Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Lake District

Lake District Holiday Reviews

Pleasure boat, Ullswater

By booking hotels in the Lake District you open up the opportunity to discover an area of outstanding beauty in the Lake District, home to inspirational countryside, breath-taking mountains, spectacular lakes, traditional market towns and numerous heritage sites.

The UK's largest national park is a haven for outdoor enthusiasts with stunning 350 fells and around 80 lakes to enjoy. You can enjoy a refreshing walk along the largest of them at Lake Windermere or climb England's highest mountain Skafell Pike. With all this fantastic outdoor space it can often be tempting to find a campsite. However, for those of us not brave enough to face the elements, there are plenty of top quality hotels in the Lake District.

For a lot of people the Lake District can seem like a pretty intimating place, especially if you do not have access to a larger vehicle. However, there are plenty of ways to get around. We have put together a guide of things to see, do and how to do them here in our Lake District Travel Guide. Why not take a look and let it help you plan your break.

Most, but not all, of our selection of Lake District hotels lie in the towns and villages in the national park. Why not visit one of the towns in the Lake District like Kendal, Keswick, Grasmere or travel a little further and visit the city of Carlisle, the largest in Cumbria. All of these locations offer superb hotels, shopping and restaurants but some of the best hotels and restaurants in the country reside in the Lake District countryside itself.

Here at SuperBreak, we offer a selection of hotels in the Lake District that should suit everyone! Whether you are looking for a base in the town to explore the area or you want a more secluded spot out in the countryside, we have something for you.Explore more UK weekend breaks.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 823

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Short Break In Keswick, Ullswater & North Lakes

Stay Date: 10/10/10, a customer from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Ennerdale Country House Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Cockermouth (Nr) wrote this review.

Absolutly the best place I have stayed at ever(and we've stayed in many places all over the world) staff were excellant, very attentive, food was 1st class, and hotel was something very special. So See More  Read more information lovely, we are returning in a couple of weeks for another short break!.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
St Bees  
Travel Around Lake District  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Ambleside

Stay Date: 29/10/10, a customer who stayed at 4* Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa in Ambleside wrote this review.

The salutation - lovely comfortable hotel with excellent indoor pool, sauna, steam room, jaccuzi and hot tub for when the weather gets too wet to venture out. Sat outside in the evening in early See More  Read more information march (!!) and watched the city go by. Had a great time.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bowness  
Ambleside  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Jade Garden  
Sheilas Cottage  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Windermere & South Lakes

Stay Date: 30/10/10, a customer from Uk who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

A short break in lakeland. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Grasmere  
Keswick  
Orrest Head Walk  
Lakeland At Windermere  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel Restaurant  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

New Year In The Lakes!

Stay Date: 01/01/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 3* Ennerdale Country House Hotel 2 Night New Year Break in Cockermouth (Nr) wrote this review.

We travelled up to the lakes with my sister and her husband. We were very impressed with the hotel's setting and the countryside around. The directions were a little confusing and we realised that See More  Read more information we would have been better to have remained on the m6 until junction 40. Although parts of the hotel are a little 'tired' it is obvious that renovations are being undertaken. This in no way spoilt ourbreak. The staff are excellent; nothing is too much trouble but they do not intrude. The food was excellent and plentiful and the wine flowed on new years eve! we are definitely planning to returnlater in the year.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cockermouth  
Whitehaven  
St. Bees  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pub In Cockermouth  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Chill Out Hotel

Stay Date: 30/01/11, a customer who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

We were given an upgraded lake view room but it was too far down for us we had stayed below in a higher up cheaper room and prefered that. Bathroom was large with fab bath and great shower, spotless See More  Read more information clean. Fire in hotel is great to sit by. The staff are amazing the drinks are actually cheaper than in the village which is unusual for a hotel! We love bowness the little shops and pubs are allfriendly. We don't go to walk we go for the atmosphere, the lake cruise was expensive £9.10 but maybe worth it except it was thick ice when we went and was freezing but good fun. Note the walk fromambleside when you get off the boat is over a mile into the village so be warned if you are not so mobile. Can't wait to go back. Love it.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lakeside Cruise To Ambleside  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Stags Head In Bowness On Windermere  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Windermere

Stay Date: 07/02/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bowness  
Coniston  
Rsbp Reserve  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Rumours  
 
 

Beech Hill Hotel

Stay Date: 09/02/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

This hotel is fantastic, me and my partner go every year. If you enjoy a drink by the log fire over looking the lake then this hotel is the one for you! excellent service. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Walking In Ambleside  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Beech Hill Hotel, Windermere

Stay Date: 07/02/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

A superb relaxing hotel with views over lake windermere. The facilities were excellent, including the rooms and leisure suite. The restaurant food was superb. A thoroughly enjoyable visit. We hope See More  Read more information to return in better weather conditions where we will be able to enjoy the exterior gardens and seating areas of the hotel and take some walks.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Windermere  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review not helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Ennerdale Country House Hotel

Stay Date: 27/02/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 3* Ennerdale Country House Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Cockermouth (Nr) wrote this review.

An excellent short break for my husband and I and my mother-in-law and daughter. Staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful, food was excellent both in the restaurant and bar and our rooms were See More  Read more information just what we had hoped. A lovely place to stay and visit - we plan to go back one day.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Honister Slate Mine  
St Bees  
Whitehaven Marina  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Windermere

Stay Date: 27/02/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 4* Rothay Garden Hotel in Grasmere rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Puzzling Place  
Windemere Boat Trip  
 
 
 

Showing 211 - 220 of 823 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002068 @ 16/05/2019 16:47:14

Last rendered @ 24/05/2019 04:09:13

Last rendered @ 24/05/2019 04:09:13

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB14

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.