Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Newcastle & Gateshead

Newcastle & Gateshead Holiday Reviews

Millennium Bridge, Newcastle

Looking for hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne? Well look no further as we have the ideal hotel for anyone looking to take advantage of the Toon. Whilst Newcastle is rightly renowned for its nightlife, there is a lot more to the city and the surrounding area than just a good night. Whether you’re looking for culture, leisure or just a lazy weekend away, Newcastle has it all.

We have a vast array of hotels in Newcastle, from 2* to 5* to suit all tastes and budgets. With our selection of Newcastle city centre hotels, you can ensure that your break takes advantage of the cities cosmopolitan feel, whilst also offering easy access to some of the UK’s best countryside surrounding it.

Newcastle has so much to offer on your weekend break. From the beautiful architecture of the ancient city walls and castle, to the stunning, contemporary quayside with its waterfront bars and galleries, you certainly won’t be hard pressed for something to do. Some of our top things to see and do include:

  • The Baltic – One of the finest art galleries in the UK, it was the scene for the most successful take modern exhibition outside of London. Whilst it is technically in Gateshead, its position on the quayside means it’s easily accessible from whatever hotel you are staying in, be it the Newcastle or Gateshead side of the Tyne.
  • The City and Shopping – Shopping in Newcastle and Gateshead has seen a bit of a revolution in recent years. The city has undergone a lot of redevelopment work which has seen the expansion of Eldon Square and the Metro Centre (still Europe’s largest shopping and retail park) is just across the water in Gateshead. If the bigger stores are not your thing, why not take a trip down the Quayside along Grey Street, voted the UK’s most attractive street, and pop in the many cafés, bars or boutiques. You can even book your Newcastle hotel and stay near in Georgian grandeur.
  • The Seaside – Whilst the city centre has its charms, it’s always nice to get out and see the sea. Jump on the Metro and you will be at Tynemouth within 30 minutes. Tynemouth offers a charm all of its own, as well as some of the most beautiful beaches in the UK. Grab a bag of chips and soak up the sea air before heading back to your bed in the city.
  • The Nightlife – It would be a crime to stay for a night in Newcastle without going out on the Toon. The city’s reputation for a night out is legendary and it is commonly held belief that you can have a good time any night of the week in Newcastle. Be it bars, pubs, clubs or Michelin starred restaurants, Newcastle has it all.
With SuperBreak’s array of hotels in Newcastle city centre, you certainly won’t miss any of the action Newcastle has to offer you.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 108

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Newcastle Weekender

Stay Date: 24/04/15, a customer aged 25-44 from Aberdeen City who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre in Gateshead wrote this review.

Had a fantastic time in this great city. Have been going down for night-life for the last 10 years and it never disappoints. Hotel & travel was good value for money and I would definitely book again. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Newcastle

Stay Date: 18/04/15, a customer aged 25-44 from Lower Street who stayed at 4* Grey Street Hotel in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

Newcastle is a great city with a wide choice of pubs, bars and restaurants. Very lively and very friendly hosts and reasonably priced - well worth a visit, I wish we had more time to see the sights. See More  Read more information Only downside to our trip was that iron/ironing board ruined my partners new top, otherwise we had a good time.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
St James Park  
City Centre  
Quayside  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Las Iguanas  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Night in Newcastle

Stay Date: 07/03/15, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

Holiday Inn Express is very convenient for the train station, just a few minutes walk. Room was clean and comfortable. I'd definitely stay here again. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Mamma Mia  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Newcastle

Stay Date: 29/01/15, a customer aged 65+ from Pickering who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

Stayed the night for strictly at the arena, only a 10 min walk. A very pleasant stay. Suggest they use a better grade of toilet paper. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
radio metro arena  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Trip to Newcastle

Stay Date: 05/12/14, a customer aged 65+ from Hull who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

Excellent visit to meet grand daughter at university. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Riverside  
university concert  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
adrianos high st. gosforth  
la tasca quayside  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Shopping trip to Newcastle

Stay Date: 27/11/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Grey Street Hotel in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

My daughter and I went on a Christmas shopping trip and booked the Grey Street hotel in Grey Street as it seemed central to most things we wanted. The hotel was a five minute walk from the station See More  Read more information and very close to the markets and shops. The hotel was everything we needed for an overnight stay,clean, warm and the facilities in the room were excellent... The staff were very friendly and hadexcellent manners. We had a delightful two day break. As usual booking through SuperBreak was a pleasure.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Frankie and Benny  
nemos itallian  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Newcastle break

Stay Date: 21/11/14, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Grey Street Hotel in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

Newcastle is full of friendly people, brilliant shopping, and excellent places to eat. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Newcastle  
Tynemouth  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Harry's Bar  
Zizzis  
Cafe Rouge  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Newcastle

Stay Date: 10/01/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

The hotel and staff were excellent breakfast was also good will be coming back again ' great location from shop's and bars See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lovely Night at the Novotel

Stay Date: 26/12/13, a customer aged 18-24 who stayed at 3* Novotel Newcastle Airport in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

I arrived at the Novotol at around 8pm and was greeted by a lovely woman at the desk, she didn't seem to mind that I was checking in so late. She was extremely friendly to us and actually made us See More  Read more information feel wanted, nothing was to much trouble for any of the staff. We received our room key and went straight up, at first glance the Novotel is extremely pleasing to look at, everything's clean and it hada lovely vanilla smell. We arrived at our superior queen room which was exactly like the photos I'd seen, it was large and warm. I was surprised at our en suite feature as it was much bigger thanI expected it to be. Unfortunately my stay wasn't long enough to enjoy the hotels facilities but if your looking for a lovely hotel to spend the night in, I highly recommended the Novotel for itsfriendly staff and clean comfortable rooms.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Holiday Inn Newcastle

Stay Date: 10/12/13, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

Hotel restaurant evening meal was very poor. Dry and overcooked. Breakfast variable with meaty things overcooked and dried up and the rest passable. However, the hotel itself was warm clean and the See More  Read more information staff helpful and pleasant but if I went again it would be room only.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 31 - 40 of 108 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002081 @ 17/07/2019 11:23:27

Last rendered @ 21/07/2019 16:11:13

Last rendered @ 21/07/2019 16:11:13

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB15

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.