Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Lake District

Lake District Holiday Reviews

Pleasure boat, Ullswater

By booking hotels in the Lake District you open up the opportunity to discover an area of outstanding beauty in the Lake District, home to inspirational countryside, breath-taking mountains, spectacular lakes, traditional market towns and numerous heritage sites.

The UK's largest national park is a haven for outdoor enthusiasts with stunning 350 fells and around 80 lakes to enjoy. You can enjoy a refreshing walk along the largest of them at Lake Windermere or climb England's highest mountain Skafell Pike. With all this fantastic outdoor space it can often be tempting to find a campsite. However, for those of us not brave enough to face the elements, there are plenty of top quality hotels in the Lake District.

For a lot of people the Lake District can seem like a pretty intimating place, especially if you do not have access to a larger vehicle. However, there are plenty of ways to get around. We have put together a guide of things to see, do and how to do them here in our Lake District Travel Guide. Why not take a look and let it help you plan your break.

Most, but not all, of our selection of Lake District hotels lie in the towns and villages in the national park. Why not visit one of the towns in the Lake District like Kendal, Keswick, Grasmere or travel a little further and visit the city of Carlisle, the largest in Cumbria. All of these locations offer superb hotels, shopping and restaurants but some of the best hotels and restaurants in the country reside in the Lake District countryside itself.

Here at SuperBreak, we offer a selection of hotels in the Lake District that should suit everyone! Whether you are looking for a base in the town to explore the area or you want a more secluded spot out in the countryside, we have something for you.Explore more UK weekend breaks.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 829

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Enjoyable stay

Stay Date: 27/04/18, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Ennerdale Country House Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Cockermouth (Nr) wrote this review.

We stayed 2 nights at the Ennerdale Country House to celebrate my husband's birthday. The hotel though clean and tidy looks tired and is in need of upgrade, especially the bathroom, in the room we See More  Read more information had anyway. The staff were friendly and welcoming and the food was excellent and we could not fault. We were blessed with beautiful weather.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ravenglass and Eskdale Railway  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Brook Inn, Cleator  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Absolutely superb hotel.

Stay Date: 28/04/18, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Ennerdale Country House Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Cockermouth (Nr) wrote this review.

The best hotel we've stayed in for ages. Staff were so accommodating and friendly. The room was fantastic, perfect for the dog and brilliant enormous bed. Would definitely return here. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ennerdale water walk  
Wast water walk  
At Bees coastal walk  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Fantastic time in the Lake District

Stay Date: 29/04/18, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

Staff very friendly and welcoming, lovely room ask for room with view of Lake Windermere. Breakfast good, variety of choices for breakfast, evening meal nice. Need a car to visit different See More  Read more information areas. Beatrix Potter attraction is interesting. Get the freedom of lake ticket and choose an attraction to visit we visited the moto museum the freedom of the lake ticket lasts twenty fours hours and youcan get off at the different stops if you want to.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Motor Museum  
Beatrix Potter Attraction  
Freedom of lake cruise  
 

User Review Ratings: 3 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Hotel

Stay Date: 14/05/18, a customer aged 65+ from Hull who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

Fantastic Views, great restaurant. Excellent staff. Only small fault - Bed far too soft. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beatrix Potter  
Barn Wood  
 

User Review Ratings: 3 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Friendly staff

Stay Date: 01/03/19, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Ennerdale Country House Hotel in Cockermouth (Nr) wrote this review.

Good value hotel with lots of hot water, comfy beds and a good restaurant. Dogs made very welcome and could watch red squirrels whilst having breakfast. Ideal location for starting the Coast to See More  Read more information Coast walk.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
St Bees Head  
Ennerdale Bridge  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
White Mare  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lake District

Stay Date: 24/04/19, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

The Beech Hill Hotel was lovely, food was good, spa brilliant. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
trip on boat  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The flying pig  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short break in Newby Bridge

Stay Date: 26/04/19, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* Newby Bridge Hotel & Leisure Centre in Newby Bridge wrote this review.

The hotel was clean and the staff very welcoming and friendly - especially to our two dogs. The breakfasts were delicious. The linen was very clean. We needed to stay in a ground floor room as our See More  Read more information elderly dog has arthritis and cannot climb stairs easily. We were allocated the bedroom for disabled clients. This was adequate but a very dark room as our only window looked onto a brick wall. Thefurniture was old fashioned. As the room was geared up for a disabled person, there was a walk-in shower. The room wasn't very modern and the bathroom facilities were very basic. No air conditioning.Bathroom window didn't close properly. The small grounds were limited but very attractive. Car parking was fairly limited. All in all, a very pleasant stay. Thank you.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bowness  
Morecombe  
Lakeside Yellow Cruise on Lake Windermere  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Excellent 2 days in the Beech Hill Hotel

Stay Date: 02/05/19, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel (2 Nt/1st Night Dinner + Windermere Cruise) in Windermere wrote this review.

Lovely clean hotel. Very friendly staff and lovely food. The hotel is in a great location with breathtaking views. Only £10 in a taxi into Bowness so no need to take the car for a meal and some See More  Read more information drinks. Well worth a bit it and definitely go again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Pub  
Another pub  
The final pub  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Trattatori  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Lovely Lakes

Stay Date: 24/05/19, a customer aged 25-44 from Leeds who stayed at 4* Waterhead Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ambleside wrote this review.

We had an amazing stay at The Waterhead. All the staff had a smile and were very attentive. Our room was fabulous and had views of the lake. The Hotel is conveniently located for any Lake cruises See More  Read more information you may wish to go on too.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lake Cruise  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Fab weekend away in the Lakes

Stay Date: 05/07/19, a customer aged 18-24 from Llanfairpwllgwyngyll who stayed at 4* Low Wood Bay in Windermere wrote this review.

We really enjoyed our weekend away in Low Wood Bay. The staff are really friendly and helpful and the food here is delicious. Our room was good (equipped with everything you could ask for and local See More  Read more information products. Only downside to our stay is that we could not get the TV to work but we weren’t too bothered about this. The spa facilities were amazing (especially the infinity pool).   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ambleside  
Lake Cruise  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Indian in Windermere  
Thai restaurant in ambleside  
Blue smoke restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 1 - 10 of 829 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002075 @ 18/06/2019 11:30:23

Last rendered @ 17/07/2019 02:12:42

Last rendered @ 17/07/2019 02:12:42

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB13

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.