Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Lake District

Lake District Holiday Reviews

Pleasure boat, Ullswater

By booking hotels in the Lake District you open up the opportunity to discover an area of outstanding beauty in the Lake District, home to inspirational countryside, breath-taking mountains, spectacular lakes, traditional market towns and numerous heritage sites.

The UK's largest national park is a haven for outdoor enthusiasts with stunning 350 fells and around 80 lakes to enjoy. You can enjoy a refreshing walk along the largest of them at Lake Windermere or climb England's highest mountain Skafell Pike. With all this fantastic outdoor space it can often be tempting to find a campsite. However, for those of us not brave enough to face the elements, there are plenty of top quality hotels in the Lake District.

For a lot of people the Lake District can seem like a pretty intimating place, especially if you do not have access to a larger vehicle. However, there are plenty of ways to get around. We have put together a guide of things to see, do and how to do them here in our Lake District Travel Guide. Why not take a look and let it help you plan your break.

Most, but not all, of our selection of Lake District hotels lie in the towns and villages in the national park. Why not visit one of the towns in the Lake District like Kendal, Keswick, Grasmere or travel a little further and visit the city of Carlisle, the largest in Cumbria. All of these locations offer superb hotels, shopping and restaurants but some of the best hotels and restaurants in the country reside in the Lake District countryside itself.

Here at SuperBreak, we offer a selection of hotels in the Lake District that should suit everyone! Whether you are looking for a base in the town to explore the area or you want a more secluded spot out in the countryside, we have something for you.Explore more UK weekend breaks.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 829

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Hidden gem at Tebay

Stay Date: 23/05/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Tebay Services Hotel in Penrith (Tebay) wrote this review.

Westmorland is a gem of a hotel right beside Tebay on M6. But the view from the hotel takes you miles from the motorway. Super stay, great food, accommodation, super and friendly helpful staff. We See More  Read more information made our base here and toured the lakes and dales. I can't wait to book my return visit.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Kendal  
Windermere  
Cartmel races  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Westmorland hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Disappoinment in Ennerdale

Stay Date: 23/05/14, a customer aged 65+ from Polmont who stayed at 3* Ennerdale Country House Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Cockermouth (Nr) wrote this review.

Our room in the hotel was dreadful. Frosted glass in the windows so we needed the light on all the time. It backed on to a fire escape. The shower screen had no seal on it - a notice said they were See More  Read more information waiting for a new one! Got woken up 3.30am first night and 5am second night with water gushing somewhere outside. Beds ok, food ok - although the beetroot in my starter was so hard I had to leave it.Dining room nice with good views on to a lovely garden. We certainly won't be going back there. When asked by the receptionist on checking out if we had enjoyed our stay we said we were unhappy aboutthe room and disturbed sleep and she spoke to the manager who was tidying up in the bar and he didn't even have the decency to come out to apologise. He authorised a discount of ?12.75 (cost of 2courses for an extra meal on Friday night) from our ?72 bill. Not impressed at all.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Keswick  
Ambleside  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A short stay in the Lake District

Stay Date: 15/05/14, a customer aged 65+ from Northampton who stayed at 4* Macdonald Leeming House in Ullswater wrote this review.

I cannot tell you how stunning the view from the hotel was, from the beautiful gardens stretching down to lake with a backdrop of the mighty Cumbrian mountains. That was the reason we booked this 2 See More  Read more information day break - we hoped for - and got it in spades! just wanted to sit down and soak it all up. However the view said walk me so we did and more views and waterfalls and nobody - well not many folksabout, so peaceful. The hotel was old fashioned FIRST CLASS and the evening meal memorable with smiles of glee when each dish was served up. We did feel like Landed Gentry, we were treated sowell. Our standard double room was large and very comfortable with all to a high standard. On the second night after a long day exploring we decided to try the room service for our evening meal. It was to thesame high standard and came with two glasses of bubbly which we did not order (we had asked for two champagne glasses as we had smuggled in our own bottle) However the waiter apologised for the errorand said in that case they were on the house! All in all, the best thing I can say is that we will go back to this hotel as we enjoyed ourselves so much.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lake boat cruise  
Waterfalls  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Quick trip to the Lakes

Stay Date: 26/04/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

We went for a quiet, relaxing 2 days away to celebrate our 29th wedding anniversary. The hotel was perfect for this set in a rural location. The room, which was clean and inviting, was large with See More  Read more information patio doors onto a garden terrace. The view of the lake was superb. We ate in the hotel the food was lovely, well cooked and presented. The staff were all helpful checking regularly if we neededanything. There was plenty of choice at breakfast. The lounge/bar area was furnished with comfortable chairs and sofas perfect for a "do nothing" break away. There was a pool however we did not make use ofit. We would be happy to stay at the hotel again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bowness on Windermer  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Damson dene experience

Stay Date: 15/04/14, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 3* Damson Dene Hotel & Leisure Club in Crosthwaite (Nr. Bowness) wrote this review.

We stayed at the Damson Dene so we had a base near to the South Lakes Zoo (which is excellent and well worth visiting). The hotel is in desperate need of paint and a deep clean. Our room was dirty See More  Read more information although the beds were comfy. The swimming pool was 'broken' but had been this way for weeks - the boiler has broken so the water was freezing cold. Breakfast was ok but the evening meals wereextortionate and of poor quality (take a trip to the Masons Arms down the road for more reasonable prices and far superior food).   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cartmel  
Lake Windermere  
South lakes zoo  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Masons Arms  
Damson dene  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Good day at Windermere

Stay Date: 05/04/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Craig Manor Hotel in Windermere wrote this review.

A relaxing time no phones good food nice hotel. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Brill Hotel

Stay Date: 29/03/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Waterhead Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ambleside wrote this review.

Everything about the hotel was excellent - the offer for 2 nights with dinner 1st night was excellent as restaurant was superb, excellent menu. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bowness  
Boat trip on Windermere  
Keswick and Grasmere  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Anniversary break

Stay Date: 27/03/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Lakeside Hotel in Windermere (Newby Bridge) wrote this review.

The hotel was excellent - upgraded our room on arrival. The staff were all excellent. The whole break was really special as it was our 39th wedding anniversary. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Windermere  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lucys  
The Swan  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great days in the lakes

Stay Date: 20/03/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa in Bowness-on-Windermere wrote this review.

The stay in the Lakes was enhanced by the fact that the hotel and staff were fantastic the hotel was very well placed and the staff were so attentive. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lake Windermere  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Waterhead Hotel fantastic

Stay Date: 17/03/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Waterhead Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ambleside wrote this review.

We stayed at the Waterhead Hotel in Ambleside. The room we stayed in was great with underfloor heating and contemporary style. The meals were of the highest standard. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Waterhead  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 241 - 250 of 829 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002081 @ 17/07/2019 11:23:27

Last rendered @ 22/07/2019 04:44:22

Last rendered @ 22/07/2019 04:44:22

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB14

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.