Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Lake District

Lake District Holiday Reviews

Pleasure boat, Ullswater

By booking hotels in the Lake District you open up the opportunity to discover an area of outstanding beauty in the Lake District, home to inspirational countryside, breath-taking mountains, spectacular lakes, traditional market towns and numerous heritage sites.

The UK's largest national park is a haven for outdoor enthusiasts with stunning 350 fells and around 80 lakes to enjoy. You can enjoy a refreshing walk along the largest of them at Lake Windermere or climb England's highest mountain Skafell Pike. With all this fantastic outdoor space it can often be tempting to find a campsite. However, for those of us not brave enough to face the elements, there are plenty of top quality hotels in the Lake District.

For a lot of people the Lake District can seem like a pretty intimating place, especially if you do not have access to a larger vehicle. However, there are plenty of ways to get around. We have put together a guide of things to see, do and how to do them here in our Lake District Travel Guide. Why not take a look and let it help you plan your break.

Most, but not all, of our selection of Lake District hotels lie in the towns and villages in the national park. Why not visit one of the towns in the Lake District like Kendal, Keswick, Grasmere or travel a little further and visit the city of Carlisle, the largest in Cumbria. All of these locations offer superb hotels, shopping and restaurants but some of the best hotels and restaurants in the country reside in the Lake District countryside itself.

Here at SuperBreak, we offer a selection of hotels in the Lake District that should suit everyone! Whether you are looking for a base in the town to explore the area or you want a more secluded spot out in the countryside, we have something for you.Explore more UK weekend breaks.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 826

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Weekend Break at Bowness-on-Windermere

Stay Date: 17/02/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe in Windermere wrote this review.

Went for a total chill out weekend at the hotel. We used the leisure pool which was opened up especially for us as no one else was using it. Visited Ambleside and travelled Ambleside and travelled See More  Read more information by boat from Bowness which took about 30 minutes. Visited "La Galerie D'Art " in Rydal Road Ambleside. Very interesting. Found the staff at the Hotel excellent. Only porblem we found was thedirections on the map sent to us were hard to follow and we ended up on a dirt track road. Matbe this could be looked at. Overall an excellent break   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lake Windermere Boat Trip  
 
Rate This Review:
 
Editor Notes:

Editor's comments: Based on this valuable feedback received from our customers we have corrected the directions for this hotel. Thank you!

 

Short Break in Penrith

Stay Date: 17/02/07, a customer who stayed at 3* Tebay Services Hotel in Penrith (Tebay) rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cars of the Stars Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Westmorland Hotel Restaurant  
Kendal Lodge, Keswick  
 
 

Walking in Lakeland

Stay Date: 15/02/07, a customer from Shipley who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

The purpose of our holiday was to go walking the fells in the Lakes. We are seasoned walkers and have visited the Lakes many times over the last 25 years. We have stayed at the Beech Hill Hotel four See More  Read more information times previously and have always been pleased with the facilities and service. We chose to go walking above Ullswater as the views over the lake are stunning. We visited Aire Force where thewaterfalls were spectacular. We also had coffee in the Wateredge Hotel and watched the ferries come in and out and other activities around the boat landings. We had a very good holiday.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Aire Force - Ullswater  
Boat Landings, Bowness  
Shopping in Ambleside  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Wateredge Hotel, Ambleside  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Newby Bridge

Stay Date: 18/02/07, a customer from Ashbourne who stayed at 3* Newby Bridge Hotel & Leisure Centre in Newby Bridge rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Grisedale Forest  
Lake Windermere  
Barrow-in-Furness  
 
 

Short Break near Cockermouth

Stay Date: 09/02/07, a customer from Manchester who stayed at 3* Ennerdale Country House Hotel in Cockermouth (Nr) wrote this review.

Unfortunately I was not well for the length of my stay here so didn't really venture outside of the hotel, I was however amazed at how friendly the staff were and how much they went out of there way See More  Read more information to try and make things as nice as possible given that I couldn't really venture far. On reflection the Ennerdale hotel is quite a way away from the local attractions and places of interest so it isprobably better for those with a car, however if you don't really wish to leave the hotel it does have everything you could need in a warm and friendly environment with some beautiful gardens for thatlittle bit of fresh air.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Penrith

Stay Date: 16/02/07, a customer from Manchester who stayed at 3* Tebay Services Hotel in Penrith (Tebay) rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Kendal  
 
 

Return to Ambleside

Stay Date: 11/02/07, a customer who stayed at 3* Newby Bridge Hotel & Leisure Centre in Newby Bridge wrote this review.

Whilst returning to Lake District after spending time at our hotel Newby Bridge it was lovely to visit the Waterhead Hotel where i spent my 40th Birthday. Newby Bridge Hotel could not do enough on See More  Read more information arrival we had booked a family room but not available as having our teenage children. What was better we had 2 seperate rooms given to us which turned out much more relaxing. I would return back toNewby Bridge Hotel the staff were so polite, well mannered and could not do enough to help you have an enjoyable stay.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ambleside Boat Trip on Windermere  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Windermere

Stay Date: 12/02/07, a customer who stayed at 3* Craig Manor Hotel in Windermere rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Short Break in Windermere

Stay Date: 12/02/07, a customer from Ilford who stayed at 4* Lakeside Hotel in Windermere (Newby Bridge) rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beatrix Potter's World  
Lake Windermere Boat Trip  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Masons Arms, Strawberry Bank  
Lakeside Hotel Restaurant  
 
 

Vsiting My Son at Lancaster University

Stay Date: 02/02/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Lancaster House Hotel in Lancaster wrote this review.

I stayed at the Lancaster House Hotel for the weekend, arriving Friday evening and departing Sunday lunchtime. The hotel was fantastic, my room was clean and fresh and I particularly enjoyed the See More  Read more information hot tub which is located in the gardens just outside the leisure centre. The Steam rooms were divine. Book any beauty treatments before you go to avoid disappointment. We ate in the bar and the foodwas second to none. I will definitely stay there again. There is a footpath to the University from the Hotel so it is really well placed.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 761 - 770 of 826 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002075 @ 18/06/2019 12:13:57

Last rendered @ 25/06/2019 05:24:39

Last rendered @ 25/06/2019 05:24:39

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB16

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.