Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Lake District

Lake District Holiday Reviews

Pleasure boat, Ullswater

By booking hotels in the Lake District you open up the opportunity to discover an area of outstanding beauty in the Lake District, home to inspirational countryside, breath-taking mountains, spectacular lakes, traditional market towns and numerous heritage sites.

The UK's largest national park is a haven for outdoor enthusiasts with stunning 350 fells and around 80 lakes to enjoy. You can enjoy a refreshing walk along the largest of them at Lake Windermere or climb England's highest mountain Skafell Pike. With all this fantastic outdoor space it can often be tempting to find a campsite. However, for those of us not brave enough to face the elements, there are plenty of top quality hotels in the Lake District.

For a lot of people the Lake District can seem like a pretty intimating place, especially if you do not have access to a larger vehicle. However, there are plenty of ways to get around. We have put together a guide of things to see, do and how to do them here in our Lake District Travel Guide. Why not take a look and let it help you plan your break.

Most, but not all, of our selection of Lake District hotels lie in the towns and villages in the national park. Why not visit one of the towns in the Lake District like Kendal, Keswick, Grasmere or travel a little further and visit the city of Carlisle, the largest in Cumbria. All of these locations offer superb hotels, shopping and restaurants but some of the best hotels and restaurants in the country reside in the Lake District countryside itself.

Here at SuperBreak, we offer a selection of hotels in the Lake District that should suit everyone! Whether you are looking for a base in the town to explore the area or you want a more secluded spot out in the countryside, we have something for you.Explore more UK weekend breaks.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 829

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Honeymoon

Stay Date: 08/09/07, a customer from Lancaster who stayed at 3* Craig Manor Hotel in Windermere wrote this review.

We stayed at Craig Manor for our honeymoon, the Hotel was lovely the food in the restaurant was fantastic. The staff were very pleasant and even kept the bar open late for us!! We would recommend See More  Read more information this hotel to anyone, and I would imagine we will be going back in the future.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lake Windermere  
Go Ape at Grizedale forest  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Angel Inn  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Revisiting Cumbria After Far Too Long !

Stay Date: 02/09/07, a customer from Wallasey who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

The Beech Hill Hotel was beyond our expectations. With views over the lake not only from the main rooms but our own patio overlooking the lake too ! The staff,food,service and cleanliness all See More  Read more information excellent, we cannot praise enough and hope to go back very soon. P.s we stayed for a whole week and the standards never dropped !   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Brown Horse, Winster  
Hawkshead  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Drunken Duck  
Brown Horse, Winster  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A wet weekend in the Lake District

Stay Date: 15/09/07, a customer from Hungerford who stayed at 3* Ennerdale Country House Hotel in Cockermouth (Nr) wrote this review.

We spent a weekend at the Ennerdale Country Hotel as a stop over on our way up to the Scottish Highlands. The hotel was super, the staff were very efficient and despite the weather we had an See More  Read more information enjoyable break. We celebrated the 1st birthday of the current hotel management with tea and cake which was a lovely gesture. As part of our trip we visited Waswater and spent an enjoyable couple of hourson the first part of the ascent to Scafell - we were not really fit enough or well enough equipped to make the whole ascent. The weather was not kind to us but we spent an enjoyable weekend in andaround the area.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cockermouth  
Waswater  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Ambleside Salutation

Stay Date: 17/09/07, a customer from Grimsby who stayed at 4* Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa in Ambleside rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Rheged  
Windermere Cruise  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Robertos Bistro - Bowness  
 
 

A Lovely Weekend

Stay Date: 14/09/07, a customer who stayed at 3* Ennerdale Country House Hotel in Cockermouth (Nr) wrote this review.

The hotel and gardens very picturesque, the staff were very welcoming and friendly. We would have liked to go to other places but unfortunately we didnt have the weather. But the places we did see See More  Read more information were lovely. I'd definately go back to explore more.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
St Bees Beach  
Ennerdale Lake  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Fox & Hounds Pub, Ennerdale Bridge  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Break

Stay Date: 14/09/07, a customer from Lutterworth who stayed at 3* Ennerdale Country House Hotel in Cockermouth (Nr) wrote this review.

the hotel was brilliant,the views were lovely See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ennerdale Water  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Windermere

Stay Date: 30/09/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Lakeside Hotel in Windermere (Newby Bridge) rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

En Route To Visit Family

Stay Date: 06/10/07, a customer from Budleigh Salterton who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Lancaster in Lancaster wrote this review.

Excellent stopping place to and from Scotland in order to break journey. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Ambleside

Stay Date: 15/10/07, a customer from Nantwich who stayed at 4* Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa in Ambleside rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Grasmere  
Ullswater  
Hill Top Cottage  
Hawkshead  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lucy's of Ambleside  
Stampers  
 
 

Short Break in Cockermouth

Stay Date: 18/10/07, a customer who stayed at 3* Ennerdale Country House Hotel in Cockermouth (Nr) rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ratty railway  
Wastwater  
 
 
 

Showing 311 - 320 of 829 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002081 @ 17/07/2019 10:44:06

Last rendered @ 20/07/2019 14:45:30

Last rendered @ 20/07/2019 14:45:30

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB11

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.