Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Newcastle Outer

Newcastle Outer Holiday Reviews

Penshaw Monument, Sunderland

Discover the charm of the outer Newcastle area, home to bustling market towns and villages nestled amongst the spectacular countryside. If a vibrant nightlife and abundance of bars & restaurants is what you need, then stay more centrally and you’ll be spoilt for choice. However, hotels in Newcastle outer offer the perfect opportunity to enjoy a blend of exciting nightlife and tranquil, rural living.

Surrounded by captivating countryside, most of the Northumbria region offers a stunning coastline, and an array of visitor attractions and events.

  • Just 20 mins on the Metro or 10 mins by car, Tynemouth Beach is a surprising and breath-taking addition to the area. Miles of golden sandy beaches, an aquarium and plenty of traditional seaside favourites make it the perfect day out
  • For an adrenaline-fuelled day by the sea, time your break with the annual Sunderland International Air Show. With acrobatics from the likes of the Red Arrows and plenty of stalls, food & drink, it’s a great day out, especially when the sun is shining
  • Even outside of Newcastle centre you can enjoy a fun-filled night out. Whitley Bay is renowned for its range of bars and pubs along the coastline – a stag do favourite. However, it’s a great place for anyone to enjoy a few drinks with a view
So, if you want a taste of Newcastle’s famous atmosphere but need the option of peace and quiet too, a hotel in outer Newcastle is the ideal option. Plenty to do and see and great transport links to help you explore mean you’ll be busy from the moment you arrive.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 76

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Fantastic overnight stay

Stay Date: 20/01/18, a customer aged 25-44 from North Lanarkshire who stayed at 4* Matfen Hall Hotel in Matfen (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

Our first impression of it was great. We upgraded to a double deluxe room. It was a beautiful room. Such lovely decor. Opening the door to such a lovely room. It was a really good size, with a big See More  Read more information bathroom. It was spotlessly clean & had a cosy feeling. We ate in the Keepers Lodge, we decided to eat in the more informal restaurant. Our meal was really nice. Afterwards we had a drink in theconservatory bar. It had a nice feel to it. Breakfast was in the library restaurant. It was lovely. Matfen Hall is a very beautiful hotel. The decor is so beautiful & tasteful. Such lovely old fashionedfeatures. Even the hallway carpets & decor. The great hall has the wow factor! We passed it going to & from our room. It looks like a room from Cinderella’s castle. The staff were all very polite,attentive & professional. The food was very good. It is situated out in the countryside, so ideal if like us, you are looking for somewhere to relax & just chill out. We don’t get to do that very often soit was a special treat. We would definitely recommend Matfen Hall. We had such a lovely relaxing time & hope to go back again some day. Thank you Matfen Hall.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Beamish Weekend

Stay Date: 05/05/17, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Washington (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Washington wrote this review.

Excellent weekend visiting Beamish Museum. Hotel ideally situated for this attraction, close to A1 as well. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beamish  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Toby  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend Break at Leiden Hall

Stay Date: 28/01/17, a customer aged 45-64 from Newcastle Upon Tyne who stayed at 4* Macdonald Linden Hall, Golf & Country Club in Morpeth (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

It was a most enjoyable stay at the hotel - really nice room in a good location. All the staff were very helpful and friendly, would stay there again. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Coast and river

Stay Date: 07/10/16, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Washington (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Washington wrote this review.

Good value for money hotel, nice staff. Soutar Lighthouse a great place to look at and hear about from knowledgeable guides. Marsden - walk along cliff, away from edge, down to beach really worth See More  Read more information it. Finished with short trip on Tyner ferry - again meeting really nice folk.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Very handy

Stay Date: 09/07/16, a customer aged 45-64 from Perth who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Washington (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Washington wrote this review.

Great location. Staff were pleasant. Food was good. Location ideal for getting around the area. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Kynren  
Durham CCC  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Toby Carvery  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Whitley Bay

Stay Date: 03/04/16, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Windsor Hotel in Whitley Bay wrote this review.

Early concern on arrival to find I was not on the hotel's system. After research on the computer my booking was found. Not the most friendly welcome. Room was ok, great view. Breakfast good. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

2 nights in Northumberland

Stay Date: 10/03/16, a customer aged 45-64 from Wigan who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Washington (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Washington wrote this review.

Hotel room good size and standard, but bathroom very nice but small. Staff all very friendly, lovely breakfast. Dinner was a disappointment however. Wine prices started at £19.50 and only frozen See More  Read more information chips were on offer. Expected better, always enjoyed better meals at Mercure Hotels.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
CRAGSIDE NT  
WALLINGTON NT  
BELSAY EH  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
PRANZARE  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Visit to Holiday Inn Washington

Stay Date: 26/02/16, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Washington (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Washington wrote this review.

Overall visit to this hotel was good, spoiled by smell of paint from refurbishing room opposite. Room was okay but please get rid of stippled effect ceiling, was not done well at all. Staff were See More  Read more information helpful and accommodating. Having said that it was good value for money, would go again on similar deal.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Holiday Inn

Stay Date: 30/01/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Washington (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Washington wrote this review.

Warm welcome. Good size room with adequate facilities. Staff helpful during stay. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beamish Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Toby Carvery  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Tatty Bay

Stay Date: 19/09/15, a customer aged 65+ from Huntingdon who stayed at 3* Windsor Hotel in Whitley Bay wrote this review.

I booked a double room which was just as well as the singles must be tiny. The room overlooked the club across the road. A party combined with paper mache walls and ceilings and a toilet which See More  Read more information appeared to be the main drain so every flush came through my room, adds up to a sleepless night. The whole area is pretty well run down.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Falcon @ Prudhoe  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Newcastle

Stay Date: 15/09/15, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Washington (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Washington wrote this review.

The hotel room was not up to standard - no electricity to bed side lights. The General Manager did get an electrician but this was not totally rectified. Hotel sighted ideally on A1 so central for See More  Read more information getting around, hoping to go back when refurbished. The manager Paul was a help - Thanks Paul.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Durham  
Angel of the North  
visited friend  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Northern Hospitality

Stay Date: 17/03/15, a customer aged 45-64 from Grimsby who stayed at 4* Derwent Manor Hotel, BW Premier Collection (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Allensford (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

Hotel impressive as one drives up the winding private drive. Our room in the newish annexe was very clean and comfortable - huge comfy double bed, large flatscreen multi-channel TV and spotless See More  Read more information ensuite facilities. All the staff we met were very helpful and professional. Our Superbreak included dinner on first night in hotels restaurant - good menu choice and all our 3 courses were delicious andvery well presented. Prices in hotel bar reasonable and the local beer was superbly kept! Visited Beamish Open Air Museum which was less than 25 mins drive from hotel. Would definitely return to thearea and this hotel for more Great Northern Hospitality.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
National Glass Centre  
Beamish Museum of the North  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel Restaurant  
Beamish Museum Restaurant  
National Glass Centre Bistro  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great two days in Northumberland

Stay Date: 04/11/14, a customer aged 65+ from Huddersfield who stayed at 4* Derwent Manor Hotel, BW Premier Collection (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Allensford (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

Hotel very good and food excellent as always. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Derwent Manor Hotel

Stay Date: 27/10/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Derwent Manor Hotel, BW Premier Collection (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Allensford (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

We have been to this hotel numerous times, always had a good stay with excellent service and we would gladly recommended Derwent Manor to anybody. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lovely but not if you have mobility problems

Stay Date: 13/10/14, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Derwent Manor Hotel, BW Premier Collection (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Allensford (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

We were very pleased with our stay at the hotel but unfortunately because of my walking difficulties the numerous stairs proved a problem for me. Food in the restaurant was very good. Two double See More  Read more information beds very comfortable and a good sized room. A walk in shower would have been useful, again more suitable to my difficulties. Overall would recommend the hotel to anyone without a walking problem.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Durham Castle  
Durham Cathedral  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Restaurant manager par excellence

Stay Date: 15/10/14, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Macdonald Linden Hall, Golf & Country Club in Morpeth (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

I am interested in people and consequently like to ask questions, which tell me more about the person than the outward appearance. The Romanian restaurant manager was subjected to my interrogation See More  Read more information and revealed personality, humour, knowledge and great inter-personal skills which considerably enhanced our visits to the dining room for some excellent meals. Would that all restaurant hierarchywere of the same ilk !!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cragside  
craster - jolly sailor pub  
embleton  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
jolly sailor craster  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Durham Trip

Stay Date: 20/03/14, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Derwent Manor Hotel, BW Premier Collection (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Allensford (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

Fantastic trip around cathedral. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Durham City  
Durham Cathedral  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Very good hotel

Stay Date: 20/03/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Windsor Hotel in Whitley Bay wrote this review.

Room was fantastic. Four poster bed and sea view. Staff great and very helpful. Restaurant good but small choice. It was March though. Only drawback three nightclubs around hotel so noisy when they See More  Read more information turned out. All told very clean hotel and area. Excellent will definitely use again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Holy Island  
Beamish  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Harvester  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Relaxing Stop-Gap

Stay Date: 07/03/14, a customer from Southampton who stayed at 4* Derwent Manor Hotel, BW Premier Collection (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Allensford (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

We went for a 2 night break to celebrate my sister's 60th birthday. We were out of the hotel most of the time visiting relatives which was the main purpose of our trip. If it was for a leisure See More  Read more information weekend the hotel would have been the perfect choice. On Friday evening when we arrived after a long journey we had a relaxing drink in the bar and then dinner in the lovely restaurant finished off with anightcap in the bar. This is just what we needed and would have done the same thing again the following day if we hadn't been attending the party. We did not have time to use the leisure facilitiesbut we intend returning and will certainly use the facilities when we have more time to enjoy. The location of the hotel is superb and the views from our bedroom window were spectacular. Onlycomplaint I have is the TV in our bedroom was on a TV stand and could not be seen from the bed. The stand was far too low and the screen was the size of the old style bedroom TV's. If we had been having arelaxing weekend I would have found this to be a problem.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Restaurant  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Relaxing using Hotel Facilities

Stay Date: 27/12/13, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Derwent Manor Hotel, BW Premier Collection in Allensford (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

Arrived slightly early so took the oppotunity to use the hotel spa facilities, then checked in to a wonderful large room overlooking the Derwent valley with splendid views. Ordered a meal in the See More  Read more information hotels bar and settled in for a cosy night with a few drinks in front of a log fire.......great relaxing night away to celebrate our anniversary, well recommended.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great day in Durham

Stay Date: 30/10/13, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Derwent Manor Hotel, BW Premier Collection (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Allensford (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

Easy drive from hotel (used park & ride to town centre) Great shops and ambiance with various good street musicians. Fine tea shop just over bridge - best home made cake ever. Durham cathedral See More  Read more information well worth a visit - compares well with York Minster & Piazza Domo in Milan. Hotel food is first class and very reasonable for the quality.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Durham Cathedral  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Packed a lot in in two days!

Stay Date: 25/09/13, a customer aged 65+ from Lancaster who stayed at 4* Derwent Manor Hotel, BW Premier Collection (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Allensford (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

Hadrian's wall is beautiful early autumn, The scenery magnificent. Durham City and especially the Cathedral are glorious. The Gateshead Millenium Bridge was well worth visiting after a day in Durham See More  Read more information before evening. Best Western Derwent Manor hotel is in an ideal country vacation for visiting the attractions of this area. However there are some drawbacks to that hotel!!!!! Our break was superblypriced by Superbreak other agents charging much more for a mini break. The hotel is beautiful and very roomy. Bedrooms are splendid and large and decorated tastefully. Unfortunately the four pillowswe used were so very hard that we did not sleep and had to go out and PURCHASE ourselves two pillows and p.cases of course; Our request for four softer pillows was not met. Other guests were not happywith their pillows either. The heating is insufficient for such large bedrooms which are equipped with secondary electric convector heaters. Unfortunately the convecting heater dries the air in theroom and we had to open the window and let cool air in the room through the night. The food is very tasty but dinner is noveau cuisine style and very expensive for the size of servings if guests arehungry, The Bar meals are dreadfully expensive i.e. a bowl of soggy chips (15 in total) as a much needed side dish cost ?3!!! Drinks are very expensive too. The hotel is beautiful and we would love torevisit but probably will not do so because of the drawbacks noted here. There were no alternative eating places in the immediate are around the hotel and The Derwent Manor hotel hold the monopoly here!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hadrian's Wall  
Durham Cathedral & City  
Gateshead Millenium bridge  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Mrs Milligan's Cafe Hexham  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Break at Matfen Hall

Stay Date: 12/05/13, a customer aged 45-64 from Johnstone who stayed at 4* Matfen Hall Hotel in Matfen (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

This was our 4th visit and the hotel was up to the usual high standard. Recommend the Black Bull in Corbridge for your evening meal, good food and good value. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Newcastle Quayside  
Newcastle City Centre  
Baltic Centre for Contemporary Arts  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Black Bull, Corbridge  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Newcastle

Stay Date: 04/05/13, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Washington (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Washington wrote this review.

Good day out in Newcastle See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Good short break

Stay Date: 07/04/13, a customer aged 65+ from Utkinton who stayed at 4* Matfen Hall Hotel in Matfen (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

Have visited this place before and always have a good time See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Fantastic Time at Matfen Hall

Stay Date: 05/02/13, a customer aged 25-44 from Alnwick who stayed at 4* Matfen Hall Hotel in Matfen (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

We had a fantastic time at Matfen Hall, accommodation was faultless and the spa facilities were great. Only downside was the lack of choice for dining and the price of the drinks was too high. See More  Read more information Otherwise superb place in a great location, perfect for a romantic getaway / chilled out break. Would definitely go back again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Conservatory  
The Keepers Lodge  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Derwent Manor

Stay Date: 26/01/13, a customer aged 18-24 who stayed at 4* Derwent Manor Hotel, BW Premier Collection in Allensford (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

Excellent hotel stay in the Best Western Derwent Manor. The room had excellent views over the hills (even better when they're covered in snow!); the room itself was surprisingly large for a 3* hotel See More  Read more information - the bed was comfy, good sized and well equipped bathroom, also included tea making facilities. My only criticism would be the television - it could do with updating/not being on the floor! We haddinner in the hotel's bar. Both meals were homemade and tasted delicious, well worth the £22 for two specials! And the staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was equally delicious - cerealsand pastries for those like me who don't want the full cooked breakfast (which was available on request). We made good use of the spa; nice little pool and Jacuzzi, very relaxing with the viewssurrounding it, and a sauna available for use too. There was also a gym but i'm afraid I was too busy chilling out for that! Again the staff were really helpful in the spa, even offered towels if they wereneeded. Overall a fantastic stay especially for the money - great rooms, great facilities, great customer service. We definitely want to stay again soon, but this time bring our family and friends!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Best for Shopping.

Stay Date: 23/11/12, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Washington (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Washington wrote this review.

Just great for Christmas shopping. Hotel very dog friendly, clean & great food. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Metro Centre.  
Angle of the North.  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel  
Toby Carvery.  
Metro Centre.  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Well Situated Hotel for Visits.

Stay Date: 29/11/12, a customer aged 65+ from Brough who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Washington (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Washington wrote this review.

Went to a family funeral and added an extra day which enabled us to visit Durham,used the very convenient park and ride facility.The Christmas Festival started our Christmas build up and was See More  Read more information thoroughly enjoyed by us. We have visited this hotel before and know of its proximity to lots of places to visit.We had a meal on our first night which was one of the best we have had in a hotel.Breakfastwas excellent,as usual, which sets you up for the day.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Durham Christmas Festival  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A Great Value Venue in Rural Northumberland

Stay Date: 23/10/12, a customer aged 45-64 from Nr Northwich who stayed at 4* Derwent Manor Hotel, BW Premier Collection (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Allensford (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

The Derwent Manor Hotel is a 3-star hotel punching way beyond its weight. Good room (112), good food and service. Great value Superbreak offer of 2-nights B&B plus dinner on the first night at just See More  Read more information ?72pp. An absolute bargain! We had a very comfortable and relaxing stay and we will return.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Metro Centre  
Sardis Restuarant, Darlington  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Sardis Restaurant, Darlington  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Hotel

Stay Date: 17/09/12, a customer aged 65+ from Utkinton who stayed at 4* Matfen Hall Hotel in Matfen (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

Great golf and beautiful countryside- very helpful staff and good golf pro See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Newcastle

Stay Date: 05/04/12, a customer from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Derwent Manor Hotel, BW Premier Collection (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Allensford (Nr Newcastle) rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Derwent Manor  
 
 

Short Break In Newcastle

Stay Date: 30/03/12, a customer who stayed at 4* Derwent Manor Hotel, BW Premier Collection (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Allensford (Nr Newcastle) rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Short Break Nr Newcastle

Stay Date: 18/02/12, a customer from Uk who stayed at 4* Derwent Manor Hotel, BW Premier Collection (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Allensford (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

Abrupt rude staff and manager, £15 for ice if taken to room, extremely small dinner portions, only two choices on menu, unless you pay supplement in excess of £4.95. No cold water during stay, See More  Read more information primitive heating. Large room with views over 20 acres of grounds, impressive building. Derwent reservoir short drive away for a relaxing walk, hexham and corbridge close by. Consett 5 mins away withplenty of bars and clubs. Hotel bar very expensive, swimming pool complex new and clean .   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Derwent Reservoir  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Newcastle

Stay Date: 21/11/11, a customer who stayed at 4* Derwent Manor Hotel, BW Premier Collection (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Allensford (Nr Newcastle) rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Durham  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Best Western Hotel Restaurant  
 
 

Short Break In Newcastle

Stay Date: 13/11/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Washington (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Washington rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Metro Center  
 
 

Derwent Manor

Stay Date: 07/08/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 4* Derwent Manor Hotel, BW Premier Collection (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Allensford (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

We were a little worried before arriving as we had read some reviews about the hotel but we found the staff really friendly & helpful & the food was impressive. The only drawback was that the bar See More  Read more information closed quite early. The fitness facilities were small but clean and a welcome chill out after a day of torrential rain!.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Vindolanda  
Roman Army Museum  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

First Time Visit To Hadrian's Wall

Stay Date: 05/07/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 4* Matfen Hall Hotel in Matfen (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

The hotel was an excellent choice. The food was excellent - staff did everything they could to cope with my gluten free dietary requirements admirably hotel and surroundings something to die for. It See More  Read more information was so peaceful and quiet. My wife and I enjoyed our stay and would reccommend the hotel to all.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hadrian's Wall  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Golf Club On Sight  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Newcastle

Stay Date: 03/07/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Washington (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Washington rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beamish  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
hotel  
 
 

Short Break In Newcastle

Stay Date: 27/06/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 4* Derwent Manor Hotel, BW Premier Collection (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Allensford (Nr Newcastle) rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Durham City  
Newcastle Quayside  
Beamish  
 
 

Fantastic Break

Stay Date: 18/06/11, a customer who stayed at 4* Derwent Manor Hotel, BW Premier Collection (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Allensford (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

My wife and i had a wonderful break at the derwent manor. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Durham Cathedral  
Durham City  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Convention In Newcastle

Stay Date: 18/06/11, a customer who stayed at 4* Derwent Manor Hotel, BW Premier Collection (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Allensford (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

Attended the jehovah's witnesses district convention in radio city stadium. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Richmond - Gardens  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Excellent Stay

Stay Date: 18/06/11, a customer from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Derwent Manor Hotel, BW Premier Collection (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Allensford (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

We had a wonderful stay at derwent manor I had 3 rooms booked for 6 of us and tickets to their turkey and tinsel (yes in june) the staff and manager couldn't do enough for us very well done. Already See More  Read more information booked 6 rooms for a family birthday in july thanks.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Enjoyable Weekend At Derwent Manor

Stay Date: 12/06/11, a customer who stayed at 4* Derwent Manor Hotel, BW Premier Collection (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Allensford (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

Had a great 2 night stay with dinner on 1st night. Staff were extremely helpful, room was clean & spacious, food was delicious, pool area was quiet and relaxing. Only negative comment is that bar See More  Read more information drinks seemed a bit steep for a 3* hotel. Otherwise a brilliant weekend, we would go back.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Restaurant  
Pub Menu  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Newcastle

Stay Date: 03/06/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 4* Derwent Manor Hotel, BW Premier Collection (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Allensford (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

Hotel views were loveley from main bedrooms. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cricket At The Emmerits  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break To Visit Family/Matfen Hall

Stay Date: 31/05/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 4* Matfen Hall Hotel in Matfen (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

Matfen hall is a great hotel for a short/long break. Room 3 was a great size for the 3 of us with beautiful views over the golf course. The room itself was very nice although the bathroom I felt was See More  Read more information a bit tired! the whole experience is really relaxing, from the pool/spa to having a relaxing drink in the conservatory. The meal was excellent, the whole ambience was just perfect and our waitress(hungarian) was lovely and attentive. Breakfast was good, a great choice, again staff were lovely. My husband and I were at this hotel with our teenage daughter, who loved the hotel and diningexperience. I would certainly recommend this hotel, if your thinking of going, just book it!!! Hope to be back soon.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Library  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Love Derwent Manor

Stay Date: 25/04/11, a customer who stayed at 4* Derwent Manor Hotel, BW Premier Collection (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Allensford (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

After visiting this hotel last year we decided to go again for a nice chill-out weekend, and we had just that! we had glorious weather so we just stayed in the hotel grounds which have stunning See More  Read more information views. Thoroughly enjoyed the leisure facilities too. The evening meal was beautiful. We will definately be going back soon.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A Relaxing Weekend

Stay Date: 21/03/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 4* Derwent Manor Hotel, BW Premier Collection (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Allensford (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

From the first moment our stay was fabulous, the hotel was spotless the staff were very helpful and the views were magnificent! ten out of ten all round!!. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Durham  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Pub At The Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Newcastle

Stay Date: 13/03/11, a customer who stayed at 4* Derwent Manor Hotel, BW Premier Collection (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Allensford (Nr Newcastle) rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Durham  
Vindolanda  
Hadrian's Wall  
 
 

Derwent Hotel

Stay Date: 13/03/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 4* Derwent Manor Hotel, BW Premier Collection (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Allensford (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

The hotel was good but choice in restaurant poor for vegetarians, lovley atmosphere and nice interior spa area changing rooms needed redecorating, but great value. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
High Force  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Newcastle

Stay Date: 06/03/11, a customer who stayed at 4* Matfen Hall Hotel in Matfen (Nr Newcastle) rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Top Value Friendly Hotel

Stay Date: 16/01/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 4* Derwent Manor Hotel, BW Premier Collection (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Allensford (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

We have stayed at this hotel twice recently. Clean, warm, friendly, good food and lively atmosphere. Good value and will certainly return. Whilst stopping here visit Durham cathedral, Hexham for a See More  Read more information little retail therapy and Blanchlands medieval village and have a pint and a sandwich at the lord crewe arms.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Durham Cathedral,  
Blanchland Medieval Village  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break Near Newcastle

Stay Date: 27/12/10, a customer from Uk who stayed at 4* Matfen Hall Hotel in Matfen (Nr Newcastle) rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Short Break In Allensford

Stay Date: 18/08/10, a customer who stayed at 4* Derwent Manor Hotel, BW Premier Collection in Allensford (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

Arriving at the hotel they have only 1 room booked although I had booked 2 rooms and had that on my confirmation. The problem was solved and we enjoyed the stay. We visited the indoor pool which the See More  Read more information kids enjoyed. Lovely surrounding, nice views.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A Good Little Get Away

Stay Date: 05/08/10, a customer from Uk who stayed at 4* Derwent Manor Hotel, BW Premier Collection (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Allensford (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

The hotel room was a suprise as my boyfriend and I were given a suite, very large and spacious room however I would not have paid much more for it... Hairs in the sink and shower, left over confetti See More  Read more information on the carpet so obviously not vacuumed, just little things like that which spoilt such a beautiful room. The staff at the hotel were very polite to us, but it was obvious we were given preferentialtreatment as the other guests were not given very good customer service. Apart from that it was a very plesant stay. On the way to the hotel we went to butterfly world which would be great for afamily day out, free parking too. We then spent 3hrs at buttercups pottery which was great fun, good value too. On the first day we started off in the hotel swimming pool which was small but very nice.During the day we went to High Force waterfall which was very pretty, we then spent the rest of the day at Sunderland beach, not much to do though if you dont like looking for crabs! On our final day wewent to Tynmouth aquarium which was also on the beach which was great fun. Overall a good little holiday.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Tynemouth Aquarium  
Butterfly World  
High Force Water Fall  
Buttercups Pottery  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Midnight Moon Indian, Sunderland  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend Break

Stay Date: 16/04/10, a customer who stayed at 4* Derwent Manor Hotel, BW Premier Collection (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Allensford (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

Our recent weekend break at Derwent Manor, was excellent. On arrival we were upgraded to a suite, which was very clean and tidy, and decorated nicely. Staff were really helpful and friendly, and we See More  Read more information made great use of the free leisure facilities, which were excellent aswell.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Durham City  
Beamish Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Best Western Hotel Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Newcastle Area

Stay Date: 27/11/09, a customer from Southampton who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Washington in Washington rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Baltic Flour Mills  
 
 

Short Break In Newcastle Area

Stay Date: 18/08/09, a customer who stayed at 4* Matfen Hall Hotel in Matfen (Nr Newcastle) rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Go Ape  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Matfen Hall Hotel  
 
 

Great Relaxing Break

Stay Date: 03/05/09, a customer from Cleveland who stayed at 4* Macdonald Linden Hall, Golf & Country Club in Morpeth (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

my husband &i wanted a overnight stay in a hotel with spa facilities went onto your web site & was very happy with your offer. hotel was excellant food & staff very good hotel very well kept & the See More  Read more information grounds were lovely would recomend a stay we wiil be going again   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Rothbury  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Golden Lion  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Action packed at Linden Hall

Stay Date: 03/04/09, a customer from Dundee who stayed at 4* Macdonald Linden Hall, Golf & Country Club in Morpeth (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

We had a great action packed weekend to celebrate our 60th. birthdays. The golf was great, tennis courts could have been better and pool was fine. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

George Washington

Stay Date: 18/10/08, a customer from Hartlepool who stayed at 3* Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf & Spa in Washington wrote this review.

A lovely hotel.Nicely positioned on the edge of Washington. Easily accessed- though the instructions were not very accurate.The bar stops serving bar meals at 6 pm so we had to eat in the See More  Read more information restaurant-but staff were very helpful and it was a very nice meal.The leisure club is small but intimate and the pool is also very small but adequate. Breakfast was excellent.Larger than average bed.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Derwent Manor Hotel

Stay Date: 08/08/08, a customer who stayed at 4* Derwent Manor Hotel, BW Premier Collection in Allensford (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

Overall the stay in the hotel was okay. The room was comfortable but in need of some updating. The worst thing was the noise at night. Fire doors and bedroom doors constantly being opened and closed See More  Read more information and people making a noise, in other rooms, all through the night. At 4am one morning I even had to complain to the night porter. The noise still continued though. Some friends of mine stayed inanother room and heard nothing though. Lucky devils.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Wedding Reception at the Derwent Manor Hotel

Stay Date: 29/03/08, a customer from Tyne and Wear who stayed at 4* Derwent Manor Hotel, BW Premier Collection in Allensford (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

Our short stay at the Derwent Manor Hotel on the occasion of our son's wedding reception proved to be excellent in every way, food, rooms, breakfast and staff. Catherine Armstrong See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Day Out at Diggerland

Stay Date: 14/02/08, a customer who stayed at 4* Derwent Manor Hotel, BW Premier Collection in Allensford (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

We stayed at the Derwnt Manor due to its close proximity to Diggerland. On arrival at Diggerland, we were the only customers there due to the local schools' half term being a week later. We had an See More  Read more information excellent day out trying out the different diggers and rides including the land rover safari. Well worth a visit. Derwent Manor was a great base to explore the surroundings. Externally, it looked likea mock castle and continued the olde-worlde theme inside. the staff were very friendly and helpful.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Diggerland  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Smelters Arms  
Derwent Manor Hotel Pub  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Matfen

Stay Date: 19/01/08, a customer who stayed at 4* Matfen Hall Hotel in Matfen (Nr Newcastle) rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Matfen Hall

Stay Date: 16/01/08, a customer from Ulverston who stayed at 4* Matfen Hall Hotel in Matfen (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

Beautiful Country House Hotel, in lovely surroundings. Excellent food. Unfortunately we didn't have time to use the Spa but if the rest of the hotel was anything to go by I'm sure it would have been See More  Read more information lovely. Would definitely go again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Morpeth

Stay Date: 02/11/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Macdonald Linden Hall, Golf & Country Club in Morpeth (Nr Newcastle) rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Short Break in Allensford

Stay Date: 29/07/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Derwent Manor Hotel, BW Premier Collection in Allensford (Nr Newcastle) rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Durham  
Carlisle  
Local National Trust Houses  
Derwent Reservoir  
 
 

Short Break in Allensford

Stay Date: 23/07/07, a customer from Chesterfield who stayed at 4* Derwent Manor Hotel, BW Premier Collection in Allensford (Nr Newcastle) rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Short Break in Allensford

Stay Date: 06/05/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Derwent Manor Hotel, BW Premier Collection in Allensford (Nr Newcastle) rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beamish Museum  
 
 

Short Break Near Newcastle

Stay Date: 20/04/07, a customer from Bristol who stayed at 4* Derwent Manor Hotel, BW Premier Collection in Allensford (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

Unfortunately this was a working break so no time for relaxing. The hotel is fantastic and the food some of the best I've had. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

R&R at Matfen Hall

Stay Date: 06/01/07, a customer from Hexham who stayed at 4* Matfen Hall Hotel in Matfen (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

Had an enjoyable lunch in the hotels conservatory. Hearty sandwiches,pricey but tasty and very filling. Views and environment very relaxing. Had Dinner in the Print room, formal atmostphere, food See More  Read more information excellent but tables a bit too close together, pricey but worth it for a special occasion. Spa facilities excellent including a fantastic steam room with LED lights in the ceiling, pool luxurious butdid get very busy 10-12, 4-7pm when children were allowed in. Not enough loungers around the pool. We upgraded to a deluxe room from a classic room, cost around an extra £30. Disappointed, the roomwas in the old part of the hotel, the room had character, beamed ceiling but there was damp on the window frames/sills. It was also cool and the heating could not be altered. My sister visited 3 dayslater and stayed in a classic room which sounded much more comfortable, clean & warm so suggest not upgrading as the only difference is the size of the room. Very happy with hotel service and amenitiesapart from the room.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Washington

Stay Date: 02/10/06, a customer who stayed at 3* Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf & Spa in Washington rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

A Day Out in Newcastle

Stay Date: 29/07/06, a customer who stayed at 3* Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf & Spa in Washington wrote this review.

Stayed at the George Washington Hotel in Washington. Excellent hotel and friendly staff. Decided to get a taxi into Newcastle city Centre as we were going to watch Newcastle football club. This was See More  Read more information definitely the best way to get into Newcastle on a busy Saturday morning. The fare was £12. It was very easy to get a return taxi as there are numerous taxi ranks. The football stadium is extremelywell organised in terms of organising large crowds. Excellent shops and museums in Newcastle itself. All staff in shops are polite and there is a very friendly feel to the place.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Tyne Bridge  
BALTIC Art Museum  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Matfen

Stay Date: 23/07/06, a customer from Lincoln who stayed at 4* Matfen Hall Hotel in Matfen (Nr Newcastle) rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Short Break in Matfen

Stay Date: 25/06/06, a customer who stayed at 4* Matfen Hall Hotel in Matfen (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

Played golf and generally relaxed See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 1 - 76 of 76 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1001926 @ 12/06/2018 08:40:16

Last rendered @ 20/06/2018 22:11:11

Last rendered @ 20/06/2018 22:11:11

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB16

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.