Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Newcastle & Gateshead

Newcastle & Gateshead Holiday Reviews

Millennium Bridge, Newcastle

Looking for hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne? Well look no further as we have the ideal hotel for anyone looking to take advantage of the Toon. Whilst Newcastle is rightly renowned for its nightlife, there is a lot more to the city and the surrounding area than just a good night. Whether you’re looking for culture, leisure or just a lazy weekend away, Newcastle has it all.

We have a vast array of hotels in Newcastle, from 2* to 5* to suit all tastes and budgets. With our selection of Newcastle city centre hotels, you can ensure that your break takes advantage of the cities cosmopolitan feel, whilst also offering easy access to some of the UK’s best countryside surrounding it.

Newcastle has so much to offer on your weekend break. From the beautiful architecture of the ancient city walls and castle, to the stunning, contemporary quayside with its waterfront bars and galleries, you certainly won’t be hard pressed for something to do. Some of our top things to see and do include:

  • The Baltic – One of the finest art galleries in the UK, it was the scene for the most successful take modern exhibition outside of London. Whilst it is technically in Gateshead, its position on the quayside means it’s easily accessible from whatever hotel you are staying in, be it the Newcastle or Gateshead side of the Tyne.
  • The City and Shopping – Shopping in Newcastle and Gateshead has seen a bit of a revolution in recent years. The city has undergone a lot of redevelopment work which has seen the expansion of Eldon Square and the Metro Centre (still Europe’s largest shopping and retail park) is just across the water in Gateshead. If the bigger stores are not your thing, why not take a trip down the Quayside along Grey Street, voted the UK’s most attractive street, and pop in the many cafés, bars or boutiques. You can even book your Newcastle hotel and stay near in Georgian grandeur.
  • The Seaside – Whilst the city centre has its charms, it’s always nice to get out and see the sea. Jump on the Metro and you will be at Tynemouth within 30 minutes. Tynemouth offers a charm all of its own, as well as some of the most beautiful beaches in the UK. Grab a bag of chips and soak up the sea air before heading back to your bed in the city.
  • The Nightlife – It would be a crime to stay for a night in Newcastle without going out on the Toon. The city’s reputation for a night out is legendary and it is commonly held belief that you can have a good time any night of the week in Newcastle. Be it bars, pubs, clubs or Michelin starred restaurants, Newcastle has it all.
With SuperBreak’s array of hotels in Newcastle city centre, you certainly won’t miss any of the action Newcastle has to offer you.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 103

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Grey Street Hotel Newcastle

Stay Date: 01/12/06, a customer who stayed at 4* Grey Street Hotel in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

We decided to stay at the Grey Street Hotel due to its central location. Noise from Newcastles revellers wasn't a problem at all, but the noise from the extractor fan of the kitchen unit of the See More  Read more information Hotel was (Room 14). After one early morning call at 06.00hrs we asked for a room change, which was obliged and after that we slept very well. Food is provided by The Living Rooms. We had Breakfast inour room twice, both times, incorrect and cold. We had breakfast in the Living Room once and they forgot the Muffins, hard when thats where the Salmon and Scambled eggs were supposed to lay upon! Wealso ate twice in the Living Rooms, the atmosphere was great, the service good but once again the wrong food delivered! Tuna instead of Lamb! We explored the Sage and Baltic, but were dissapointed bythe Baltic. They must have run out of money finishing the Baltic as all it needs now is some Art inside. Newcastle was great for pubbing and Christmas shopping. We went initially to see Richard Ashcroftand Morrissey and can highly recomend The Metro Radio Arena as a great place for gigs. We had a great time let down by a poor hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Sage  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Living Room  
The Baltic  
Treacle Moon  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A Night To Forget

Stay Date: 04/12/06, a customer from York who stayed at 4* Grey Street Hotel in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

We went to Newcastle to attend a concert and decided that we would treat ourselves and stay overnight at the Greystreethotel. The directions from Superbreaks were useless as they were for people See More  Read more information approaching Newcastle from the North and we were coming from the south. Therefore we spent hours getting lost in the City's one way system before finally giving up, leaving the car in an overnight carpark and getting a taxi to the hotel. The hotel itself was very nice indeed. It was clean, obviously new and very, very comfortable. Before going to the concert we decided to have a wander aroundNewcastle and were fairly appalled to find that the hotel bar (the Living Room) was crowded with extremely drunk young adults at 5.45p.m We decided to move on elsewhere and found that every bar we wentinto was the same. For a Monday night we found this pretty staggering. Finally we went to the concert which was excellent but there was no atmosphere in the venue. We got back to the hotel at midnightand, as usual, found it so stiflingly hot in the room that we had to sleep with the air conditioning roaring all night despite it being a cold December night outside. This seems always to be the casein modern hotels now and I have yet to fathom out why. All in all the hotel was lovely but Newcastle was rough and completly lacking in character. I will not be rushing back there again!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Newcastle Town Centre  
Metro Arena  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Indian Restaurant Opppsite Greystreethotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
Editor Notes:

Editor's comments: Based on this valuable feedback received from our customers we have corrected the directions for this hotel. Thank you!

 

2 Nights in Newcastle

Stay Date: 15/10/06, a customer who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

We went to see Tom Jones at Newcastle Metro Arena and visited the Casino. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Anniversary Weekend

Stay Date: 23/09/06, a customer who stayed at 4* Grey Street Hotel in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

We spent the day shopping in Newcastle. This was really good as there is a wide range of shops there for men and women and there are lots of places to eat and have a nice cup of coffee. We went for See More  Read more information our evening meal in China town, this is a street that is filled with Chinese restaurants, you can either go to a buffett or a more expensive style of restaurant depending on preference. In the eveningwe went to lots a bars one to recommend would be Tokoyo not far from central station. This does amazing cocktails and the atmosphere is really trendy.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shopping in Newcastle  
Bars in Newcastle  
Club in Newcastle (Digital)  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
China Town  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Newcastle

Stay Date: 02/09/06, a customer who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park in Newcastle-upon-Tyne rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Metro Centre  
Newcastle City Centre  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Metro Centre  
 
 

Beamish

Stay Date: 18/08/06, a customer who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

In Beamish town we spent half an hour talking to the salesperson in the hardware store my 13yr old could not belief the stories of 1913 Well worth visiting See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beamish Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Little Chef  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Newcastle

Stay Date: 04/08/06, a customer who stayed at 4* Grey Street Hotel in Newcastle-upon-Tyne rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Apartment  
The Living Room  
 
 

The Bar

Stay Date: 18/07/06, a customer who stayed at 4* Grey Street Hotel in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

we spent most of the time in the bar then in the bed room See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Walking Around Local Area  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Room Service at greystreethotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Newcastle

Stay Date: 07/07/06, a customer who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

The short break was to visit my son who took part at the English schools athletics competition held in Gateshead. What made the trip menorable is the people who we met whilst away. Fantastic people See More  Read more information in the North East.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Gateshead Athletics Stadium  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Snowy Owl  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Newcastle

Stay Date: 24/06/06, a customer from Bramham who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park in Newcastle-upon-Tyne rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cresswell Beach  
 
 
 

Showing 91 - 100 of 103 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002068 @ 16/05/2019 15:33:24

Last rendered @ 25/05/2019 05:52:47

Last rendered @ 25/05/2019 05:52:47

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB11

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.