Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Macdonald Swan Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) Reviews (Grasmere)

Keswick Road, Grasmere, Ambleside (Nr), Cumbria, LA22 9RF, England
Macdonald Swan Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner)

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

Star Rating:

3 stars:
SuperBreak Customer Rating:
 
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating:
Macdonald Swan Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) - Hotel Exterior

Average TripAdvisor Traveller Rating:

  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness

Average Customer Rating:

  • Sleep
  • Breakfast
  • Staff
  • Destination
 

Read reviews below or click here to view the hotel product page

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews
  • TripAdvisor Traveller Reviews

Stunning views

Stay Date: 24/02/18, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

The hotel has some stunning views and is a 10 minute walk into Grasmere. Our room was cosy and clean if a bit out of the way, lots of stairs and corridors to negotiate. The bathroom was a bit dated See More  Read more information and small but clean. The hotel staff were really helpful and accommodating - one member of staff Lewis deserves a mention, he worked tirelessly looking after the hotel guests. I must mention the barprices which we found excessive compared to other local bars and the bar itself was desperate for a refurbish. We ate in for one evening meal which was enjoyable but on this occasion we were overlookedby restaurant staff - not one person asked how our meal was which seemed very lax but overall enjoyed our stay.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Wray Castle  
Allen Bank  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Greens  
1769 bar and restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Sunny Weekend in the Lakes

Stay Date: 10/01/14, a customer aged 65+ from Bedale who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

Had a great stay at the MacDonald Swan in Grasmere. Great views from the hotel, lovely room wellcooked food and excellent and friendly staff. Only small niggles - would have preferred harder bed and See More  Read more information pillows and a slightly wider choice on the evening menu [surprisingly they don't seem to do any daily specials] but this did not detract from a very relaxing weekend.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lucy's Ambleside  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Swan at Grasmere

Stay Date: 03/01/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Burnley who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

Walking, looking round the area; visiting Markets (Keswick); generally looking at sights; shopping; eating and drinking out etc. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lakeside  
Market  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Kings Head Thirlspot  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A Great Break Looking At The Lion And The Lamb

Stay Date: 03/04/12, a customer who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

Would return in a minute staff very friendly staff rooms great. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Walking In The Hills  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Wonderful Weekend

Stay Date: 19/03/12, a customer from Uk who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

Brilliant hotel, excellent value, food and service was exceptional. We will be returning again. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Snowy Lakeland

Stay Date: 08/02/12, a customer who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

There had been heavy snowfall prior to our visit and although main roads were clear walking around the village was more difficult, however the scenery was beautiful. Out of season so some shops, See More  Read more information restaurants closed but we intended to have dinner at the hotel anyway. Hotel meals and staff excellent and our own room and public rooms very comfortable, especially finishing our wine in front of theopen log fire.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Grasmere Village  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Winter Wonderland In Grasmere

Stay Date: 05/02/12, a customer from Uk who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

On a two night break, arriving on friday afternoon. Excellent dinner in hotel - wonderful venison pudding. Saturday walk round grasmere lake setting off from the hotel in cold - half way round See More  Read more information looking like snowmen. There are lots of walks to do direct from the hotel and your car could be left in the car park unused as there are plenty of eating/drinking places in grasmere village which was snowcovered as we passed through and we were unable to see friends' 'bricks' in the wordsworth garden. View from window on return to hotel a complete winter picture postcard scene of the mountains. We hadplanned to walk back into grasmere on saturday night for some live music but had dinner in hotel due to depth of snow (also excellent with lamb to die for) - met a couple who were stranded and had tostay the night in b and b nearby. Sunday morning sunny and snow covered so had a cruise at bowness on windermere in one of the many lake steamers/crafts which was truly magical - misty and broody oneminute, bright sunshine bouncing off the mountains the next. Pleased we were well wrapped up though! the downside to the weekend was that the room we were allocated on arrival was stone cold. Themanager - jason - tried unsuccessfully to rectify and we were given the room immediately above which was warm (same beautiful views of the mountains). The hotel itself is a little 'tired' and bothbathrooms could have done with an update. On saturday evening the fire in the bar went out and was not relit for a few hours (and only after we had complained that no one would want to stay in there becauseit was so cold) so our plans for a bar meal (interesting menu) were scuppered and we had to eat in the restaurant. Apart from that, all the staff were friendly and very hard working - there was awedding party and their guests staying for the weekend so quite busy compared to our last stay here last year. However, the whole weekend was relaxing and the aforementioned problems did not dampen ittoo much.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bowness On Windermere  
Grasmere Village And Lake  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Autumn Break In The Lake District

Stay Date: 27/10/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

Birthday treat and hassle-free half term break for primary school headteacher. At least "good" in all respects. Very good value for money. We would definitely go again. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Langdale Pikes - Fell Walking  
Keswick - Shopping  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Zefirellis In Ambleside For Coffee.  
Lakeland Pedlar (Keswick)  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Grasmere

Stay Date: 14/09/11, a customer who stayed at this hotel rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Hill Walking Short Break In The Lakes

Stay Date: 01/07/11, a customer who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

The swan hotel grasmere is an ideal base for walking, or touring the lake district by car. Plenty of walks start from village itself therefore not necessary to move car unless you choose to. 2 nt See More  Read more information short break with dinner on 1st night was superb - staff friendly and diligent throughout stay. Hotel facilities 1st class; plenty of pubs & restaurants in grasmere for food and drink as an alternativeto hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Showing 1-10 of 30 reviews

Write a Review

The information on this website are the views and opinions of TripAdvisor members and not TripAdvisor LLC. It is provided 'as is' and we accept no responsibility for any loss, injury or inconvenience sustained by anyone resulting from this information. You should verify critical information (like visas, health and safety, customs, and transportation) with the relevant authorities before you travel.

©2007 TripAdvisor LLC. All rights reserved

Read reviews for Macdonald Swan Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner), Grasmere. We only accept reviews from customer who have booked Macdonald Swan Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner), Grasmere through us. This means better quality reviews which you can trust. View Hotel Details. These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1001926 @ 12/06/2018 08:40:14

Last rendered @ 18/06/2018 01:12:26

Last rendered @ 18/06/2018 01:12:26

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB15

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForHotel

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForHotel.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.