Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Keswick, Ullswater & North Lakes

Keswick, Ullswater & North Lakes Holiday Reviews

Castlerigg stone Circle, Keswick

With our fantastic choice of hotels in Keswick, Ullwaters and the North Lakes area, you can enjoy the many wonders of The Lake District on a relaxing short break. From Cockermouth to Penrith and everything in between, you’ll find the perfect hotel in the North Lakes with SuperBreak.

Whether you love the great outdoors or are just in need of a relaxing country escape, there’s so much to see and do on a trip to The Lakes.

  • From tackling England’s highest peak, Scafell Pike to more leisurely strolls enjoying the beautiful Lakeland scenery, The Lake District National Park is a truly magnificent place for a day out.
  • Surrounded by the mountains of Helvellyn and High Seat, the Castlerigg Stone Circle dating back to 3000BC is a stunning place to visit, boasting amazing panoramic views.
  • For an alternative way to explore the stunning surroundings of the Lake District, enjoy an award-winning cruise with Ullswater Steamers stopping at Glenridding and Pooley Bridge.
  • As the childhood home of Cumbria’s famous romantic poet, Wordsworth House and Garden is a must visit. Explore this homely Georgian house just as it was back in the 1700s and meet some of the characters that once lived and worked there.
Book one our superb North Lakes hotels and enjoy a comfortable and convenient stay in the heart of The Lake District exploring all this wonderful area has to offer.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 208

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Weekend break

Stay Date: 22/10/16, a customer aged 45-64 from Bradford who stayed at 4* Hallmark Hotel Carlisle (2 Night Offer/1st Night Dinner & Wine or Afternoon Tea) in Carlisle wrote this review.

The hotel was good with good food. Bathrooms could do with updating, the hotel was in a great area for sight seeing and only 20 mins from Gretna Green. Paid parking not too bad and close to hotel See More  Read more information overall a great weekend.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Gretna Green  
The Lanes shopping centre  
Carlisle Castle  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Weatherspoons  
Hallmark hotel Carlisle  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Dog friendly break in the Lakes

Stay Date: 28/10/16, a customer from Yorkshire who stayed at 3* Ennerdale Country House Hotel in Cockermouth (Nr) wrote this review.

I stayed at the Ennerdale Country House Hotel for two nights during October Half Term week with my husband & dog. We received an incredibly warm reception from the staff and I have to say this was See More  Read more information the most dog-friendly break I've been on - our dog was given treats on arrival & throughout our stay, including a sausage for breakfast! We stayed in a dog friendly room, which had patio doors thatopened out onto the garden. The room was spacious, although the bathroom was quite outdated. If you have your dog with you, you can take breakfast in the comfortable bar area or alternatively, the hoteloffers free room service. The hotel is a perfect base for exploring the area, with St Bee's beach 10 mins, Buttermere Lake 45 mins & Ennerdale Water 20 mins drive away. If you're heading out toButtermere, then be sure to visit the Bridge Hotel - it was incredibly dog friendly, with a warm atmosphere, great food & service - perfect for resting after a full day exploring! On our drive up to theLakes, we also took a trip on the Ravenglass & Eskdale Railway - not sure the dog was too impressed but he loved exploring the waterfalls at the end of the line! This review was written by a memberof SuperBreak staff.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ennerdale Water  
Ravenglass & Eskdale Railway  
Buttermere Lake  
St Bee's Beach  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bridge Hotel Buttermere  
 
Rate This Review:
 
Editor Notes:

This review was written by a member of SuperBreak staff.

 

Ennerdale Country House Hotel

Stay Date: 11/11/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Ennerdale Country House Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Cockermouth (Nr) wrote this review.

Hotel was tired but staff and food were first class. A bit out the way but if touring a nice stop off point. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Carlisle  
Lake Windemere  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Ennerdale Hotel New Year Break

Stay Date: 30/12/16, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Ennerdale Country House Hotel 3 Night New Year Break in Cockermouth (Nr) wrote this review.

A really big thank you to Jackie and all of the staff for making our New Year 3 night stay such a wonderful experience. This great team of people, excellent food throughout our stay especially the See More  Read more information New Year's dinner plus a nice clean comfortable spacious room all went to make this a fantastic New Year. Hopefully we will be able to return next year.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Mid week break

Stay Date: 30/08/17, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Hallmark Hotel Carlisle (2 Night Offer/1st Night Dinner & Wine or Afternoon Tea) in Carlisle wrote this review.

Lovely mid week break in Carlisle. We stayed in the Hallmark Hotel - the staff were warm and welcoming and did everything to aid us when our first room had a leaky tap - not a drip. The second the See More  Read more information key card wouldn't work so didn't even get in that room, the third room was OK slightly dated - small drip in this room this could have been avoided if housekeeping told maintenance of plumbingproblem. Front facing so when window wouldn't shut properly this made it noisy as so close to pub and train station! Breakfast was buffet style with a good selection. Meal included on first night verynice, slight wait as mix up with puddings. Next night ate in pub next door lovely pub grub good value. Would go back if and when rooms all updated.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Griffin  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Leeming House

Stay Date: 01/11/17, a customer aged 45-64 from Sneaton who stayed at 4* Macdonald Leeming House (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ullswater wrote this review.

Wonderful hotel, fantastic staff. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

After work break

Stay Date: 10/02/18, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Ennerdale Country House Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Cockermouth (Nr) wrote this review.

My husband and I wanted a break for just 2-3 nights in England but not near home. We found a Gem of a Hotel on the Super Break site which was everything we needed. The staff were helpful from the See More  Read more information start, food out 4 star, the wine reasonable priced and good quality, bar area comfortable and restful, and all was effortless for us. A wonderful rest and hopefully return there again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
we went in Feb and did not do any sight seeing, just a get away and rest  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
we stayed in the hotel it was that good  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

MacDonald Leeming House, Ullswater

Stay Date: 16/03/18, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Macdonald Leeming House in Ullswater wrote this review.

Had a weekend break for a spell of peace and seclusion, the hotel was perfect. Beautiful view of Ullswater, staff couldn’t have been more helpful, we got snowed in so an extra night secured with no See More  Read more information fuss, and very nice vegan meals for one of us sorted out at very short notice. Easy to get to from the M6 (snow notwithstanding) and quite accessible to the northern lakes. Some nice cafes,restaurants and pubs nearby at Patterdale and Glenridding, about 20 mins drive away. Wouldn’t hesitate to come back to this hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Windermere town centre  
Ruskin Museum, Coniston  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
White Lion Inn, Patterdale  
The Elleray, Windermere  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Enjoyable stay

Stay Date: 27/04/18, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Ennerdale Country House Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Cockermouth (Nr) wrote this review.

We stayed 2 nights at the Ennerdale Country House to celebrate my husband's birthday. The hotel though clean and tidy looks tired and is in need of upgrade, especially the bathroom, in the room we See More  Read more information had anyway. The staff were friendly and welcoming and the food was excellent and we could not fault. We were blessed with beautiful weather.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ravenglass and Eskdale Railway  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Brook Inn, Cleator  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Absolutely superb hotel.

Stay Date: 28/04/18, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Ennerdale Country House Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Cockermouth (Nr) wrote this review.

The best hotel we've stayed in for ages. Staff were so accommodating and friendly. The room was fantastic, perfect for the dog and brilliant enormous bed. Would definitely return here. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ennerdale water walk  
Wast water walk  
At Bees coastal walk  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 1 - 10 of 208 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1001952 @ 05/07/2018 10:29:37

Last rendered @ 16/07/2018 05:54:32

Last rendered @ 16/07/2018 05:54:32

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB16

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.