Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Newcastle & Gateshead

Newcastle & Gateshead Holiday Reviews

Millennium Bridge, Newcastle

Looking for hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne? Well look no further as we have the ideal hotel for anyone looking to take advantage of the Toon. Whilst Newcastle is rightly renowned for its nightlife, there is a lot more to the city and the surrounding area than just a good night. Whether you’re looking for culture, leisure or just a lazy weekend away, Newcastle has it all.

We have a vast array of hotels in Newcastle, from 2* to 5* to suit all tastes and budgets. With our selection of Newcastle city centre hotels, you can ensure that your break takes advantage of the cities cosmopolitan feel, whilst also offering easy access to some of the UK’s best countryside surrounding it.

Newcastle has so much to offer on your weekend break. From the beautiful architecture of the ancient city walls and castle, to the stunning, contemporary quayside with its waterfront bars and galleries, you certainly won’t be hard pressed for something to do. Some of our top things to see and do include:

  • The Baltic – One of the finest art galleries in the UK, it was the scene for the most successful take modern exhibition outside of London. Whilst it is technically in Gateshead, its position on the quayside means it’s easily accessible from whatever hotel you are staying in, be it the Newcastle or Gateshead side of the Tyne.
  • The City and Shopping – Shopping in Newcastle and Gateshead has seen a bit of a revolution in recent years. The city has undergone a lot of redevelopment work which has seen the expansion of Eldon Square and the Metro Centre (still Europe’s largest shopping and retail park) is just across the water in Gateshead. If the bigger stores are not your thing, why not take a trip down the Quayside along Grey Street, voted the UK’s most attractive street, and pop in the many cafés, bars or boutiques. You can even book your Newcastle hotel and stay near in Georgian grandeur.
  • The Seaside – Whilst the city centre has its charms, it’s always nice to get out and see the sea. Jump on the Metro and you will be at Tynemouth within 30 minutes. Tynemouth offers a charm all of its own, as well as some of the most beautiful beaches in the UK. Grab a bag of chips and soak up the sea air before heading back to your bed in the city.
  • The Nightlife – It would be a crime to stay for a night in Newcastle without going out on the Toon. The city’s reputation for a night out is legendary and it is commonly held belief that you can have a good time any night of the week in Newcastle. Be it bars, pubs, clubs or Michelin starred restaurants, Newcastle has it all.
With SuperBreak’s array of hotels in Newcastle city centre, you certainly won’t miss any of the action Newcastle has to offer you.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 102

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Short Break in Newcastle

Stay Date: 31/03/07, a customer from Peterculter who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park in Newcastle-upon-Tyne rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
St James Park  
 
 

Short Break in Newcastle

Stay Date: 25/03/07, a customer from Helensburgh who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park in Newcastle-upon-Tyne rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Short Break in Newcastle

Stay Date: 14/03/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Grey Street Hotel in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

Mostly shopping - great shops in the center of Newcastle everywhere very clean friendly people nice resturants by the Quayside. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Zizzi Italian Restaurant  
Landmark Chinese  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Newcastle-upon-Tyne

Stay Date: 26/02/07, a customer from Saltnurn-By-The-Sea who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre in Newcastle-upon-Tyne rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Short Break in Newcastle

Stay Date: 17/02/07, a customer from Weston who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

We were just visiting our daughter and only went into Newcastle on the Metro which is a really handy service to save parking, looked around shops which are excellent they went to dinner which was See More  Read more information disappointing. Taxi service from hotel was good and friendly.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Slug and Lettuce  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Newcastle

Stay Date: 15/02/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Grey Street Hotel in Newcastle-upon-Tyne rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Short Break in Newcastle

Stay Date: 31/01/07, a customer from Glasgow who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre in Gateshead rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Newcastle Rocks.

Stay Date: 12/01/07, a customer who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

Just spent a weekend in Newcastle. Lovely time, people are so friendly up there. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pitcher & Piano  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Trip Back to Geordieland

Stay Date: 01/01/07, a customer from Bolton who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

En route from Hogmanay with friends in Scotland, my partner and I broke our journey at the Holiday Inn. Drove to Gosforth and had a curry. Checked out and went to visit my mother in my home town of See More  Read more information Whitley Bay. Had a nice visit and then left. Drove back to Lancashire where I have been "exiled" for many years. This has not stopped me being a loyal follower of The Toon (40 years now - it's a lifesentence!)   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A Night To Forget

Stay Date: 04/12/06, a customer from York who stayed at 4* Grey Street Hotel in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

We went to Newcastle to attend a concert and decided that we would treat ourselves and stay overnight at the Greystreethotel. The directions from Superbreaks were useless as they were for people See More  Read more information approaching Newcastle from the North and we were coming from the south. Therefore we spent hours getting lost in the City's one way system before finally giving up, leaving the car in an overnight carpark and getting a taxi to the hotel. The hotel itself was very nice indeed. It was clean, obviously new and very, very comfortable. Before going to the concert we decided to have a wander aroundNewcastle and were fairly appalled to find that the hotel bar (the Living Room) was crowded with extremely drunk young adults at 5.45p.m We decided to move on elsewhere and found that every bar we wentinto was the same. For a Monday night we found this pretty staggering. Finally we went to the concert which was excellent but there was no atmosphere in the venue. We got back to the hotel at midnightand, as usual, found it so stiflingly hot in the room that we had to sleep with the air conditioning roaring all night despite it being a cold December night outside. This seems always to be the casein modern hotels now and I have yet to fathom out why. All in all the hotel was lovely but Newcastle was rough and completly lacking in character. I will not be rushing back there again!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Newcastle Town Centre  
Metro Arena  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Indian Restaurant Opppsite Greystreethotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
Editor Notes:

Editor's comments: Based on this valuable feedback received from our customers we have corrected the directions for this hotel. Thank you!

 
 

Showing 81 - 90 of 102 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002068 @ 16/05/2019 16:47:10

Last rendered @ 22/05/2019 16:11:58

Last rendered @ 22/05/2019 16:11:58

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB16

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.