety of restaurants. I have already booked my next See More  Read more information trip.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Celtic Manor Resort Spa  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Celtic Manor Resort Patio Bar  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Newport

Stay Date: 07/04/07, a customer from Abingdon who stayed at 5* The Celtic Manor Resort in Newport rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cardiff Bay  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Club House Retstaurant  
 
 

Visit to Newport, Gwent

Stay Date: 07/12/06, a customer who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Newport in Newport wrote this review.

I went to Newport on business. Our meeting was held at the Velodrome, which is not widely known in Newport. We were entertained at Newport Rugby Club and saw an international match whilst there. See More  Read more information Newport Rugby Club has excellent catering facilities. You may have to wait for taxi's   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Velodrome  
Newport Rugby Club  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Newport Rugby Club  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Newport

Stay Date: 01/07/06, a customer from Ellesmere Port who stayed at 5* The Celtic Manor Resort in Newport wrote this review.

attended a wedding visited relatives See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Newport

Stay Date: 28/06/06, a customer who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Newport in Newport wrote this review.

Business trip to Newport. Very pleased with your rate for the hotel in comparison to their advertised one See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Junction 28  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 1 - 25 of 25 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002081 @ 17/07/2019 11:23:27

Last rendered @ 23/07/2019 09:55:58

Last rendered @ 23/07/2019 09:55:58

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB15

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.