Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Lake District

Lake District Holiday Reviews

Pleasure boat, Ullswater

By booking hotels in the Lake District you open up the opportunity to discover an area of outstanding beauty in the Lake District, home to inspirational countryside, breath-taking mountains, spectacular lakes, traditional market towns and numerous heritage sites.

The UK's largest national park is a haven for outdoor enthusiasts with stunning 350 fells and around 80 lakes to enjoy. You can enjoy a refreshing walk along the largest of them at Lake Windermere or climb England's highest mountain Skafell Pike. With all this fantastic outdoor space it can often be tempting to find a campsite. However, for those of us not brave enough to face the elements, there are plenty of top quality hotels in the Lake District.

For a lot of people the Lake District can seem like a pretty intimating place, especially if you do not have access to a larger vehicle. However, there are plenty of ways to get around. We have put together a guide of things to see, do and how to do them here in our Lake District Travel Guide. Why not take a look and let it help you plan your break.

Most, but not all, of our selection of Lake District hotels lie in the towns and villages in the national park. Why not visit one of the towns in the Lake District like Kendal, Keswick, Grasmere or travel a little further and visit the city of Carlisle, the largest in Cumbria. All of these locations offer superb hotels, shopping and restaurants but some of the best hotels and restaurants in the country reside in the Lake District countryside itself.

Here at SuperBreak, we offer a selection of hotels in the Lake District that should suit everyone! Whether you are looking for a base in the town to explore the area or you want a more secluded spot out in the countryside, we have something for you.Explore more UK weekend breaks.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 823

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Beatrix Potter's Mum's House

Stay Date: 02/04/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

This Hotel was once owned my Mrs Potter senior and the style reflects that with a pleasant sense of timeshift. Staff ever so attentive, polite, and competent. Wonderfully comfy bed and nice views See More  Read more information too. The only thing letting it down was the pool. It's a postage stamp, shallow, and the changing room is unisex with only 2 cubicles. Not good at all with hardly any privacy. Altogether inadequate, andI wonder how the Hotel got four stars in the circumstances. Apart from that we had a wonderful time away. Oh and the food was terrfic!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
N/A  
Sutherlands  
Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Good bank holiday in Bowness

Stay Date: 04/04/15, a customer aged 65+ from Birmingham who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

I can heartily recommend this hotel. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bowness  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Fantastic time at Lindeth howe

Stay Date: 10/04/15, a customer aged 25-44 from Middlesbrough who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

We have just returned from a two night break at Lindeth Howe in Bowness on Windermere and I have to say what a fantastic time we had . Lovely location and an amazing restaurant (fantastic views) and See More  Read more information all the staff couldn't do enough to help . What a wonderful place it is... We will definitely be back - thank you so much for your excellent service.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ambleside  
Bowness On Windermere  
Bowness steamers  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lindeth Howe  
Bluebell tea rooms  
Costa coffee ambleside  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend in the lakes

Stay Date: 29/05/15, a customer aged 65+ from Leeds who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

Lovely hotel, excellent breakfast and fantastic views from our room. Staff all friendly and helpful. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

The Lakes

Stay Date: 20/07/15, a customer aged 65+ from Wigan who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

We often go for walks, and like to visit Grasmere, Keswick, Windermere etc. But the hotel and staff really spoilt us - foods was good, and the room had everything you could think of. We will be See More  Read more information staying again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Keswick  
Grassmere  
Lake District  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Windermere

Stay Date: 12/08/15, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

A piece of paradise .So much has been written about this hotel and the peace and tranquillity to be found within its walls that I find it impossible to enhance those viewpoints. I can however bear See More  Read more information witness as to the truth of those words.This is a tiny piece of heaven in God's own country.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lakeland Store  
Bowness boat hire  
fellfoot park  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
lindeth howe hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lazy Lakes

Stay Date: 25/08/15, a customer aged 45-64 from Fairburn who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

We visited this hotel to celebrate our 10th anniversary. Through SuperBreak we had a deluxe room and first night evening meal during our two night stay. Our room was clean tidy and well equipped, See More  Read more information however some standard rooms are in need of a make over. The evening meal at £42.50 a head was nice, but the restaurant had no atmosphere due to to the lack of numbers. Leisure facilities are small andcompact, luckily during our stay my wife and I had it to ourselves. Overall if you book through SuperBreak and get a good deal it's well worth a visit, but don't look too closely at the finishes, youmay be disappointed.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Porto  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

In Hotel

Stay Date: 26/08/15, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

We were celebrating our 55th Wedding Anniversary and the hotel gave us a card and something at the end of our meal. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cockermouth  
Bowness  
Keswick  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great food

Stay Date: 16/09/15, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

Just got back from two nights at this hotel and enjoyed every minute. The room was large, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Bathroom was the same with great shower, plenty of hot water and a See More  Read more information lovely deep tub to soak in after a walking day on the fells. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and couldn't fault it. The food was delicious and the desserts were wonderful. We'll certainlybe recommending this hotel to friends and family and we'd have no hesitation in staying there again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in the Lakes

Stay Date: 09/10/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

The Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel was superb , the room was excellent, it was big and beautifully furnished. The food was lovely and the service was impeccable. The hotel was lovely and quiet and See More  Read more information perfectly situated for visiting local attractions. We will most certainly stay there again when we next visit the Lake District.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 791 - 800 of 823 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002068 @ 16/05/2019 15:33:26

Last rendered @ 24/05/2019 03:58:27

Last rendered @ 24/05/2019 03:58:27

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB13

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.