Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Newport Area

Newport Area Holiday Reviews

Stowe Hill, Newport

Simply ideal for a charming short break in pretty South Wales, our hotels in Newport are great for experiencing the fine dining, unique culture, excellent shopping and fascinating history of this exciting Welsh city. Easily reached via the M4, or on national rail services on the South Wales Main Line, our Newport hotels range from budget accommodation to luxury retreats and are a great choice for a getaway.

Historic though the city is, Newport is also famous for its modern art, the Newport Museum and for the highly distinctive Transporter Bridge. Relax and unwind, or simply reconnect with the great outdoors; our hotels in Newport are superbly located for visits to Belle Vue Park, the pretty gardens at Tredegar House, and just a short drive from the gorgeous Brecon Beacons National Park.

  • The Grade-II listed Newport Castle sits by the River Usk, and was the subject of a famous painting by JWM Turner – the historic city’s other famous features include Newport Cathedral and the Roman city walls.
  • Host of the Ryder Cup in 2010, Celtic Manor Golf Course lies nearby and is a must-visit for all fans of the game – a prestigious, five star resort, the course is home of the annual Wales Open tournament.
  • A cultural hub, Newport is the birthplace of poet WH Davies, a commemorative statue entitled Stand and Stare is a distinctive feature on Commercial Street, whilst in the summer months the Newport Festival is held at venues around the city.


A wonderful destination for your next short break, take a look through our hotels in Newport in the list below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 25

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Short Break in Newport

Stay Date: 04/04/09, a customer from Wedmore who stayed at 5* The Celtic Manor Resort in Newport wrote this review.

The hotel was everything we wanted from our weekend break. The room was lovely, with good facilities. The hotel staff were excellent and the facilities were all good. We spent all weekend relaxing See More  Read more information in bars, the spa, on the roof gardens, eating lovely food as well as palying tennis and walking in the grounds grounds.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Greyhound,near Usk  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Newport

Stay Date: 13/04/09, a customer from Bexleyheath who stayed at 5* The Celtic Manor Resort in Newport wrote this review.

Very Good Hotel See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cardiff  
Millennium Stadium  
Cardiff Bay  
BarryIsland  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Romantic Break

Stay Date: 09/05/11, a customer who stayed at 5* The Celtic Manor Resort in Newport wrote this review.

We stayed a long weekend for my husbands birthday, he played golf and he was extremely impressed with the course. The hotel staff put some chocs in our room when they found out it was his birthday. See More  Read more information Could not find any fault with the staff and hotel and the conceirge are available 24 hours a day. Definitely going back.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Montgomery Golf Course  
Spice Island Indian Restaurant  
Adventure Golf  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Lodge  
Merlins Bar  
Spice Island Indian  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Celtic Manor Resort

Stay Date: 04/07/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Carmarthen who stayed at 5* The Celtic Manor Resort in Newport wrote this review.

We stayed in the Celtic Manor Resort on July 5th, we booked 2 rooms, our room was horrendous there was a pillar in the middle of the room, the room was so small we had to walk around it to get See More  Read more information anywhere, was really disappointed - have stayed there before but never in such a terrible room. I did put in a complaint still waiting for a reply, will not be returning.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Two days at Celtic Manor

Stay Date: 20/08/14, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 5* The Celtic Manor Resort in Newport wrote this review.

Lovely Hotel, friendly staff. When we arrived at our room all looked ok unfortunately when we went into the bathroom the sink had dirty water in it which would not go away - not what we expected of See More  Read more information 5 star hotel, we rang reception and it was sorted. Also when we retired to bed we couldn't get the lamps to work, my husband had to pull the bed out and we found they weren't plugged in, we would haveexpected this to be done. Maybe they were rushing to get room ready, but for 5 star hotel this should have been checked! Didn't spoil our break but sloppy.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cardiff City  
Cardiff Bay  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Olive Tree  
Caesar Arms  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

10th Wedding Anniversary weekend

Stay Date: 18/10/14, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 5* The Celtic Manor Resort in Newport wrote this review.

Just arrived home from a nights stay with hubby for our 10th wedding anniversary the amenities fantastic, room fantastic, service fantastic and a fabulous evening meal at The Lodge restaurant. To See More  Read more information top this amazing weekend we had a couples massage in the The Forum Spa which was outstanding. I would definitely recommend this resort.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lodge  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great night at Manor Park

Stay Date: 07/04/15, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 5* The Celtic Manor Resort in Newport wrote this review.

Really enjoyed this relaxing but high class hotel. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bars  
Restaurants  
Golf Course  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Grill  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Wedding Guest at Celtic Manor

Stay Date: 20/06/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 5* The Celtic Manor Resort in Newport wrote this review.

We stayed overnight whilst attending a wedding reception held at the Celtic Manor. The wedding venue was pure magic which was then surpassed when our room was upgraded to one with a balcony with a See More  Read more information beautiful view from the 8th floor. This was a really spacious room with a marble bathroom. I also used the leisure facilities which were excellent and plan to return for a spa day and have afternoontea in the Old Manor House!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Spa facilities

Stay Date: 29/05/16, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 5* The Celtic Manor Resort in Newport wrote this review.

Excellent facilities and cleanliness. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Grill  
Cens  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Celtic Manor

Stay Date: 25/07/16, a customer aged 45-64 from Bargoed who stayed at 5* The Celtic Manor Resort in Newport wrote this review.

This hotel is exceptional. Upgraded for a small charge to signature rooms on signature floor with own reception on our floor, big rooms with balcony and turn-down service, bottle wine and chocs in See More  Read more information room. Ate in steak for six and rafters both fab experience. We used pool area and had a spa all arranged on our floor for us. Would like to go back again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 1 - 10 of 25 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002081 @ 17/07/2019 11:23:27

Last rendered @ 20/07/2019 02:39:27

Last rendered @ 20/07/2019 02:39:27

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB16

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.