Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Lake District

Lake District Holiday Reviews

Pleasure boat, Ullswater

By booking hotels in the Lake District you open up the opportunity to discover an area of outstanding beauty in the Lake District, home to inspirational countryside, breath-taking mountains, spectacular lakes, traditional market towns and numerous heritage sites.

The UK's largest national park is a haven for outdoor enthusiasts with stunning 350 fells and around 80 lakes to enjoy. You can enjoy a refreshing walk along the largest of them at Lake Windermere or climb England's highest mountain Skafell Pike. With all this fantastic outdoor space it can often be tempting to find a campsite. However, for those of us not brave enough to face the elements, there are plenty of top quality hotels in the Lake District.

For a lot of people the Lake District can seem like a pretty intimating place, especially if you do not have access to a larger vehicle. However, there are plenty of ways to get around. We have put together a guide of things to see, do and how to do them here in our Lake District Travel Guide. Why not take a look and let it help you plan your break.

Most, but not all, of our selection of Lake District hotels lie in the towns and villages in the national park. Why not visit one of the towns in the Lake District like Kendal, Keswick, Grasmere or travel a little further and visit the city of Carlisle, the largest in Cumbria. All of these locations offer superb hotels, shopping and restaurants but some of the best hotels and restaurants in the country reside in the Lake District countryside itself.

Here at SuperBreak, we offer a selection of hotels in the Lake District that should suit everyone! Whether you are looking for a base in the town to explore the area or you want a more secluded spot out in the countryside, we have something for you.Explore more UK weekend breaks.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 826

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Ennerdale Hotel

Stay Date: 19/04/10, a customer who stayed at 3* Ennerdale Country House Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Cockermouth (Nr) wrote this review.

We had a lovely room with a view over the gardens which were beautiful. We would definitely go back for a second visit. A place where you can just relax and enjoy the beauty and peace and come back See More  Read more information feeling rejuvenated.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Muncaster Castle  
Saltcoats  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Ennerdale Country House

Stay Date: 18/07/10, a customer from Uk who stayed at 3* Ennerdale Country House Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Cockermouth (Nr) wrote this review.

Excellent 2 nights in Cumbrian countryside. First impression of hotel not good as it looked in need of a good repair and paint job on outside and car park was strewn with leaves and broken branches. See More  Read more information But we were soon happy and impressed when we entered. Staff were very helpful and attentive and room was very spacious and clean. Well done!!!!.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Surrounding Countryside  
Coastal Route  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ennerdale Country House Hotel Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A Memorable Weekend In Windermere And Coniston

Stay Date: 07/08/10, a customer who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

Lovely hotel to start our holiday - very welcoming staff and the hotel has a lovely old world quality with fantastic views. We took 4 children with us and they were made very welcome. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Coniston lake  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lovely Peaceful Hotel - Great Staff

Stay Date: 26/08/10, a customer who stayed at 4* Lancaster House Hotel in Lancaster rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Blackpool  
Windemere  
 
 

We Will Return To Kendal

Stay Date: 20/09/10, a customer from Uk who stayed at 3* Riverside Hotel in Kendal wrote this review.

Having passed Kendal on numerous occasions on my way to the Lake District i am really pleased we chose to stay there. The town is lovely. The hotel was wonderful, unfortunately the pool had to be See More  Read more information shut due to a problem but the hotel offered use of facilities nearby. The staff were excellent and very helpful. We dined in the hotel restaurant and the food was excellent. A really relaxing stay in ahotel that overlooks the river. We will return to Kendal.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Western Lakes  
Brewery Arts Centre  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Riverside Hotel  
Italian Restaurant Kendal  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

The Beautiful Lakes

Stay Date: 27/09/10, a customer from Uk who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

Cant imagine a better start to our three day break than the Beech Hill Hotel. Wonderful breath taking views from our room. Recommend room 73,74,75 or room 6. We were lucky with the weather plenty of See More  Read more information autumn sunshine. Great places to see exceptional food in the hotel restraunt, helpfull courteous staff. We will be back.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beatrice Potters Home  
Lakeside Walking  
Steam Boat Trips  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bowness On Windermere Thai  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Salutation Hotel Ambleside

Stay Date: 10/10/10, a customer who stayed at 4* Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa in Ambleside wrote this review.

Stayed at above hotel and got a free room upgrade, facilities were excellent and the pool area was better than most 4* hotels that i've stayed at. Would recommend the hotel to anyone. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
pubs and resturants  
Steamer On The Lake  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lucys  
Lucys Bistro  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekennd In The Lakes

Stay Date: 11/10/10, a customer from Uk who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe in Windermere wrote this review.

Overall the weekend was great,the hotel room was above the main entrance which was a little noisy at night with guests coming back to the hotel. We only ate breakfast at the hotel which was eally See More  Read more information good. Facilities at the hotel were excellent and i would have no problems recommending it to others.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Grasmere  
Lake Windermere  
Old Schoolhouse, Hawkshead  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hyltons, Bowness On Windermere  
Village Inn, Bowness On Windermere  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Keswick, Ullswater & North Lakes

Stay Date: 10/10/10, a customer from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Ennerdale Country House Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Cockermouth (Nr) wrote this review.

Absolutly the best place I have stayed at ever(and we've stayed in many places all over the world) staff were excellant, very attentive, food was 1st class, and hotel was something very special. So See More  Read more information lovely, we are returning in a couple of weeks for another short break!.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
St Bees  
Travel Around Lake District  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Ambleside

Stay Date: 29/10/10, a customer who stayed at 4* Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa in Ambleside wrote this review.

The salutation - lovely comfortable hotel with excellent indoor pool, sauna, steam room, jaccuzi and hot tub for when the weather gets too wet to venture out. Sat outside in the evening in early See More  Read more information march (!!) and watched the city go by. Had a great time.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bowness  
Ambleside  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Jade Garden  
Sheilas Cottage  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 221 - 230 of 826 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002075 @ 18/06/2019 12:13:57

Last rendered @ 19/06/2019 22:37:19

Last rendered @ 19/06/2019 22:37:19

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB14

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.