Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Lake District

Lake District Holiday Reviews

Pleasure boat, Ullswater

By booking hotels in the Lake District you open up the opportunity to discover an area of outstanding beauty in the Lake District, home to inspirational countryside, breath-taking mountains, spectacular lakes, traditional market towns and numerous heritage sites.

The UK's largest national park is a haven for outdoor enthusiasts with stunning 350 fells and around 80 lakes to enjoy. You can enjoy a refreshing walk along the largest of them at Lake Windermere or climb England's highest mountain Skafell Pike. With all this fantastic outdoor space it can often be tempting to find a campsite. However, for those of us not brave enough to face the elements, there are plenty of top quality hotels in the Lake District.

For a lot of people the Lake District can seem like a pretty intimating place, especially if you do not have access to a larger vehicle. However, there are plenty of ways to get around. We have put together a guide of things to see, do and how to do them here in our Lake District Travel Guide. Why not take a look and let it help you plan your break.

Most, but not all, of our selection of Lake District hotels lie in the towns and villages in the national park. Why not visit one of the towns in the Lake District like Kendal, Keswick, Grasmere or travel a little further and visit the city of Carlisle, the largest in Cumbria. All of these locations offer superb hotels, shopping and restaurants but some of the best hotels and restaurants in the country reside in the Lake District countryside itself.

Here at SuperBreak, we offer a selection of hotels in the Lake District that should suit everyone! Whether you are looking for a base in the town to explore the area or you want a more secluded spot out in the countryside, we have something for you.Explore more UK weekend breaks.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 829

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Lakeside

Stay Date: 09/08/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Lakeside Hotel in Windermere (Newby Bridge) wrote this review.

Lovely hotel, pricey but the service and food were excellent. We took the fine dining experience at £48 per person on the Saturday evening. The food and again the service were superb. As with all See More  Read more information the hotels around the lakes there are lots of walks , so although I would recommend the hotel we would prefer to try another from a different location.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Steamer  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Disappointing arrival and room

Stay Date: 04/08/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* The Lamplighter Dining Rooms in Windermere wrote this review.

No one was at reception on arrival and after ringing the bell and ten minutes, we telephoned the hotel to inform them that were were sitting in reception; along with another couple, who had arrived See More  Read more information earlier.The excuse was that the bell must not be working. The reception area is very worn out as is the stair cases and landings. Deluxe Room 3 was disappointing .The carpet was spotted withstains and the bathroom had mop marks on the skirting boards and shower.The hospitality tray was sparse and generally there was too much evidence of previous guests. We asked for the room to be cleanedagain and for the manager. We were told that he was not able to be contacted until tomorrow after breakfast. The room was better after the re clean but not perfect. We were unsuccessful in findingconsecutive nights accommodation elsewhere, so we decided to stay and not allow the initial disappointment to spoil our break. The manager apologised the next morning and put the drop in standards due toit being the busy mid season- He gave us a bottle of wine. We asked for a different room but he said they were fully booked. We did see the vacancies sign displayed however. We put new batteriesin the tv remote but it still did not work properly. The room is on the front and the noise from the traffic until midnight is unavoidable I suppose. The food at breakfast was good however the staffwere forgetful at times.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Grasmere  
Bowness  
Coniston  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Fat Olives  
little chippy  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Lake District Excursion

Stay Date: 18/07/14, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

Hotel was fantastic, we were upgraded to the Ruskin suite, from a premier plus room, the trip was a romantic wknd for me and my girlfriend. There was plenty to do and see, being an older hotel some See More  Read more information things were tired and needed mending but the views were stunning from our room and overall experience was excellent, walk down to the jetty, picnic tables, sun terrace and do not forget the swimmingpool. Want a luxury feel, go here.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Keswick  
Wray Castle  
Bo'ness on Windermere  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Village bar Bo'ness  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Excellent weekend break

Stay Date: 11/07/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Bingley who stayed at 4* Waterhead Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ambleside wrote this review.

Spent a relaxing weekend in a lovely hotel in great location with friendly, efficient staff. Room was compact but perfectly adequate, clean and comfortable. Nice touches with robes and slippers See More  Read more information provided, good quality toiletries and turn down service. We had our evening meal on first night included in package and was really impressed at choice and quality. Excellent meal but make sure you haveplenty of room! Breakfasts were good with plenty of options to suit everyone. Excellent location and with the perfect weather the views from the hotel were fantastic. A very short walk to the ferry madea lake cruise and stop off in Bowness a good day out. If you don't fancy the slightly uphill walk into the centre of Ambleside, there is a regular shuttle bus during the day from the ferry to the topof the town. A good selection of shops, bars and restaurants and the walk back is very do able. Overall a good value break in a very comfortable hotel, in a very good location. Will definitelyreturn.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bowness  
Lake Cruise  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Ennerdale Country House

Stay Date: 11/07/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Manchester who stayed at 3* Ennerdale Country House Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Cockermouth (Nr) wrote this review.

Hotel grounds were good, unfortunately the hotel plumbing and shower were noisy and ineffective, lots of road noise although we had asked for a quiet room, restaurant was a nice area as was the See More  Read more information starters, the steak they served me was the worst steak I have been served.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Local Towns  
local lakes  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Recent business stay

Stay Date: 09/07/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Bristol who stayed at 4* Hallmark Hotel Carlisle in Carlisle wrote this review.

Shower not working either in evening or next morning. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

On the lake

Stay Date: 06/07/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

Great break fantastic food great room great cocktails great staff lovely view of lake. No moans just superbreak. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Bowness

Stay Date: 27/06/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Oldham who stayed at 4* Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa in Bowness-on-Windermere wrote this review.

Great room, good quality fittings, bathroom great, breakfast average -had smoked haddock, portion very small drinks very expensive 6.00 for a single vodka no local beers evening menu lacked choice See More  Read more information given number of local eating places.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
ambelside  
local restaurnts  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bar and Grill  
Porto  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Wild Boar hotel

Stay Date: 17/05/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Morpeth who stayed at 4* The Wild Boar Inn (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

Very nice comfortable room lots of stairs maybe difficult for older guests. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Best room & view ever

Stay Date: 28/05/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Ennerdale Country House Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Cockermouth (Nr) wrote this review.

When we pulled into car park we thought "Oh no !" The road side of the building looked worn & unkempt but when we entered our room OMG ! It was amazing . A four poster bed , double full length See More  Read more information window that looked over beautiful gardens. Our bathroom had a whirlpool bath & separate shower. We loved it so much we stayed an extra day. We were a little disappointed with the breakfast as the poachedeggs were hard the bacon was tough & overcooked & the beans were cold. We walked both days over beautiful countryside & everyone we met was friendly. The staff in the hotel was exceptionally friendlytoo.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 231 - 240 of 829 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002075 @ 18/06/2019 11:30:19

Last rendered @ 17/07/2019 01:47:04

Last rendered @ 17/07/2019 01:47:04

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB11

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.